We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”

The Edinburgh Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.65*
and up
The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket
Ranked #9 of 94 Museums in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects, stages, scenes and rides in a truly unique and exciting walk-through experience that you see, hear, touch, smell and feel. It's hilarious fun and sometimes a bit scary. Your 80-minute journey will take you through 500 years of Scotland's darkest history. Guided by a full cast of actors, you and your companions walk through The Dungeon, moving from show to show. Shows are based on real Scottish history, minus the boring bits! WINNER OF SCOTLAND'S BEST VISITOR ATTRACTION 2014 AT THE SCOTTISH ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went on this tour with my partner. It was very enjoyable and there was plenty of comedy throughout the tour. It touched on a lot of different aspects but not in too much detail as to bore me. If you enjoy taking part then this tour is for you as at almost every section someone will get taken up onto the stage. everyone on the tour seemed to have a good laugh. One thing i would say is don't buy the programme. We got it but found it's pretty much the same as the fliers you can pick up anywhere in town.

Would recommend

Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hello and thanks for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your tour and had a laugh. We've passed your comments about the photobook on to the retail team.
Many thanks for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"boat ride"
in 405 reviews
"great fun"
in 410 reviews
"sawney bean"
in 105 reviews
"drop ride at the end"
in 64 reviews
"scary fun"
in 62 reviews
"their roles"
in 60 reviews
"audience participation"
in 106 reviews
"special effects"
in 59 reviews
"burke and hare"
in 55 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 87 reviews
"great attraction"
in 56 reviews
"rainy day"
in 62 reviews
"scottish history"
in 66 reviews
"scares"
in 159 reviews
"characters"
in 215 reviews
"campy"
in 111 reviews
"parts"
in 258 reviews
Filter

3,633 - 3,637 of 4,717 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Visited with my family (ages ranging from 10 to 70) and we all thoroughly enjoyed the Edinburgh Dungeons! Located just off the Waverley Bridge, so very easily accessible from the central areas of Edinburgh. The atmosphere begins as soon as you step through the entrance doors with creepy dungeon decor and eerie music playing. The tour lasts roughly 80-90 minutes in different historical settings, and we found every single one of the actors to be authentic and enthusiastic, and some were actually quite scary (especially the cannibals!) - even the girl working in the ticket booth was extremely friendly and personable! There are also 2 small rides inside the dungeons, which are an excellent addition and help to break up the walking tour a little bit too. Especially loved the audience participation (beware - you may get picked without volunteering!), but this only adds to the great fun! In addition, there is a lot of history to be learnt, enhanced by the "blood and gore" aspects to make it more memorable. A few members of the party were a little apprehensive before we went in, but afterwards said they were glad they had given it a chance (you will not regret it)! All in all, could not fault it, and will definitely be revisiting (there are seasonal variations after all!) at some point - fantastic!

1  Thank VetBoy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello and thanks for your comments. We're glad to hear you all thoroughly enjoyed your visit! Your descriptions of our location and atmosphere are really great, thank you. We do hear that the Sawney Bean clan are often the creepiest for guests. Your kind comments will be shared with our staff.
Thanks so much for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had a lovely day out with friend and kids had great fun at edinburgh dungeon,had to remind the kids that it was just actors and not real,they did enjoy it and so did we,staff were great and didn't gave long to wait.def worth the visit if in edinburgh ,tour last around an hour or so.

Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello and thanks for reviewing. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your tour and had fun. Many thanks for your comments about our staff which will be passed on, and also for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

took my 8 and 12 year old sons, were here a few years ago and it has changed quite a bit. The youngest was still pretty scared, so although he likes most scary movies he wasnt really too keen on it incase people jumped out at him (which they were doing) the older one on the other hand loved it!

Best to prebook it so you can skip the big queues, staff were all great, great acting and very informative along with a few frights as you go!

Had a good laugh and would go back again.

Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello and thanks for your comments. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the tour for the most part and hope that your youngest was ok when back in the light. Our performers don't hide behind things waiting to jump out, but will suddenly open doors and the like. They will never touch a guest though, and in return we ask that guests don't touch them - they do have the plague after all!
We do change shows regularly so it's great to hear that you noticed this. Your kind comments will be passed on to the team.
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went with my girlfriend, who was petrified, and had a fantastic time. As someone who doesnt scare easily I can say that even I was given a few frights during my visit. Would liked to have seen some more regarding Burke & Hare but the actors were fantastic.

Price of the photos are a bit excessively priced and does feel a bit overly fake at times but overall a couple of hours!

Would recommend!

Thank DonN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello and thanks for reviewing us. We're glad you both had a fantastic time on your tour. Your comments regarding Burke and Hare will be passed on to those responsible for show creation, as we do use guest feedback to shape our programme of improvements.
We will also let the actors know that you thought they were fantastic.
Many thanks for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edinburgh Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to The Edinburgh Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing