We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #102 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this friendly and helpful hotel. Rooms were very comfortable and modern and there was a wide selection of breakfasts available in the morning. A great value for money hotel in a brilliant location!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rhona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Rhona,

Thank you for such a kind review, we hope we can look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    917
    404
    102
    56
See reviews for
397
812
110
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently spent three nights in Edinburgh at the beginning of a bus tour of Scotland. This hotel was booked by the tour company, but we had no complaints. The location is terrific, just minutes from the Royal Mile and Princes Street and surrounded by good restaurants, pubs, and take-away places. There is a small grocery just up the street and a large enclosed shopping mall a block away if you need anything. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom had a nice shower with lots of pressure and a toilet in a separate recess. Our room was on the 5th floor rear, so it was quiet with no street noise, and we could sleep well. There were two lifts so access was not a problem. Breakfast was a buffet with eggs, sausage, fruit, cereal, yogurt, croissants, cheese, bread, juice, coffee, and tea--nothing fancy, but good and filling. I was a bit concerned when I read earlier reviews complaining about the rooms and breakfast, but my experience certainly was not at all the same! I would gladly stay here again and recommend it to others who want a clean, comfortable, and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear JEK48,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and your constructive comments are very much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, 2 adults 2 children . Clean room, kiddies on sofa bed which was ok. We had a room facing the carpark which was fine as it was very mild and we liked the window open and it was very quiet with no road noise. We had no problem with breakfast plenty of choice and ample available, was slightly busy but still places to sit. Location - only 5 to 10 minute walk to Princes Street and a little further to the old town but when you are walking you don't notice how far as there is so much to look at. Would stay here again. Ideal for the Playhouse (Lion king on at the moment - briiliant) and Omni Centre. Numerous places to eat out at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumtotwo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mum2Two,

Thank you so much for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel - the Lionking has been a great production for Edinburgh and indeed the hotel as we are just opposite the playhouse theatre.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in Edinburgh only one night on our way through to Inverness. This hotel is in a great location across the road from a great pub. The service was very good and staff were friendly. The rooms are very nice - modern, clean and comfortable. It was one of those hotels where you would be happy to stay a few days and even have a restful day in if you have been travelling non-stop. Bathroom was spotless with separate toilet and good shower. Beds comfortable, sleep quality was good with no noise. Breakfast was *yet another* buffet which was very nice, and the dining room was more like a front of house cafe which meant we could look out onto the road as we ate instead of the usual big hall dining experience. Only thing was the parking - the hotel has no parking, but there is a parking station across the street about 2 minutes walk and you get a discount if you ask at reception. We parked out the front of the hotel to drop off our luggage - but wish we hadn't as we got a fine in the 5 minutes it took to check in! Apart from that, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitiely stay again when in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, you comments are certainly appreciated, we like to think our hotel provides a great experience in which guests love so needless to say we are delighted with your comments!

I am very sorry to hear that you received a fine for parking outside of the hotel as we are in such a central location, the attendants do tend to patrol regularly we do however have a very small car park to the rear of the hotel which can hold 9 cars, if need be guests can drop luggage off there.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again sometime!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel has a fabulous location in Edinburgh, absolutely central, minutes walking from major atractions and george street. Rooms have little more space than usual, bathroom is good. Breakfast is as expected.
Surrounded by pubs and restaurants - the conan doyle pub is across the street.
People are kind as usual.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosFPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Carlos,

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Please do visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Needed to spend a night in centre of Edinburgh after a coach trip to the Shetlands. This fitted the bill and the bill was not hard to pay. Checking in was efficient. Room bright, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was spotless and well equipped. The bed was comfortable and sleep quality was good. Breakfast was good if a bit chaotic. We took advantage of late checkout at 2pm. We will stay here again when in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Glenn,

Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we thank you for your feedback!
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

HIE is predictable quality and management, so going to unknown place it's a choice for sure. We stayed a week there, location is okay - 10 minutes walk to waverley and almost on george str - with a lot's of restaraunts, pubs just in this block and adjacent one's (ya, Weatherspoon is right across Leigh str. in omni center)
Staff is really helpful indeed
Room is same as in all other HIE, but no aircon (I dont think this is issue for this location)
Breakfast is honest, but with british sausage
On my belief its honest choice with a good location

Room Tip: very light floors and inner walls, so if your sleep is not strong enough ask for greater room number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sergey,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time here, apologies if your room was hot, sadly due to the hotel being a listed building we are unable to fit air con within our bedrooms albeit we do understand they can get hot, we do provide fans to try somewhat to help if the rooms do become hot.

Once again thank you for your review, we hope you will return to hotel again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,190 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing