We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel itself is nice. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #102 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The staff were very polite on our recent visit, and the hotel is lovely. Our room was very clean and very comfortable.

However, the included breakfast was not pleasant. Had we known that the breakfast would be lacklustre and mass produced, we would have gone into the city for something to eat.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Aoife O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Aoife,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, I am however sorry to hear you were unhappy with breakfast at our hotel we provide a full continental breakfast as well as hot choices and normally receive such good feedback.

I hope that you will consider returning again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, staff where really friendly and helpful. Would stay at the hotel again. Second time I have stayed at a holiday inn express, first time was in London which was lovely as well. The hotels are very clean and bathrooms are very clean and a good size. The breakfasts are also really nice and a lot of choice considering its complementary.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank elisha1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Elisha,

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay as well as your visit to London,
We do hope you will return again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very clean,friendly staff,good food,reasonable prices and very near almost everything a tourist would visit,if travelling by car can have use of hotel car park a considerable advantage in Edinburgh and once there no need for taxis

Room Tip: Get booking in advance
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manateese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Manateese,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you were able to take advantage of our car park, we do only have 9 spaces however extra parking is available at the NCP for the same price, we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our scotland trip started with edinburgh. We choose this hotel, because it is very close to the castle, Princes Street and the Hollyrood Road as well as Jenners Department Store.

We used this Hotel, because of its proximity and parking-possibility. for next trip, we would choose it again for one night-stay, but not for longer stay...

Room Tip: Die Zimmer an der Rückseite haben keine schöne Aussicht - However ;-)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear NicP.

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and certainly look forward to welcoming you once again on a future stay!

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband, visiting Edinburgh to see Lion King. Check in was supposed to be 2pm, we arrived at 1230pm and they had a room available for us so we were able to check in early. Reception girl very helpful. Room was ideal, clean and comfortable, perfect for a nights sleep. Room was a bargain at £49 which included breakfast. Managed to also get a car parking space at a cost of £13.50. Hotel directly across from Playhouse which is perfect location. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Maureen,

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and certainly look forward to welcoming you once again on a future stay, we are ideally located for the Playhouse Theatre as you have mentioned it is just across the road from the hotel,

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stopped for one night for family trip to theatre. Hotel is immediately across road from Edinburgh Playhouse, so no transport required. We drove to Edinburgh and parked in hotel car park, then were well placed to walk to theatre, cinema, shopping centre and restaurant all from hotel. We could have arrived by train and just walked 10 minutes from station. Hotel was well priced and simple yet comfortable rooms. All in all great location for a short stop.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junior_Biscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Junior,

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and certainly look forward to welcoming you once again on a future stay!

Kind regards,
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I just spent a week over New Year's at this hotel. It was very modern, clean, and comfortable. There is a nice little bar downstairs, and a generous breakfast until 10:30 in the mornings. My only complaint would be that the lighting in the rooms is terrible for applying makeup. There is a mirror in the bathroom, and another out by the wardrobe. The lighting is dismal in both areas. I stayed at an super-basic airport hotel for a fourth the price on my way home through London, and they easily solved the lighting problem with a cheap strip of lights above the bathroom mirror. Voila! On the plus side of the HI design, I like that the blow dryer is in the bedroom area so that one person can be showering and another doing hair and makeup in a separate room - very efficient!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keylimejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Keylime,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I will certainly pass on your feedback to the management team.
Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $105 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing