We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service second to none”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #104 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed November 11, 2006

OK, it's the Holiday Inn Express brand, so you expect a certain level of comfort and a degree of consistency. What you can hope for, but do not always experience, is the sort of friendly service that makes you feel at home and want to return.
This Edinburgh hotel is certainly comfortable and well-situated and there are several great features - not least the no-questions-asked five day left luggage facility.
We arrived on an early flight, with a 9 am arrival at the hotel, hoping to deposit our bags for the day. Imagine our delight when we were told 'your room is ready for you' and we enjoyed the luxury of being able to unpack and freshen-up before hitting the streets.
What really struck us throughout our short stay was the fact that every member of staff, without exception, had a cheerful smile and a greeting - and they were vigilant, too, to make sure that guests were not kept waiting unnecessarily.
In a world of standardised, corporate 'hospitality', it is so refreshing to find a hotel where everyone is committed to making service just that bit more personal. No more searching the Web for us on our frequent trips to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank delian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,700 - 1,706 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2006

This Holiday Inn Express is a comfortable base for exploring Edinbourgh, Scotland. Use the website to book and pay in advance (if you can) as the city prices are very high for this modern type of room. I could not find any price breaks online.
The prices are quoted in pounds so they will double when billed on your credit card dollars statement along with additional credit card exchange rate surcharges.

Take a taxi from the Waverly train station because the hotel is hard to find even though it is near the station. Decent breakfast included. We walked 10 minutes to catch the double decker tour buses (hop on/hop off). The 12 pound 24 hour ticket allowed us to explore for 2 days by catching the bus to outlying sites before the ticket expired. The castle takes 3 hours or more. The Scottish "honors" (crown jewels) are located there along with their story. It's a great city. We should have stayed for 4-5 days. The Conan Dowle Pub across the street had great pub food at reasonable prices. Don't order haggis neeps and tatties until you know what it is. The mushroom pepperpot soup was great and so was the steak and ale pie.The pints are a real treat and quite cheap. You will love this city. The people are talkative and humorous so ask for help when needed and let your friendly side have some fun.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

the holiday in express edinburgh. Reception staff very efficent
and helpful. Allocated room 213, which overlooks the hertz
rent a car car park, but beware the hotel is also close to several
night clubs, which go on to at least 2.00am.. best thing to do is to
close the double glazing. Room very clean, but you have to ask the housekeeping to staff to change the bed linen.
the buffet breakfast.... sometimes resembled a zoo, people
thinking that the food was about to run out!!! But if you get up
late, go accross to the omni centre, where in wetherspoons
you can get a breakfast for £1.99 and drinks from 69p for
a coffee, in the hotel bar £ 1.69...... all in all a pleasant stay.
if you arrive by air at edinburgh, you can get the express bus
from outside the terminal building, costs £ 5.00 for an open
return and takes 25mins tops. Drops off in princes street and
then a ten min walk to hotel. or take a taxi if you wish!!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank airways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We read the reviews and asked for a room away from the disco. That is what we got. We were using award points. Thought the room a bit small, but we spent little time there. My husband has 2 requirements, a lift and a/c. Guess what in that heat spell in early Aug.--no a/c. We did finally manage to get them to open the window differently. It originally slanted into the room--very little circulation. The room was very clean, quiet and close to bus lines and walking distance to the center of the city. The continental breakfast was very good----always plenty, no matter what time. We were there during the busy Tattoo and Fringe time. The restaurants in the area were convenient and good. Requests were promptly taken care--maid forgot a set of ttowels one day--five minutes after the phone call we had towels. We did enjoy our stay----can't do anything about the weather. Just think Scotland in Aug. and no rain. Pat

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pacmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We booked 5 rooms for 2 nights for our visit to the Festival and tattoo, and at just over £1000 thought it was great value.
The hotel is just 15 minutes walk from Waverley station and is surrounded by bars and restaurants.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Our only problem was a window that didn't lock in our ground floor room, but this was fixed within 10 minutes of a call to reception.
The continental breakfast was fine, and you can get a cooked breakfast if you want to splash out an extra couple of quid at the pub over the road.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Ronnietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Recently stayed in this hotel. Location is very good. Breakfast is correct (continental) and rooms are modern and very clean.

Would repeat once again.

In Spanish: Buen hotel, muy céntrico y todo muy correcto (habitaciones muy limpias) y un buen servicio.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jmsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

His hotel is a good choice for the business traveller, conveniently located in the city centre within walkin distance of all the shops and amenities.

This hotel is identical to all the other Express by Holiday Inn hotels with no difference whatsoever. The rooms are modern and comfortable, lacking a bit of personal touch but convenient.

The breakfast selection is somehow limited, just a few pastries, bread, cheese butter, marmalade...there is Broadband in the rooms.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank marujilla80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,285 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#117 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $86 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing