We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmoral Guesthouse
Ranked #89 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bavaria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The Balmoral Guesthouse is an excellent B&B! Marc was so kind and helpful. He assisted us in finding transportation to the airport and had nice tips for us during the entire weekend and with his great breakfast he made sure we had enough power to walk around Edinburgh all day long :)The rooms are very clean and cozy . The distance to the city center or the waterside of Leith are both about a 10-15 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride.We really enjoyed the weekend and would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gruenerwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    28
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
70
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The guest house is about a mile downhill from town and on the major bus lines. Marc & Marianne served a delicious breakfast, and the showers were wonderful with great water pressure. We loved our stay there and the space was more than we needed. It was a huge bedroom for 2 of us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleGemini2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed at Balmoral Guest House for two nights with my 11-year-old daughter and extended family across the hall. We were in room 8 (?) on the top floor with a nice view of the garden and nice private bathroom just outside our room. The room was comfortable and clean with a personal feel to it. Breakfast was terrific, with fruit and cereals in addition to the hot breakfast offered. The breakfast room is a really nice space with a big bay window. Great value, kind service, nice room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLfromSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-d'Angely, France
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We all had a lovely time at the Balmoral Guesthouse which made up for the rather grey weather of Scotland. We had a large family room on the first floor which we all loved and breakfast was fab. We were given great tips by Marc about places to take the children. There are late supermarkets and lovely restaurants just around the corner form the house. We highly recommend this guesthouse which is only a 15 minute walk to Princes st.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchie017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Had a comfortable stay at this B&B. Knowledgeable host, very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This is a lovely house in the heart of Edinburgh, near to all the attractions. Marc and Marianne are great hosts and they done a fantastic job in decorating the house in great style but still keeping all the original features of a 150 year old building. However, be assured that the bathrooms are totally up to date.
If only all B&Bs could be like this one!!
We couldn't recommend this more highly - and the breakfast is great too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2010

My parents came to visit me from Paris and they insisted on staying in a traditional Edinburgh Townhouse for this trip. I was recommended this guesthouse by somebody at work and I do not regret my choice. We were given 2 rooms at the top of the house and they were warm and very comfortable. My single room with double bed had a spacious private bathroom just outside the door and my parent's room had a lovely en-suite bathroom which was nearly big enough to be a bedroom. The breakfast was really tasty and everything was freshly prepared, it kept us all going until the evening. I enjoyed sitting at the big table and talking with other guests, we actually made some great new friends. We loved the location as it is half way between the city centre and the shore area of Leith with the Britannia (my parents are real fans of the British Monarchy) and lots of good restaurants can be found around there. We were able to catch buses very easily from Leith Walk but we also found it very pleasant to walk as nothing was very far. My parents loved the view from Calton Hill just 10 minutes walk from the Guesthouse. They are already looking forward to their next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Abbotsford Guest House
#94 of 392 in Edinburgh
151 reviews
West End
Balmore House
Balmore House
#340 of 392 in Edinburgh
353 reviews
Canadale Guest House
#132 of 392 in Edinburgh
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Hanover House Hotel
Hanover House Hotel
#156 of 392 in Edinburgh
75 reviews
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
#174 of 392 in Edinburgh
14 reviews
Pillars House
#97 of 392 in Edinburgh
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Guesthouse

Property: Balmoral Guesthouse
Address: 32 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely family run guesthouse (a listed townhouse built in 1856) is centrally situated in a very pleasant residential street and is a great base to explore the city's many attractions. Within minutes you can walk to many restaurants and local amenities. Princes St, the Old Town and the Royal Yacht Britannia are between 15-30 mns walk away or a short bus ride from Pilrig St. Free on street parking is available for drivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Balmoral Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Guesthouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing