We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and convenience at a great B & B.”
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #8 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfort and convenience at a great B & B.”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stopped over in Edinburgh on our way back from a trip to the Shetland Islands. Our intention was to see one or two Edinburgh sights and meet a relative before returning home to Yorkshire. We booked Froach as it was near where our relative lives and not too far from the city centre where we normally stay. We were very pleasantly surprised by the comfort and convenience of Froach. The room we had was large by B&B standards, with room to sit down, read and relax.Everyone was friendly and welcoming. The frequent No 11 bus which stops outside the door gets you to Princes Street or Leith in about 10 minutes and Pilrig Park opposite would be a nice place to walk in the summer. All in all a great "find" and we'll be booking again.

Room Tip: Very little street noise even in the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesw227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    75
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
473
48
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just returned having had a 2 day break for my birthday. Do not look at any other Guest house if you want quality, luxury, friendliness, attention to detail. Gareth, the porridge was divine -I wont mention the golden syrup ( your secrets safe with me) Walking distance to Princes street and Playhouse. Ample free parking over the road. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room at the back was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin Hoods Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent three days at Fraoch House and had a fantastic stay. The house is beautifully decorated. Our room was spacious, comfortable and inviting which made returning from exploring Edinburgh a real pleasure. Fraoch is within easy walking distance of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is also close to a wide range of local pubs and restaurants. Breakfast is a delight offering a range of fruit, cereals, breads and cooked breakfast.
Gareth the owner is a little gem - helpful, charming and informative - who does all that is possible to ensure a memorable experience. We will certainly be returning and will be spreading the word. Fraoch House is a must stay if you are visiting Edinburgh.
D and H

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Fraoch House is a beautiful B&B in a great location. Gareth, the guy who runs it, is a lot of fun, extremely welcoming and eager to help you in any way he can to make your stay as amazing as possible. The room we stayed in was luxurious, stylish and spacious - we were almost tempted to forgo some site-seeing just so we could enjoy the room more! Fraoch House is an example of attention down to the tiniest detail, including a bowl of treats and chocolates placed by the front door as you come in! The cooked breakfasts are delicious, and an impressive spread of cereals, fruit, bread/crumpets/croissants is available. Would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We went to Fraoch on the back of the trip advisor reviews and wasn't disappointed at all. We had a friendly welcome once we arrived and were shown to our room. The young lady explained the essential info and was v pleasant.

The room itself had a lovely large bed, flatscreen tv and spacious bathroom. The only v minor thing was that the room had obviously just been redecorated and smelled strongly of paint, but apart from that v happy.

Gareth was very friendly and welcoming at breakfast time and had a good range of breakfasts. The smoked salmon and full breakfast were great although the full breakfast would have been even better with beans, but that's just personal taste.

Overall if you stay at Fraoch House you won't be disappointed, its great value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Myself and my mum arrived for a girly break at around 2:30 on Monday. The B and B was easy to find and looks beautiful from the outside, the door was opened by Gareth who is the loveliest man ever, he introduced himself and took us into the dining room for tea/coffee and biscuits, as well as chatting to us about the journey and our plans. We were shown to our room which was on the top floor of the house, quite a walk up but gareth carried the bags so it wasnt too tiring!! ;) It was a gorgeous twin room with a private bathroom across the hall, (we had the key) and our beds were lovely, comfortable and the bedding was amazing quality. The bathroom was stunning, deep bath, good shower, lovely toiletries and gorgeous slate floor. The water was red hot which was great.
The choice of breakfast was fantastic, I opted for the cooked breakfast and my mum had a full continental with so many things to choose from. I am very heavily pregnant and Gareth did everything he could to make my stay as enjoyable as possible, even letting us stay in our room during the day as I was feeling quite tired, and reccommending places to eat that were close by.
On our last day, we did not leave untill quite late in the afternoon, we had a knock on the door from gareth who had to pop out, and wanted to carry our bags down for us before he went!! 1st class service! I had seen some reviews before I stayed that mentioned the noise level, in our room you could hear traffic as the bus stops outside.. this is literally the only noise we heard and is too be expected in a busy city. I could not recommend this place, or the owner enough, and ill never stay anywhere else in edinburgh!

Room Tip: The twin room is at the top of the house, it does leave you a little out of breath so may not be gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

From the moment we arrived until we left, the service we received at Fraoch House has been truly remarkable. We were immediately made to feel welcome and at home by Kat and when we got to our room I was really impressed by its cleanliness as well as it comfort and space. It had everything we needed including a really nice, comfy sofa to relax in and watch some tv after a long day. I am almost 7 months pregnant so we probably spent a lot more time in our room than the average guest but instead of feeling cramped, we felt like we had our own little studio appartment.
The breakfast was really good every day and I especially liked the fresh fruit every morning. Gareth was always a wonderful host at breakfast and gave us many tips on places to go that proved to be a lifesaver as I didn't have as much energy as I normally would.
When I asked if I could store a birthday cake for my partner in their fridge until the next day, they not only accommodated my request but they also put birthday candles on it and served it after breakfast which made for a brilliant surprise for my boyfriend.
We also received a nice complimentary bottle of Prosecco to toast the New Year as we were staying there during Hogmanay. This was a really nice touch and just another example of their attention to detail.
At all times, I felt like they really cared about their guests and upon leaving you feel like they are old friends.
The B&B is only a 10-min bus ride from the city centre, the bus stop is just outside the house and the bus (11) stops there frequently.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
473 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Property: Fraoch House
Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing