We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location terrible breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #104 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The rooms here were lovely, nice and clean and modern and it is a good location but beware of breakfast. It really is absolutely awful. All guests from a big hotel crammed in a small room and queueing to get to the food. The food is very poor indeed, all refined/rubbish cereals, not a bran flake or fruit and fibre in sight. The 'fresh' fruit was rotting in the bowl where it looked as though it had sat for a good month. No dried fruit, no seeds, no granola. They really need to learn from Premier Inn, their breakfasts are brilliant, both continental and cooked. Breakfast really let the whole hotel down. shame.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Peggy,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay here, however disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your breakfast, we do offer a free breakfast here at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre which consists of a full continental selection as well as hot choices, I am aware that the breakfast area can become busy especially when the hotel is running at full occupancy, our bar area is also available for the overflow, we also are happy for guests to take there breakfasts back to there rooms.

Once again thank you for your review,

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,092 - 1,098 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Finding a decent last minute hotel during Fringe month is always a challenge - but despite the excessive price, I opted for this HI for its location - perfect for my work meeting in Leith and then very central to meet friends. The staff are efficient and polite, the rooms are clean and tidy.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank cdboy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear CDboy,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, you are correct in saying that we are close by to both Leith and the city centre and we are glad you were able to make good use of our close proximity, we hope to welcome you again for next years festival, if not before!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting the Tattoo. There were 15 in total in our party and we thought that the rooms were very good, clean and had everything that was needed for a short stay. Breakfast was a bit of a free for all with not much space but for the price we paid, we thought it was very good. Great position for visiting the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Lynn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and indeed our hotel.
I do understand that breakfast can be busy especially during August so I do hope you were not inconvenienced too much.

Once again thank you, I hope you enjoyed the Tatoo and please do come back soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location, just a short walk from the train station shopping areas and within easy walking distance of most tourist sites .The rooms are clean and spacious and I found all the staff to be very helpful. Also the free breakfast you get as standard with Holiday Inn was good and varied. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaws1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Jaws!

Such a lovely review, thank you!

I will be sure to share your feedback with our team, please do come back and visit again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a no frills hotel but not at budget prices.
1980s fittings, uncomfortable small bed, no aircon so the room is constantly boiling hot (and window only opens a tiny bit) - they even tell you to close bathroom door when showering to avoid setting off the fire alarms!
Walls are paper thin (woman next door just orgasmed for the 2nd time).

You do get a free breakfast, but it's worse than a road side cafe.

My room overlooked the car park, rubbish collected at 6am wasn't a pleasant wake up call.

Staff look miserable.

I am here for the fringe so finding hotels is a challenge, but this is a Holiday Inn but not better than an unrated b&b which I would rather have stayed at.

Very poor value for money

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Cox,

Thank you for your constructive review, I am sorry to hear you were unhappy during your stay, and thank you for your feedback.

I am unsure as to whether you spoke with our management team during your stay as they may have been able to change your room and indeed address your concerns, thank you however for bringing them to our attention.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Regular users of the Holiday Inn Chain understand that the Express division of the Group is not a full service hotel as Holiday Inns are. However we were taken aback when we went early to the reception area to check in and the male receptionist said without referring to any booking that check in time at the hotel was 2.00pm and advised us to come back then. No attempt to see if rooms were available. While we knew we were early for check in and really did not expect a room to be ready we did not expect the arrogant attitude displayed by this particular person. Totally out of keeping with our experiences with staff at other Holiday Inn properties. We guess he must have had a late night!
Having already parked our vehicle in the small guest parking area we set off to see the sites of Edinburgh while waiting to check in. Later when we returned to the reception desk another receptionist greeted us, examined our reservation and informed us our room was ready and we could check in. This with three hours to go before 2.00pm. A totally different attitude to the first receptionist we encountered and more in keeping with the service offered by the Holiday Inn group.
The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh in Picardy Place is centrally located within the city. It is a short walk from the hotel to Princes Street and a not too challenging walk to Edinburgh Castle if you are fit. Calton Hill is nearby and can be accessed by walking again if one is fit. Calton Hill provides a panoramic view over the city. There are numerous pubs, restaurants and clubs within walking distance of the hotel.
Our room was small and spotlessly clean. In keeping with the “Express” concept there were minimal furnishings in the room, just a space to hang clothes (See photo), a small desk space tucked away in a corner of the room and a flat screen TV. There was no air conditioning but there was a fan on top of a cupboard and a small radiator under the TV shelf. There was no in room safe, no mini bar and only liquid soap in the shower room. However there was a notice indicating that if a guest required toothbrushes, shaving cream, a sewing kit, a nail file or other toiletry items they were available from reception. Although the hotel does not have any exercise facilities or a swimming pool it does offer discounted charges at a nearby gymnasium. A car park for guests is available with a limited number of parking spaces allocated on a “first come first served” basis. Parking charges for a night cost £10.
A novel touch was under the bed there was a card which read “Thank you for looking under the bed. I hope that the cleanliness of your room meets your expectations.” It was signed by a member of the housekeeping service.
Call and collect room service was available between 7.30pm and 10.00pm. Snacks could be ordered at and collected from reception or the bar. As an example of prices a combo platter cost £9.95 while garlic bread slices cost £3.95.
Breakfast was from a self- serve buffet with the requirement that when the guest finished breakfast used plates, cups and glasses would be returned to a trolley set up for that purpose. Food available was ample although again in the context of the “express” model was restricted in range. However no one needed to have left the breakfast room hungry.
The check-out procedure was efficient and friendly.
Is this hotel worth the £249 per night room charge for walk ins? Guests can make up their own mind about this.

Room Tip: Book on HI website in advance for lower rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crocnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Crocnsw,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review, I am happy that overall generally you enjoyed your stay, I will certainly be investigating the points you have raised and the shortfalls you experienced.

Thank you once again for your review and I certainly hope you will return again soon,

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

As many others stayed for 1 night for Festival at a cost even Claridges would think twice about. Usual HIX type place and good location. But had late night and late get up. Arrived for brekkie at 9.40am to be told it was finished. Obvious suggestion - Holiday inn should invest a small amount of their windfall (I reckon £160 per room per night) into improving the service.
As is often the case poor service linked to outrageous prices loses customers.

Room Tip: make sure you get to breakfasdt by 9.30 am or you will go without
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenbpfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Ken,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you were unhappy during your stay it is certainly not our intention to cause discomfort or inconvenience to our guests.
Our prices during the festival are in line with the rest of the city due to August being an Event month, with regards to breakfast this does finish at 9.30am however my colleagues should have been able to assist you with obtaining some breakfast items, I will certainly be investigating with the team members on duty as to why this happened.

Thank you however for bringing this to my attention, once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,285 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#117 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $86 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing