We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rate, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #99 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Rate, great staff”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just spend two nights in the Holiday Inn Express in Edinburgh. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We had a good rate which we booked through the hotel.
The location is awesome, about a 5 minute walk from the train station and city center.
We had a problem with our reservation the second night (seems they thought we were only there for one night). We had an email with our reservation and we forwarded it to them. It took a couple of contacts to get the rate and everything correct but they were very nice and very professional and it all worked out. The hotel is good for what we paid. We asked for two double beds ( two of us). The second double bed seemed to be a portable bed and didn't seem like it belonged in the room. It was not comfortable so we ended up sharing the double bed. If I wanted to two (semi) comfortable double beds, I might consider booking two rooms. The breakfast was average. It was extremely crowded when we were there (mid term break in the UK I think) and they did a good job trying to keep up and restock, right up to the closing time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again soon.

Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    895
    385
    93
    53
See reviews for
382
786
106
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel is in great location close to attractions, restaurants, shopping and theatre.
Staff very friendly and helpful
Room great, good size, clean and comfortable. Plus free breakfast.
Although on front of hotel and at ground level no noticeable traffic noise

Would I stay here again YES

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here whilst attending show at the Playhouse Theatre just opposite hotel, location is great and gives easy access to all Edinburgh attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and well presented. The breakfast is the standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast which suits us. Would definitely recommend and stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUDDIE115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review , we hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for two days. Room clean and fresh. Comfortable beds and great location. Annoying that subtitles kept randomly popping up on the tv channels and it was Impossible to get rid of but the biggest problem was breakfast. How ridiculous, no bacon served. No explanation was offered, even when pushed. Is this because someone has taken offence. Silly as sausages were pork. The blurb tells us a full cooked breakfast is available. This is simply not true. Only cooked bit was scrambled egg, baked beans and sausages. All kept under heat for ages, so eggs rubbery. No choice of eggs, nothing other than the above was cooked. Staff hard pressed to cope and not overly helpful at breakfast. Awfully disappointing. Didn.t bother with breakfast on day two. Premier inn much better.

Room Tip: It.s good value for money but breakfast lets it down. Lovely views from back and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katej76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with our breakfast. As a Holiday Inn Express we offer our "Free Express Start Breakfast " which includes a selection of cereals, yogurts, pastries and fruit and 3 hot items which are as you stated , unfortunately we do not offer bacon as an option. I am not sure where you have seen "full cooked breakfast" as this is not something we advertise as a hotel or brand.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our central location and that you found the room comfortable.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a great location in the city centre. I think it was excellent value for money. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, free wifi and free breakfast. That is all you need for a short break. Although the hotel was packed and breakfast was extremely busy, the staff were working hard to replenish all the food. I would certainly recommend it.

The only problem we had was we paid the first night on rewards and the second night through Expedia and gave them the vouchers when we checked in. After the first night the room key didn't work. My husband went to reception and they said the second night was for a date in August. He said no we checked in last night for two nights and gave the lady the vouchers. They denied that. Luckily he had the reservation on his phone as well and showed them the Expedia reservation which had the reservation number and correct date. They couldn't argue with that and we did get the second night as booked. My advice would be to keep another copy of your booking when you hand them the vouchers. This was not Expedia's fault as we had the copy of the correct booking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaz187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel good value.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

went for valentines weekend break with my partner , nice room , clean and tidy , decent hotel in city centre , breakfast was good plenty choice , and judging by how busy the breakfast room was , food enjoyed by lots of others , would recommend , as for view its a city centre hotel what do you expect to see apart from other buildings ,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your great review, we hope to see you next time you visit Edinburgh.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Staff up there own bum, bed was stained, rubbish shower,view from room crap, heating in the room is a electric storage heater took ages to warm up as the room was freezing, overall didn't even stay the night everything was so crap I defo would never recommend this hotel ended going to hotel near the airport

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanjogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your review from your stay in October last year , I am sorry you felt that the hotel was not to your expectations, however as you will see from our many other 4/5 star reviews this is not the norm. We pride ourselves on our customer service and hope you would return to give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind Regards
Alex Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,769 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing