We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again in a heartbeat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
53 Frederick Street
Ranked #27 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My 20 yr old daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights over the Christmas holiday. We loved it. Do be aware that it is old - but that's is a huge part of the charm! Yes, the carpet is worn, yes there are marks on the wall, yes, the lampshade my be tippy, but the beds and linens are very clean and very comfortable. We had an en suite in our 2 twin beds room. A bit mildew smelly in the bathroom from the drains I believe but nothing that was intolerable. The bathroom (including the shower stall) was otherwise extremely clean. Our room was enormous, with very high ceilings, and 2 huge windows facing the street. There was some street noise at night, cars passing on the cobblestone road, people passing by could be heard if boisterous. But not intolerable at all and when you're in the city in an old building that's what you're going to get. There's a lounge with DVDs and books to borrow. We didn't spend much time in there. We did have a light breakfast in there on Christmas morning, David and Tessa provided it since Rick's next door was closed. They had a Christmas tree up, so it felt very nice and welcoming given we were away from home on Christmas Day.

The location is IDEAL and central to The castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Park and Arthur's seat; with plenty of shopping and restaurants all around. And the train station is very close too - 10 min walk perhaps.

We simply loved it here and would stay again. I believe the key is that we knew what to expect. We had read the reviews and knew going in that there would be 50+ stairs to walk up (no lift), we knew it would be old (it might be in the new town section of Edinburgh but new here is 1700's!)

As for the odd check-in times, when I booked the reservation I didn't notice this. Tessa emailed shortly after booking to inquire as to what time we would like to check in. Our flight came in right between these times but Tessa was extremely accommodating and offered to meet us quickly to check us in. No problem, simple communication took care of our needs and we were very appreciative - thank you again Tessa!

One last thought - we felt quite safe and secure the entire time, as mom and daughter traveling together we never once felt unsafe in the building or in the city of Edinburgh. A wonderful, wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for 53 Frederick Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 489 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

I recently stayed at 53 Frederick Street on a night out with some friends. I was given a beautiful room with a fantastic huge shower room. Both Tessa and David were extremely helpful and friendly. With the castle, George street and princes street on your doorstop - I can't recommend more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWestie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

we stayed at 53 frederick street in December, two nights so as to enjoy the Christmas markets etc.
the hotel itself was ideally situated and at a very reasonable price.
it only has one draw back and thats the stairs.
not recommended for elderly people with rickety knees.
our host was very obliging and breakfast in Rick's next door was very, very good.
i think we may be giving it another go in the springtime.
rooms comfortable and clean and quite spacious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickybeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked 3 nights in September, rushed to arrive in the hotel's unusually short, awkward reception time, and were appalled at the rundown condition of the place. Up three flights of cold, unadorned, prison-gray stairs, the reception area is just as grim, tired old threadbare carpeting, furniture that looks like it came directly from a charity shop in the 1980s, as did the furniture in our room, with a view of one ugly roof across the street, bathroom curtains filthy with black grime, a small metal shower with rust or mold, tiny ragged towels. No charm anywhere. We had no central heat on an unusually cold night even for Edinburgh and were unable to summon the reportedly live-in host or hostess by phone, email, or by knocking on the office door. She refunded our first and only (sleepless) night and offered us breakfast at Rick's next door, which was inedible, the muffin of my eggs benedict still frozen. We have stayed at old b&bs throughout the UK for decades, and this place is not just the worst but that we were persuaded by positive online reviews is beyond bewildering. Beware of the situation in Edinburgh, where it is often impossible to get alternate last-minute bookings. We were forced to leave the city prematurely. A total disaster, even if we didn't notice the small space heater that was in the armoire all along. (We thought it was just a fan as in other hotels that time of year, and because central heat had been on for an hour, demonstrably, when we checked in, we figured it would be turned back on when the outside temp dropped even further to just above freezing before nightfall, but it was not.) Uncomfortable bed, uncomfortable shower, no tub, uninspiring outlook. Edinburgh, even New Town, boasts scores of better places. Learn from our experience and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LadyOverweary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Guest tried to cancel booking 3 days before arrival. She then tried to modify to 1 day. Cancellation policy still applied. Myself & 2 staff were on premises. She knocked on the closed office door. Which has a sign and bell saying, press if assistance required!
We refunded the whole stay as she was very unhappy & provided free breakfast! Ultimately aggressively rude guest, who didn't want to stay with us and then blackmailed us by saying that she would write a bad review unless we refunded her! We have reported her to GuestAdvisor and our travel partners!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

6 of us stayed here for my boyfriends birthday for 3 nights and it was great. Tess and her boyfriend and her brother were really welcoming, fun and very helpful. We had great rooms and the location was perfect. We drank our champagne in the Living Room before going out and it was just such a nice friendly vibe that it made our trip so great.
I would go back in a second and stay with them and the breakfast downstairs at Ricks is also delicious!
Thanks for a fab long weekend and my apologies for writing this late, better late than never!
Carol, Steve, Brian, Eva (cat nurse), Tom and Kate

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingers72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife; arriving on 31st October and departing on 3rd November 2013.

Okay, little (and I MEAN little) 'snagging list' out of the way first.

Slight negatives include...

* Could have been a little cleaner - some dusty surfaces (ledges around fireplace in bedroom etc.) and with it being an old building with very high ceilings; they could do with purchasing / using a long-handled duster to dust get at the higher part of the walls, fixtures and corners etc.
* Again...old building meant that there were some areas in need of a lick of paint and some minor plastering and carpentry repairs. The top hinge to our bedroom door (Room 5) was in need of repair as this made the door slope considerably; leaving quite a large gap at the top allowing light and (whatever) noise from the corridor to get in.
* Saniflo loo / water system. Never used one before and so I don't know if the very loud, awful growling noise is 'standard' every time you flush or use the sink taps and shower. Awful noise...and I only hope that this didn't disturb our neighbours too much. We didn't get any complaints; neither, I must add, did we hear anyone else's making any noise.

We got a lovely warm welcome from the girl in the office and whenever we saw the chap from time to time; he was always very pleasant and very friendly also (sorry, didn't catch or remember their names). There's a lovely, very relaxing sitting room next to the office with plenty of books, magazine and DVDs to take back into your room. There's a gorgeous, 18-year old cat called Honey that often pops in for a visit to see what you're up to (and I'm more a dog person).

From the cold stairway the carpeted corridor-landing is lovely and warm; heated very well during our October/November visit. The room too - for such a large room with a very high ceiling - was surprisingly warm; especially taking into account old, non-double glazed windows.

Despite the afore-mentioned cleanliness comments everything else was very clean indeed. All of the bedding, the carpet, 'main surfaces' and bathroom were excellently maintained. The room had a very good sized TV and a DVD player; a kettle, lots of tea, coffee and milk, a hair dryer, iron & Ironing board and even a spare, plug-in heater if required (we didn't need to use). The bathroom too was a really good size and the shower was very spacious and of good quality. Perhaps a shelf for shower gels an' the like would be a good idea and for the toilet; a toilet roll holder on the wall would finish the bathroom off perfectly.

There was no chair in front of the dresser in the bedroom for my wife but having said that, if she had have sat down to do her hair and make-up the large, wall-mounted mirror was positioned too high for her to see whilst seated anyway. Again, just a little 'thing'; nothing to go on about...

The biggest down-side to the room was the noise from Frederick Street itself. As I've said, they are old windows and being on the front, as we were; we heard everything. Passing traffic wasn't so much of an issue at night as there was very little. However, it was those enjoying a good night (and very early hours) out. I think every night / early hours I was kept awake for 45 minutes to an hour or more with street revellers anywhere from midnight to 3am.

Other than that I had great night's sleep - if you like those memory foam-type mattresses they were really quite comfy. Comfy pillows too and a very high bed, which was to my liking.

Breakfast at "Ricks" next-door-but-one was, in general, very good indeed. Very friendly throughout and most welcoming on arrival and a very nice environment to start your day. In general the food was really quite good. The quality did vary over the 3 mornings a little; some of the food seemed a little undercooked / not quite warm enough at times but only a little. Even the tea seemed quite cool (and too weak for our taste). But they have a fantastic choice and cater really well for vegetarians such as myself. Rating this separately I would give it a solid 4/5 also and coupled with the hotel it's a really good deal.

I would strongly advise anyone with mobility issues not to stay at this hotel as there are 46 steps (yes I counted them all too many times) leading to the 1st floor / Reception (and to our level); even more leading to higher rooms! Old building - there is no lift. The hotel is situated above a hair salon.

I would definitely stay here again but only if we could have a room off the main road. Other than passing (but not nearly quick enough), noisy revellers, for me it was situated quite perfectly; not too far away from it all but not too close either. There's a vast array of really good bars and places to eat within a short walk in any direction (not least the "Queens Arms" next door but one in the opposite direction to Ricks).

As others have stated, if you want 'sleek & modern' then look for a more modern hotel; this is old and cosy; very friendly and good value.

Room Tip: Not good for those with mobility issues due to lots of stairs and no lift. Also, unless you are a de...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drake-601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely warm welcome from David as we drew up in taxi
Room lovely proportions, comfy beds, clean
Tv not working, David came and mended it immediately
Breakfast next door at ricks bar .good first day....mixed grill
Pancakes a bit stale day 2
Highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice59uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
344 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#77 of 150 in Edinburgh
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#45 of 393 in Edinburgh
453 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 215 in Edinburgh
1,010 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 53 Frederick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 53 Frederick Street

Address: 53 Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $107 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 53 Frederick Street 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No. 53 Frederick Street, bed and breakfast in Edinburgh is perfectly situated in the very heart of the city centre, providing a magnificent yet unique spacious central home to explore Edinburgh, separated from Edinburgh Castle only by the Gardens! The Edinburgh B&B accommodation is an original Georgian townhouse situated on the second and third floors, that dates from circa 1820, and many of the original features have been carefully retained. This is an elegant and extremely spacious guest house, typified in a welcoming open hall with feature bow wall and staircase to upper floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 53 Frederick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
53 Frederick Street Hotel Edinburgh
53 Frederick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing