We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmoral Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmoral Guesthouse
Ranked #98 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and what a lovely and comfortable B & B it is. Hearty cooked breakfasts, with perfect fried eggs! Also a choice of cereal, fruit and yoghurt. The bedroom was immaculate, and quiet and dark at night. It's only a short walk into the city centre from here. Definately suggest the italian la favorita on leith walk(a few 100m away) for an evening meal.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blimeykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    28
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
64
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lejos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were here all the family, 2 adults and 2 kids, for 4 days. The room was comfortable and the breakfast excellent. We never took a bus from the B&B to any local attractions and we were with 2 kids! We walked every day to the centre of Edinburgh and we walked even to the Royal Yacht Britannia. Very good location. We recommend this B&B.

And Edinburgh is a great city!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Pilrig Street is an ideal location, as there are excellent bus routes close by, shops in a walking distance as well as pubs and restaurants.

Marc is a pleasant and well-informed host, who organized wonderful babysitters for our little girl! He was also thoughtful and arranged some toys and children´s books in the breakfast room. He also gave some sound advice on what to do in rainy weather.

Breakfast was good and high quality food with a nice selection of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a great stay with Marianne and Marc. The room was warm and beautifully furnished with an eclectic range of new and antique stuff. We really felt at home. Marc gave us loads of advise on places to go walking. We love long walks and edinburgh is a perfect place if you enjoy walking through beautiful landscapes. Our favorite walk was a long white sandy beach called Yellowcraigs. Miles of beach walking with hardly anybody around. The sea looked very inviting until you dipped your hand in it. We had a fantastic stay in Edinburgh and will go back again soon. Forgot to mention the fantastic breakfast and excellent free wifi connection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Habber56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

First of all, we arrived really late and Marc waited for us. The room was wonderful. Very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was delicious and gave us enough strength for the whole day.
This place is located, not in the middle of all the tourist center, away from all the noise and what gives you the opportunity to get to know other parts of the city. Edinburgh is a small city we walked around during our stay but if not public transportation was around the corner.
This place provides you with all you need to have an amazing time and enjoy the city. Thanks Marc!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabbar, null, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went there for 2 ngihts, the room was spacious and the bathroom was really big. The breakfast was great as well. It was about 25 minutes walking distance from the centre of Edinburgh. From the window we saw the main road, but it was a bit noisy, and also during the night we heard the sirens of the ambulances and police. Some of the channels on the TV were blocked so we had only about 5 channels to watch, but overall was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister and I came to Edinburgh for my 31st birthday and we stayed here, choosing this guesthouse from the whole Edinburgh list. We had a lovely warm welcome and even got a helping hand up the stairs with my far-to-heavy-for-just-a-few-days suitcase. Room was lovely, comfy beds (not too soft, perfect for my bad back!!), lovely décor, fantastic shower. Breakfast was lovely, my sister was delighted with the porridge - not being much of a breakfast eater I only picked at stuff but there was plenty of tea!! Wi-Fi in the room was brilliant as my mobile network did not work in Edinburgh and I was having to negotiate business while I was on holiday. We walked into the city every morning and it was lovely to get back, put our feet up, have a cup of tea and watch the TV. It was great talking about writing with Marianne, my sister is thrilled with the copy of Marianne's book she bought. Price was perfectly reasonable for Edinburgh in the middle of the festival...our window was even in the right position to watch the fireworks from the castle as the Tattoo closed each night!! We loved our visit, prime location, easy walk to the city, plenty of places to eat nearby (we would recommend La Favourita on Leith Walk...best Italian I have ever eaten in!!)...I certainly will be back!

Room Tip: If you can manage the stairs, get a top floor room...we scarcely heard a sound from the traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
1.9 mi away
Balmore House
Balmore House
#376 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#114 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canadale Guest House
Canadale Guest House
#131 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#60 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbotsford Guest House
Abbotsford Guest House
#100 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Guesthouse

Property: Balmoral Guesthouse
Address: 32 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely family run guesthouse (a listed townhouse built in 1856) is centrally situated in a very pleasant residential street and is a great base to explore the city's many attractions. Within minutes you can walk to many restaurants and local amenities. Princes St, the Old Town and the Royal Yacht Britannia are between 15-30 mns walk away or a short bus ride from Pilrig St. Free on street parking is available for drivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balmoral Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Guesthouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing