We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #104 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here for 2 nights.

Pro's:

Free wifi included which was fantastic. Reasonable price for edinburgh compared to other hotels.

Good location 5 minute walk from Princess Street

Breakfast included, was a good start to a day of exploring the city.

They did give us a late check out till 12 free of charge.


Con's:

Staff not very friendly. Went for breakfast on the first morning, and asked a lady do we sit anywhere or wait to be seated, she groaned something at me that i couldnt understand and walked off.

Beds are very uncomfortable, could feel every bit inside them.

Paper tin walls that everything could be heard along the corrridor.

Although breakfast was nice to be included, it was not good. I dont know what the staff are doing because there are alot of them, but i had to constantly ask for items to be replaced. I.e no knives, no bread, no milk. More attention to detail is required by staff. Also on my last day i observed a staff member pouring the full fat milk into the low fat milk dispenser....?

Overall, the cons outweigh the pros, and I would not stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank yelsewetuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Yelsewtuck,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience with breakfast I can assure you this is not to our usual standard and I will certainly investigate as to why this happened, I am not sure what you mean by dispensers as we only provide semi skimmed milk on our breakfast buffet with whole milk available on request.

We certainly hope you will consider returning to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and everything went as expected. The room was clean and fairly new, breakfast was similar to what one may find at other Holiday Inn Express properties, and the location was very convenient. The mattress left a lot to be desired, but after we told the staff that we had a very bad night of sleep on the first night, they did fit it with a pillow top that made it a lot better. The floor is noisy at night since it's (old) hardwood underneath the carpets, you can definitely hear someone walking down the hall from inside your room. Location and staff friendliness were the biggest pros, noise was the biggest con. I'd stay there again on our next trip to Edinburgh.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Renato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Renato M

Thank you for your review, we do hope to see you again on your next trip to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

room was big enough and very comfortable. Breakfast was bland but I guess this sort of chain is like that.
Room STANK of cigarette smoke. Urgh.
Staff were helpful and location was wonderful. So central,

Room Tip: ask for one WITHOUT cigarette stink
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahLionheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Sarahlionheart

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the location. I am sorry that your room smelt of smoke and I will speak to housekeeping regarding this. As the hotel is completely non-smoking there should be no smell of smoke in any rooms.

Kind Regards

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of many attractions and a few minutes walk from Waverley Station. Very handy for a visit to The Playhouse which is straight across the road and for Queen's Hall, a few minutes bus ride. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by. The hotel is very comfortable with the bonus of breakfast included in the price. Would recommend and return to if back in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnroGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Anroglasgow

Thank you for your 5 star review, we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a great choice if you are on a budget or prefer to spend your money on other things, good rooms,comfortable beds, great central location. If you want to explore Edinburgh you would be hard pushed to be better situated. As others say the free breakfast is really good, we paid £65 per night. Bonus here is a great music pub nearby,just turn right out of the hotel, also a bit further along, up the steps by the bridge turning left to find an amazing Italian Restaurant !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Renne194

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we certainly appreciate your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, close to the Royal Mile, Hollyrood Palace and the Edinburgh Castle all within walking distance. The hotel is beautiful and the staff very efficient. The only draw back was that we had room that faced the Picardy Place which was very entertaining to watch the people, but also very busy and loud, I'm not sure if there is a hospital close by but a lot of ambulances going by, at least 4 or 5 in one night, so if you would like a little quiet time, I would recommend you ask for a room in the back. Also, the beds were not very comfortable, very soft and lumpy.

Room Tip: Choose a room in then back if you want a quiet evening, or choose a room in the front if you would l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Peggy,

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we certainly appreciate your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was by far the best Holiday Inn Express I've stayed in. The free breakfast was brilliant (the only Holiday Inn Express I've found that does bacon instead of sausages) and everywhere clean and well kept.

I especially like the way the hotel has been sympathetic in design maintaining the old façade so it doesn't stand out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear YorkshireCol,

Thank you for your review however I am not sure whether you have the correct hotel as we do not serve bacon, only sausages.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,576 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $100 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing