We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Signage, Unhelpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #100 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“No Signage, Unhelpful staff”
Reviewed July 14, 2007

We had an extremely difficult time finding this hotel, whereas there are NO holiday inn express signs to indicate where the hotel is. This is in the extremely busy edinburgh city and the hotel was impossible to locate. You must have a Sat/Nav system to find it. We called the hotel staff SIX times to get directions and NO ONE there was helpful. It took us 2 hours to find the hotel. Could not possibly recommend. Although the hotel is updated, the location next to a major night club kept the bass drums beating in our hotel room LOUDLY until 3am. This was miserable. Once again, hotel staff did not care. In addition, the hotel location is such that you have to walk 10 block up hill to get to shopping at Princes Street and the Castle. Try the Thistle Hotel, or the many others that have better staff, locale, and signage.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sbsmithfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    894
    384
    93
    53
See reviews for
381
785
106
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Good location for city centre. Close to lots of restaurants.
Parking is a real pain, but it is anywhere in Edinburgh!
Average room size, average service, average continental breakfast. Room was very clean.
Would not book here again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5star~C.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

Me and my family stayed here for 1 night as we were going to watch the edinburgh marathon the following day. Myself and my brother both had front facing rooms which were fine, they were double glazed so there was no problem with traffic noise, and the rooms themselves were a good standard.

However, our parents had a room at the back of the hotel which was not double glazed and they had to put up with music blaring from a club round the back of the hotel until 3.30am and were not at all impressed.

The location is fantastic, the breakfast waa nothing out of the ordinary. The bar is quite nice and we found the staff to be very helpful.

Overall a great location, but make sure you specify a front room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
199 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2007

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and this is one of the worst stay we've ever had. The reviews looked quite good so we booked this hotel with confidence. What a big mistake! The room seems to be OK at first sight but: the wall are thin so you can hear everything from the other rooms, the doors are banging, there is a nightclub just next to the hotel and the music is on until 3.00 AM (don't bother to go in the nightclub as you will hear the music from your room!), if your room is overlooking the parking then you will enjoy the noise from the cars and from the people. Furthermore, many young people stay there in groups and thy run from 1 room to another, bang the doors, scream and laugh at night, nobody from the reception saying anything to them ... The bed is not that confy, I had a sore back every morning. Also, we were cold but there was no additional blanket nor addition pillows. And last thing: it's an Holiday Inn EXPRESS so don't expect to have your room really cleaned evryday - the floor of our bathroom has not been cleaned 1 single time during our stay. Really, if you go there and expect to enjoy good nights, you are not in the best hotel in town ...

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No way to sleep
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Londinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2007

I was in a pinch for a 5 day stay in Edinburgh. The hotel that I booked was not acceptable so called the Holiday Inn Express at 1 a.m. to see if the had anything. Yes, and they gave me a quiet room away from the elevators at a fair price for this city. They originally could not take me for the Saturday night so I made other arrangements. When a cancel for the Saturday came up, they called my room offered it to me. Moved me to a even quieter room. Such attention to details go far with me. The staff remembered what I needed and canceled the other hotel for me.

Clean room with plenty of towels, pillows, storage, and coffee/tea in the room.

The only con in this, and this is a corporate issue at all the Holiday Inns I stay with as a Gold Priority Club member is the "corporate door". By this I mean the doors to the rooms that close rather loudly. If you have a rude guest who does not think of others, this could be a problem. Holiday Inn needs to upgrade the doors in all their properties.

Good hotel with great Continental Breakfast. Fair rates in an expensive city.

  • Liked — Value with a fabulous staff who does care about the visitors
  • Disliked — Holiday Inn needs to change it doors to a less noisy version.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

The staff at the hotel were great and our room was pretty nice. Our room was on the ground floor which has the view of the carpark (parking lot). The room has no closets except for a couple of hangers on a clothes rod by the wall. If you need a safe, they provide that at the front desk. If you need an iron, that's on the fourth floor. The continental breakfast was fine with toast, fruit and cereal but my problem is that they end it at 9:30 which I thought was too early.

The Express is situated right across the Omni Center which houses a cinema and various eateries and a stones throw away from St James Place which has a lot of shopping including a John Lewis department store. The Royal Mile is about a 5-10 minute walk.

Tip #1: Bring a travel clock.

Tip #2: If you want to just check your email for a short time, I suggest to find an internet cafe (there's a couple on Royal Mile) at a £1 for a half an hour. The hotel charges £6.50 for 60 minutes and £12 for a 24 hours.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rlean5031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

Stayed at Hi express for 1 night suited us perfectly meeting friends at the omni centre which was just across the road next to the Playhouse theater as other's have said before me loads of bars and places to eat.we parked the car under the omni and if you get your ticket stamped at the Hi express you get 20%of the cost of parking.
The rooms were clean and were in very good condition had a ground floor room but heard no noise from the street,we had no problems with the staff and the breakfast was good would stay here again.

  • Liked — Close to the Omni
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Haggis-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,767 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing