We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have to go!!”

The Edinburgh Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.45*
and up
The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket
Ranked #6 of 55 Fun & Games in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects, stages, scenes and rides in a truly unique and exciting walkthrough experience that you see, hear, touch, smell and feel. It's hilarious fun and sometimes a bit scary. Your 80 minute journey will take you through 1000 years of Scotland's dark history. Guided by a full cast of actors, you and your companions walk through The Dungeon, moving from show to show. Shows are based on real Scottish history, minus the boring bits! WINNER OF SCOTLAND'S BEST VISITOR ATTRACTION 2014 AT THE SCOTTISH ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You have to go!!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband visited the dungeons whilst we were on our honeymoon. We had such great fun in there and the characters picked on my husband nearly on every room which was quite entertaining - they really got into their characters - would definatly recommend and return if we came back to Edinburgh again

Helpful?
Thank Lydia-cheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello and thanks for your review. We're delighted to hear you found your tour to be great fun. It is sometimes the case that people are singled out several times; this is generally due to them standing out in some way - usually due to height! We're so pleased to hear you would you recommend us and visit it. We look forward to welcoming you both back.

Congratulations on your marriage from all of us here at Edinburgh Dungeon, and we hope you had a spectacular Honeymoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,318
    1,088
    384
    128
    118
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“creepie but good fun”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Edinburgh dungeon is pure entertainment, with scant regard for historic accuracy, however it is really good fun.
In a group you are toured past different 'horrors' , with actors enacting judges/torturers/criminals from Scotland's dark past.
I especially liked the fake body juices sprayed over you but it would be more realistic if they were warm!
There were some thrills and some good laughs, all in all an enjoyable outing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nielshartgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello and thanks for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the tour and found it entertaining. We do work hard to ensure historical accuracy in our stories, so if there was something you noticed that wasn't correct, please do let us know! We can be reached at Edinburgh.dungeon@merlinentertainments.biz

Your idea about the body squirt has been passed to our technical team; although that might be too much for some of our visitors! Ideas are always welcome however, and will always be considered when we're making show improvements. We take all guest feedback very seriously here and ideas like this are great for us.

Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermanagh
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We decided to go here on a spur of the moment. Because of this we probably paid premium rate at £16.75 per person. I have heard it is much cheaper to book beforehand. We really didn't know what to expect. In the first room, the courtroom, my sister got picked from the audience, which was very funny. So be prepared as there was audience participation throughout whether you wanted to or not! We found some aspects terrifying, especially the boat ride and the cannibal room. I found this very scary. The actors were very convincing. I would not recommend it to anyone under 16.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonifermanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello, and thanks for your review. We're glad you found the Dungeon experience to be worth 5*. As you mention, it is cheaper to book online in advance which also guarantees you priority entrance. Our walk up price for an adult is £16.20. We're pleased you found the audience participation parts of the tour enjoyable; our actors do work hard to make people feel involved in the stories we tell!
There are some jumpy bits and so as a guideline we generally don't recommend the Dungeon to those under 8 or of a nervous disposition - however everyone is different so we advise parental or guardian discretion.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Scary but brilliant fun!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Really good time had by my wife and I, the actors involved were first rate! This is definitely worth a visit though its a good idea to book online as you save a fortune! I booked mine on my iPhone stood outside and then just showed the girl at the admissions my confirmation email! The staff are first clas though this is definitely not for kids as it really was scary! The last ride was the highlight though! 5 star!

Helpful?
Thank Budgeras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello and thanks for leaving us a 5* review. We're so pleased to hear you had a great time on our tour. Your kind comments will be shared with our performance and retail teams. As you point out, we do offer a best price guarantee to those booking online so it's great you were able to take advantage of that. We don't recommend the tour for those under 8, although it is entirely at parental or guardian discretion - as we do have a few jumpy bits! It's great that you enjoyed Extremis: Drop ride to doom too.

Many thanks again, and we'd be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, Renfrewshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great time had by all !!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Visited on the 17th November with my wife, daughter and 3 of her friends as a 14th birthday treat.

Right from the word go everyone had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. All the kids were caught up in the whole thing and it gave them a good fright all the way through.

We were at the York Dungeons earlier this year and whilst it was good it is no where near as good as Edinburgh. York was more fun and a laugh but this one is definately has more of a scare factor.

All the actors put on a fine display and cannot be faulted for their enthusiasm and scaring abilities and the two rides were good as well.

All in all it was a great visit and was well worth what we payed for it. One tip is to make sure you book online and try to get in early as you can save a fortune on the pay at the door price.

Thanks for making a great birthday day out...........

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gordy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello and thanks for your lovely review. We're delighted to hear you all enjoyed your tour through Scotland's gruesome history and that it was a great birthday day out. It's great that you've also managed to visit our York site and we're pleased to hear you particularly enjoyed Edinburgh! Your kind comments will be shared with our performance team. As you mention we do offer an online best price guarantee so are glad you managed to make the most of that.

A belated Happy Birthday to your 14 year old from all of us here at the Edinburgh Dungeon!

Many thanks, and we do look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edinburgh Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to The Edinburgh Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing