We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT!”

The Edinburgh Dungeon
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$17.52*
and up
The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket
Ranked #6 of 65 Fun & Games in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects, stages, scenes and rides in a truly unique and exciting walk-through experience that you see, hear, touch, smell and feel. It's hilarious fun and sometimes a bit scary. Your 80-minute journey will take you through 500 years of Scotland's darkest history. Guided by a full cast of actors, you and your companions walk through The Dungeon, moving from show to show. Shows are based on real Scottish history, minus the boring bits! WINNER OF SCOTLAND'S BEST VISITOR ATTRACTION 2014 AT THE SCOTTISH ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had such fun here, the actors were brilliant and really got into the role. The two small rides that were there were excellent all be it a bit scary! I preffered it to The London Dungeon in London and would reccommend it to anyone who wanted a bit of lighthearted fun.

Thank cadie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello and thanks for your review. We're delighted to hear you had fun on your tour. Your kind comments will be shared with our performance team. It's great that you felt we were better than our friends in London - it's always nice to have a bit of friendly rivalry...! Although they do have an all new Dungeon opening in March so we're sure they'll be challenging then.

We're glad you enjoyed the rides and thanks again for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,709 - 3,713 of 4,453 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and a group of friends wanted to visit the dungeons but were put off by the extortionate door fee, but we managed to find a deal and entered. It was brilliant!! The staff were great fun and the actors were brilliant.. We were positively terrified which was the aim... Overall it was fab!!

Thank Thelittlesweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello and thanks for your review. We're delighted to hear you had a brilliant time and your kind comments will be shared with our performance and retail teams. It's great that you were able to take advantage of one of our promotions. Our door prices are in line with other attractions, and we do feel they are befitting of an 80 minute 11-show experience complete with 2 rides.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future - look out for special shows and offers around holiday times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had its moments, tho' not very scary. If you don't like being "volunteered" for tasks then its not for you. The actors/guides are funny and clever.

Thank stmcfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello and thanks for your review. We're delighted you felt our performance team were funny and clever. We do appreciate that what we do isn't for everyone, and do try to cater to different thresholds of scare - as you can imagine these vary drastically from person to person.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have to be honest and say I wasn't really expecting this to be up to much and was pleasantly surprised. Heard a fair bit of the history of Edinburgh, a wee bit of suspense and drama added for effect. A good hours entertainment.

Thank LMW44_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello and thanks for your review. We're pleased to have surpassed your expectations. We do work hard to pack in a lot of accurate history so it's great you felt that was evident.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Not a very exciting place , staff are dull and miserable , with the exception of maybe 2 ! no way near as scary as I thought it could have been , had more fun at Blackpools haunted house !

2  Thank Aquamaria59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello and thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. We do admit to being surprised by your experience of our staff who are regularly commended for their enthusiasm and friendliness. We do try to cater to everyone's scare threshold - as you can imagine, it differs drastically from person to person so what one person is terrified of might have no effect on someone else. If you have further feedback for us, please do contact us at edinburgh.dungeon@merlinentertainments.biz Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edinburgh Dungeon also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Edinburgh Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing