We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scary somtimes”

The Edinburgh Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.24*
and up
The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket
Ranked #9 of 94 Museums in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects, stages, scenes and rides in a truly unique and exciting walk-through experience that you see, hear, touch, smell and feel. It's hilarious fun and sometimes a bit scary. Your 80-minute journey will take you through 500 years of Scotland's darkest history. Guided by a full cast of actors, you and your companions walk through The Dungeon, moving from show to show. Shows are based on real Scottish history, minus the boring bits! WINNER OF SCOTLAND'S BEST VISITOR ATTRACTION 2014 AT THE SCOTTISH ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed January 9, 2013

realy good value for money good actors storey lines beleivable and true book online mutch cheaper than on the day get there at eleven in the morning the only take about 20 at a time. well worth going .

Thank kevin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hello and thanks for your review. We're delighted to hear you felt the Dungeon experience is really good value for money and that our actors are believable. Our online booking service offers a best price guarantee and priority entrance so it's great that you were able to take advantage of that. Just one small point - each tour is a maximum of 32, not 20.

Many thanks, and we'd be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"boat ride"
in 405 reviews
"great fun"
in 410 reviews
"sawney bean"
in 105 reviews
"drop ride at the end"
in 64 reviews
"scary fun"
in 62 reviews
"their roles"
in 60 reviews
"audience participation"
in 106 reviews
"special effects"
in 59 reviews
"burke and hare"
in 55 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 87 reviews
"great attraction"
in 56 reviews
"rainy day"
in 62 reviews
"scottish history"
in 66 reviews
"scares"
in 159 reviews
"characters"
in 215 reviews
"campy"
in 111 reviews
"parts"
in 258 reviews
Filter

3,995 - 3,999 of 4,731 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are in the mood for loud noises and a bit of audience participation the dungeons are great fun! Most of the actors are incredibly enthusiastic and really make the place a good laugh!

Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hello and thanks for your review. We're delighted to hear you had a good laugh on your tour of Scotland's murky past. Your kind comments will be shared with our performance team. Look out for special events throughout the year if you feel like returning for something a bit different!

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Don't really know what I was expecting, but this didnt live up to it. The Wife and Daughter thought it was okay though. Quite expensive for what it is. Various tales are told by actors but you had already read about them on the way in. The actors try to bring the stories to life but it just didnt work for me. The couple of 'rides' were just not effective enough. We have considered the Dungeons in London and York before, but I have crossed them off the list now.

Thank Argentum66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hello and thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the Dungeon experience, but do appreciate that what we do just isn't for everyone. If you would like to give us more detailed feedback about your visit, please contact us at edinburgh.dungeon@merlinentertainments.biz - we do take all guest feedback into consideration when making improvements to the tour.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went there with my girlfriend whilst on a short city break. Had a code with O2 for a two for one and gave it a go. It was a fun light hearted affair but I'm a bit of a wuss so got scared much to the amusement of my girlfriend. The people we met on the tour who told the stories were entertaining but at times a bit cheesy. For the price we paid it was good value but wouldn't have gone unless it was two for one. We have been and seen it now so won't need a repeat visit as its not something you can go twice without spoiling anything. Good afternoon activity.

Thank TomAitken247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hello and thanks for your review. We're glad to hear you felt the experience was good value and that you were able to take advantage of our promotional partnership with O2. It's great that you felt our performers were entertaining and they managed to scare you a little. You might be interested to hear that we do make regular improvements to the tour and install new shows around holiday periods such as Easter, Halloween and Christmas - so there is often something new to see!

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I came here June 22nd 2011 and were met at the door by a chap in costume leaning against the door frame playing on his mobile phone looking bored.
He half heartedly pointed us downstairs and that set the tone for most of the visit.
On reaching the ticket point, another two members of staff were texting/playing on their phones and we felt like we were interrupting them and again, more half hearted service.
We had to wait a while for enough people to arrive in order to begin the tour and were then told one of the attractions wasnt working so halfway through we were lead down stairs to avoid it and then rejoin the tour.
The actors were fine, some gave really good performances, particulary the one in the Sawney Bean cave but the boat ride to that particular scene was basically sitting in a pitch black room, with some noises round us and was the biggest anti climax of the visit.
Overall, it was ok, if the staff were a bit more enthusiastic and looked like they wanted to be there it may have been a bit better and the a bit more interaction with the audience would have been good.
I am a big fan of being scared and not once did I even feel on edge.
London and York dungeons are fantastic, this place could be so too with a bit more effort!

Thank Gillianjstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Hello and thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed by your experience but admit to being somewhat confused regarding your review. You mention that this review is based on a visit on June 22nd 2011, but then that you visited February 2012. Were these two separate occasions? Regardless, we would like to point out that almost a year has passed since the most recent of these visits and that many ongoing improvements have been put in place during this time. However, it is not the norm that our staff use their phones while on duty so we are sorry that this is what you witnessed. In actual fact our staff are regularly praised for their enthusiasm so to hear this from your review is disappointing to us. Unfortunately given the time that has passed since your visit we are unable to investigate this further, but will remain vigilant that phones remain in lockers.

Our tours run, at our quietest times, every 15 minutes. On our busiest days they run up to every 7 minutes so no guest should have to wait longer than 15 minutes. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Sawney Bean show; it is one of the most popular. Any ideas you have for improving our boat ride experience, or indeed any of the tour, are welcomed at edinburgh.dungeon@merlinentertainments.biz - we do take guest feedback seriously here at the Dungeon and use it to make improvements.
It is difficult to judge just how scary to make the tour as we do receive a wide range of visitors whose fear levels vary drastically, as you might imagine! We do hope that while you weren't scared, that you did have a few laughs.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edinburgh Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to The Edinburgh Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing