We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Ranked #67 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent budget hotel”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you are looking for a modern, centrally located budget hotel this is the one for you! It was just excellent. Comfortable room and it seemed brand new as if the bathroom had never been used and the bed had never been slept in! Great location, lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your great review Frances B! The team and I are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will use our Ibis brand again during any of your other trips. See you again very soon in Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    735
    221
    57
    40
See reviews for
257
973
122
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very impressed by the Ibis! Centrally located (although like many others, ended up in the Ibis Royal Mile as this is the first Ibis Hotel one comes across walking up from Waverley), with clean modern rooms, a good shower, comfortable bed and a great breakfast. We were only staying one night but one could not really ask for more for a short stay, and the rates represent excellent value. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panjabigastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for a great review, Panjabigastronome! We are delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay with us at our brand new Ibis hotel, proudly launched 3 months ago. We hope to seeing you back soon! Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Perfect location near the train/bus station, two supermarkets near the hotel. When we booked it said that there would be room safe, but we couldn't find any. Larger room than previously Ibis we stayed at. Way to thick pillows, ended up using a towel as pillow. Didn't eat the breakfast at the hotel. We had an OK experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear DIF1891,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am glad you have enjoyed our prime location, as we are very lucky to be just a few minutes walk from the famous Royal Mile. This is with disapointment I am reading the comfort of our bed was not up to your expectations. In order to meet all our customer's needs, we do have more pillows option available at the reception anytime along with a safe service. Our team is happy to help 24/7 and try to make everyone's stay hassle-free. We hope to seeing you back to Edinburgh very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is new and offers very good services. If you don't want to have your breakfast in the hotel, you also can count on Costa Cafe in the same building. An excelent choice in Edinburgh with balanced price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnaldogalvao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Arnaldogalvao,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your stay at our brand new Ibis hotel. We appreciate your feedbacks, which I am sure will help other tripadvisor travellers in their decision. Our full Scottish breakfast offers a great variety of hot and cold food for only £7.95, and served until 12 noon at weekends. We hope to seeing you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just next to Royal mile, this modern hotel provides all the necessary comforts. The rooms are very good, clean and warm. The staff at the service desk are more than helpful. Central to pretty much everything. Right in the heart of old town, the new town, the train and bus stations, tram stop all are a short stroll away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank man0haran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your great reviwe Man0haran. I am delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, and will definitely pass on your feedbacks to all of my team which I am sure will be pleased to hear they made your stay hassle-free. We all look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Was here for 5 nights on a theatre/shopping break (very close to the Festival Theatre). It was very comfortable, bright & clean. I was particularly struck by the way unnecessary frills were omitted but they didn't stint on the rest (the coffee at breakfast will stick in my mind for a long time, as will the fresh rolls). The room was bigger than I expected; the bed massively comfortable; the TV well placed & big enough to see well. I love the pod-type shower/loo unit with great lighting. The free wifi worked well & for a small fee you could get a faster connection, presumably if you want to watch video online--I didn't bother. I ate in the restaurant before the theatre each night & was served promptly by very pleasant staff. The lifts were very fast & keycard controlled for security. The staff were stupendous, friendly, organised, & helpful. All in all, I had a great stay & will stay again on my next theatre trip. One warning, do be sure, if taking a taxi to say it is the NEW Ibis on South Bridge; I had one driver who hadn't heard it had opened & turned onto the street for the other Ibis, which is one way so he couldn't get back. Its only a 100 metres or so away but if you had a lot of baggage it could be a pain walking.

Room Tip: Entrance to the hotel lobby is from South Bridge & is therefore on the FOURTH floor. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review Joan R! All the team and myself are grateful for your feedbacks, which will definitely help future travellers coming to Edinburgh. Our team certainely is an asset, and your kind words is an encouragement to them to keep delivering outstanding services. We truly hope to seeing you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Got off of our train from Glasgow and pretty easily walked to the hotel, little bit of a challenge with luggage but definitely doable. Comfortable beds, friendly staff, and centrally located. This room was a little more spacious than the typical rooms I saw across Ireland and Scotland. Weird soap dispenser in the bathroom, thankfully I brought my own. Nice, clean, modern place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedbacks Amy C. I am glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to seeing you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,408 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
862 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Address: 77 South Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge is an economy hotel located in Edinburgh Old Town, just off Royal Mile.The hotel has 259 modern guest rooms and is within walking distance of the sights and nightlife of Edinburgh. The bar serves a selection of beers, wines, spirits as well as light meals & snacks 24 hours a day. Waverley Railway Station is just 0.5km and Edinburgh Airport is 13km away. Edinburgh Old Town, Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing