We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Nearby Hotels
$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$211
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$172
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$121
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$151
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$137
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,165 results
Traveler rating
580
968
435
117
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
968
435
117
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomni centreplayhouse theatregreat locationpicardy placehi expressjohn lewisfree breakfastthe breakfast areahot itemsthe sofa bedcity centreroyal miletram linetesco expressyork placeprinces streetquiet room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,168 - 1,173 of 2,165 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed one night whilst visiting the 'Fringe', so it was bound to be expensive by comparison to other times. Car park across the road and a short walk if you can't get one of the few spaces available. Good central location, convenient for all we wanted to see. Staff were all helpful. Façade and reception/entrance belies it as an 'Express' and it has a very good feeling overall. Splendid view across Firth of Forth from our comfortable rear facing 4th floor room. Usual formulaic breakfast - which is fine with me. Best 'Express' I've stayed in!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear 2ww,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and such an honour to be called the best Express you have been too! I am glad to see you enjoyed the fringe, its a great time of year for Edinburgh and of course brings lots tourism into the city!
I will ensure the team take the time to read your review, and please do come and visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Holiday Inn Express so nothing out of this world; just a very clean, comfortable place to stay. Had a quiet upper room. Very central, particularly for The New Town and West End of Princess Street. Minutes' walk from St James' shopping centre and over the road from The Playhouse. Helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank cumbrian1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Cumbrian,

Thank you so much for your kind review, we very much appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.
We hope you will return again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

spent three nights here on short visit
upon arrival staff were very friendly and informative as to where places were
excellent breakfast with plenty of variety
plenty of local eateries and pubs handy to hotel
pub across the road does a fabulous dinner
comfortable bar area downstairs with views out onto street
pleasant walk to royal mile and castle would gladly visit again
actually we are end of june next year
hopefully will be warmer than beginning

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fisherman5091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Fisherman,

Thank you so much for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel we do indeed have a superb location and are very close to all local amenities including some great restaurants and bars.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next trip, see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The rooms are comfortable and clean with a very comfy bed. Within walking distance of all main city centre attractions. A good selection of food for breakfast and the serving staff were helpful and polite. Reception staff were very professional if a little abrupt. It looked as though there had been a recent refurbishment as the carpets, etc, were very new and fresh looking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyac744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Jenny,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay, I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your time here at the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again In the future.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I just spent five nights at the hotel and was pleased with the location to tourist sites and a good array of restaurants very close by. The staff was excellent especially,Sangeta,Monica, Reon, and Ellen. Hertz is right next door if you need a car. The rooms are of decent size and clean it was warm on the sixth floor and as they don't usually need A/C there was only a fan that fought a losing battle even with the window open. The bar had some cooling system and is very nice you can also eat breakfast there. The buffet was what you would expect. The John Lewis dept. store is right across the street for anything you might have forgotten or need. For the money it was a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregoryA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Gregory,

Thank you so much for your kind review, I know our staff will be delighted with your feedback, our team work hard to provide genuine customer service and I am pleased that this has been recognised.

Please do come back and visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews