We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fraoch house”
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #8 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fraoch house”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A fantastic place to stay in Edinburgh. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic and the welcome from the host was second to none. Fraoch House is well within walking distance to the centre of Edinburgh but there is also a bus stop right outside the front door and an all day ticket was very good value. . Would definitely recommend Fraoch House to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for room 8 or 9. Although we had 5 rooms between us and they were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garybeck6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    74
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
472
48
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you want to stay close to the action of Edinburgh's city centre, forget fancy boutique hotels with exhorbitant prices and make your way to Froach House. Gareth's an excellent host - I'm an ex-pat Scot who knows Edinburgh well, but he was still able to give a few insider tips on good places to go. All the previous reviews are accurate in terms of the standard of accommodation, catering and care. I'll definitely be back and would recommend Froach House to everyone.
One tip: if you arrive at night and on foot (it's about a 20' walk from Waverley), watch you don't miss it. There are lots of B&Bs on Pilrig Street. Most have a sign in the garden. Froach doesn't, just a glass panel over the front door to identify it. It's at the first bus stop on the left after you turn off Leith Walk.

Room Tip: From what I saw, they were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A lovely B&B that you will not be disappointed by Froach House hospitality and their breakfast. You just have to be careful on directions, since the road names change. It is a about 1/2 mile from Prince street, but great central location. Their are three floors with a good selection

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton-on-tees
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My partner took me here for my birthday from 5th to the 7th jan. It has a 4* rating and believe me its more than worthy of those stars. The whole stay there was spot on and could easily and comfortably stay a lot longer than the weekend :). The place itself is a ten min walk to princess street or you could get the bus just outside the door :). The people who work there are very courteous and nice and friendly :). The little extras in the bedroom (sweets and choc biscuits) were a nice touch and the breakfasts were delicious :) overall a fantastic place to stay and would without question stay again. My only quirk (and I've had this everywhere I stay, my partner laughs at me) is that they weren't any coasters in the bedroom. I just feel guilty putting cups on furnature like I said though that's almost everywhere we stay but I wouldn't mark the place down for that as its just my little quirk :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calmspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We agree with all the positive comments about Fraoch House. We have recently spent three nights here and despite feeling under the weather we had a lovely time due to being well looked after in this wonderful bed and breakfast. We would love to return when we feel better equipped to cope with Gareth's wonderful hearty breakfasts, rather than our requested small portions. (described by our host as a breakfast for Borrowers!) Thank you Gareth.

Room Tip: The standard room was perfectly adequate in size. Two comfy chairs and a spacious en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PricklesYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights this weekend. Word of warning, two nights isn't enough for your first trip to Edinburgh, which ours was! So we will definitely be back to see Gareth and his team at some point. Hopefully this gives you an indication as to how lovely this B&B is. Its stands out from all the others on Pilrig Street (great first impressions), Gareth is a very friendly and helpful host, and the room and facilities are clean, modern and spacious. Probably most importantly the breakfast was superb! There was a great selection on the menu. You could really tell that Gareth selects quality ingredients & takes pride in his cooking. Well done, thank you and we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I really can't fault this place, we had a terrific stay at this lovely guest house. Gareth was super helpful, the perfect host- welcoming and warm- no matter what our plans he always had a tip or suggestion we hadn't thought about. The breakfast was wonderful- good range of options, perfect poached eggs and how I miss those Scottish raspberries! The room was clean and a good size and had everything you could need. Lovely modern bathroom and good sized towels! Location was good too as we spread our time between Leith and the city centre. We were quite happy walking everywhere but buses were clearly a good option for those not quite as active. Perfect accommodation for a fantastic trip- thanks team Fraoch (and we even found out how to pronounce it!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Property: Fraoch House
Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing