We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel Comes Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #100 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This Hotel Comes Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I am a regular business traveller and use Holiday Inns quite a lot. This trip was for pleasure and this hotel could not have suited us more. We travelled to Edinburgh by train (a journey I would also recommend). The hotel is only a short walk (downhill) from the station. We found the hotel clean and tidy and the staff friendly and helpful. Almost everything is within walking distance and if you want to go further afield there is a bus stop close by and Hertz car rental is right next door. If you're planning a trip to the Scottish capital you could not do better than to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Scott,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    900
    395
    95
    56
See reviews for
388
796
108
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Decided to have a midweek break in Edinburgh which is not the cheapest place to stay, but got a good deal on this one. Staff were lovely, rooms good and clean as you would expect with a holiday inn. Breakfast loads of it and very fresh. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from all the attractions and there are a couple of really nice pubs on the street. All in all a very pleasant trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kefaloskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Kefaloskid,

Thank you very much for your kind review, good to hear you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and indeed our hotel, we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We found this establishment to be clean, tidy, comfortable and helpful. We enjoyed breakfasts. They were not too busy and everything they offered on the menu was there. (Perhaps a tad warm up there though.) Rooms quite roomy and very comfortable and clean. Was close to walk to the Royal Mile and many other attractions. Would have been nice to have a mini fridge but at the end of the day we were there to be a tourist not hang out in the room. Close to tesco which was also great. We would stay again no question.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Jo-anne,

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, all feedback is shared with our team and I know they will be delighted with your comments.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here following a day at Musselburgh Races. Allowed us to check in early. Rooms spotlessly clean and a good size.

5 mins walk from Edinburgh Waverly train station and opposite Omni Centre.

Cooked Breakfast was limited choice of scrambled egg, sausages and beans but good choice of fruits and croissants etc.

Breakfast room was busy and very warm but there are more seats downstairs.

All staff very friendly and pleasant.

Will definitely stay here again as great value for the location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaxxy1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Shaxxy,

Thank you for your kind review, i am glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel and had a good day at the races! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night in order to see a show at the Playhouse just across the road (perfect location for this).
Hotel itself is fine. Very basic though and certainly not worth the room rate. It's a HOLIDAY INN. Prices even for city centre hotel are extortionate for the facilities you get. We stayed in room 2 on the lower floor - I thought this would be a problem being by the lift - but as the walls were paper thin (could hear snoring and other people's phone alarms going off in the morning) - I can only assume the lift is silent! Room has tea making facilities but too cheap to spare a custard cream to go with it - never stayed in a hotel which doesn't provide biscuits on the tea tray! Bathroom cleverly designed to make most use of tiny space (door closes on to main room or just the toilet itself. Room itself just about fit two single beds, and not much else - no ironing facilities in the room - what exactly the room rate is so high for is beyond me. Our room also had a lovely view of what appeared to be a service yard.
Paper thin walls meant that fortunately I was already awake (thanks to the phantom snorer) when there was an almighty scratching and scrabbling at the door at 8am on the Saturday morning - on investigation through the peephole it seems housekeeping were cleaning the door - since we were checking out that morning I'm sure this could have waited - or at the very least been a bit more quiet and considerate.
And to breakfast - the food itself was okay - though I don't think the orange juice had smelt a real orange, but the system was almost like queuing at school dinners and was chaotic to say the least. No one to greet you as you arrive to explain where to go (no seats left when we arrived) until a rather harried looking member of staff brushed past saying there were further seats downstairs.
Staff at reception were polite and helpful when we had forgotten toothbrush (nice touch).

TIP: If you are driving, do not bother going to the hotel first - you won't get a space and Edinburgh is an unbelievable nightmare to get around - in order to get from the hotel to the NCP just up the hill took around 30 minutes of frustration at traffic lights and waiting for trams - commute if you can! You get validated parking at the NCP from the hotel - £13.50 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Lesley,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, it is a brand standard that Holiday Inn Express hotels do not provide biscuits within our rooms, with regards to the room rates these also reflect the general cost across the city and are in line with current occupancy and other hotels within Edinburgh, we have an ironing room on level 4 within our hotel, breakfast is self service and served as a buffet it can become busy during peak times and I do apologise if you were inconvenienced.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

This place sucks. The 3rd bed is a pull out sofa bed. U can feel the base of the sofa digging into ur spine. They threw on a duvet which did not help at all. Then when we protested they added a mattress cover. We were told that was the best we could do. The general attitude was suck it up n live with it. Apparently they don't realize they work in hospitality. Worst hotel of my Scotland trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Joey B

Thank you for your review, please accept my apologies for your experience which is not to our usual standard as you will see from other reviews.

Should you be visiting Edinburgh again please contact me directly at sales@hieedinburgh.co.uk.

Kind Regards

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Lovely little place to stay right in the centre of Edinburgh, nice quick walk right on to the beautiful mile. Staff were very friendly, rooms were basic but a good size, they had everything you required. Really enjoyed the breakfast, lots of choice anything from fruit and yoghurt to a big full english!! Next time we are back in Endiburgh we would not hesitate to book this very same hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Lauren,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we certainly hope you will return again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,829 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing