We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay”
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #9 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We arrived to Fraoch House via cab, but that is because we were not familiar with the bus system, which is very good in Edinburgh (the number 11 stops right outside). We were greeted very warmly by Garreth upon arrival and he took our bags up to our room, while we had tea and coffee, which after all the travel was very much appreciated. He was extremely informative about how to get around in Edinburgh and thanks to his advice and the maps he provided we did adequately well. We stayed on the third floor, which was fine for us, but if you have problems getting around, get a room on one of lower levels. I really appreciate it when someone goes above and beyond, but I appreciate it even more when going above and beyond is the norm and that is how it feels at Froach House. The room we stayed in was not overly spacious, but more than adequate (and I feel it might be big for an Edinburgh B&B). Also, it had a private bathroom with a shower only. The bed was very comfortable, which allowed for a fantastic rest followed by a delicious breakfast. I feel that with all the walking and site seeing we did in Edinburgh, I would not have made it with the normal hotel amenities. Perhaps the best way to describe my stay at Froach House is the feeling of gratitude I feel towards them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    76
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
477
49
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in early August. It is such a great alternative to staying at a standard hotel. Easy to find, great location, wonderful (huge) breakfast, immaculately clean, large rooms, on the bus line, and easily walkable to many locations are just a few of the reasons to stay here. Gareth and Kat are very personable, giving tons of information and advice about everything and anything to all who asked questions. I would return and stay here again in a minute.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank duxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

How many ways can I say that we loved this place. Stayed here for three nights for the Tattoo which was excellent.
The day before arrival Gareth emailed me to get an approx arrival time. Following my reply I got an email reply with map directions for driving from Manchester where we were.
When we arrived Gareth was there to greet us with a great pot of brewed coffee and shortbread biscuits. Perfect for recovery after a drive. Whilst we drank, he explained the local lay of the land including sites, bus services, restaurants etc.
The room was smallish but then again I'm a big lad. it was well appointed with a superb bathroom with a great shower. Nice comfortable bed for a good sleep. Great choice of breakfast including a veggie option. He makes great porridge.
It's a bit of a walk uphill to the Old Town and the Castle area but there is a bus stop right outside if you need it. Get the £3.50 day rover (exact change needed).
Wouldn't hesitate to return even though my knees didn't enjoy the 2nd flight of stairs. Ha ha.
Gareth, you're a champ.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TK1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A very elegant place, the room was quite big, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was great. The breakfasts were terrific. It's about a mile walk to Princes Street, which was fine with us but if you're not a walker keep that in mind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Gareth is the friendliest host, with great advice about places to see. He and his team make sure your stay is thoroughly enjoyable. Fraoch's House location is really great, in Leith, 15 minute walk to the tourist attractions in Edinburgh but on a really quiet street, away from all the bustle. Free parking is available right outside, on the street, a definite plus if you have a car.
The decor is lovely, each room unique, and the curtains really block all the light from the outside, which is great during the summer if you are a light sleeper like me.
Breakfast is fantastic, lots of choices (all delicious) and quite generous.
There is a computer with a printer for guest use, which I found very thoughtful.
All in all, amazing value for the price. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Room 7 is equipped for accesibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibarita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed two nights at Fraoch House in June this year and it was wonderful. Gareth is one of those excellent hosts who gives excellent succinct advice, provides you with a map, has a great sense of humour and makes you feel right at home :) We loved the sunny dining room where we enjoyed gorgeous fresh berries, yoghurt, fresh bread (still warm!), cereals and any cooked breakfast we liked prepared- eggs, waffles, pancakes etc. The room was lovely and clean and had everything we needed - complimentary chocolates are always a nice touch. This place has ample street parking and a bus stop two doors down. It is nice and close to all of the good spots in Edinburgh and walking distance to a couple of great restaurants and bars. If you are lucky enough to stay here you will love it too!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which has a nice view out to the park, however it requires carrying cases u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Where do I start.. This place is a real gem. All staff are superb, but the star is the owner, Gareth. He goes above and beyond and couldnt make my stay any more comfortable. I felt myself wanting to stay and chat to him - wicked sense of humour - rather than go out and explore the magical city. He is the most thoughtful, friendly, funny host. Cant praise this place enough. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zozocash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
933 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,820 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
481 reviews
Kew House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
821 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 392 in Edinburgh
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Property: Fraoch House
Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing