We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #101 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bellflower, California
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location, nice room”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is located a short walk from the Royal Mile. The room was nice and quite clean. They don't serve dinner, but there are a number of restaurants a short walk away.
The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of variety. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Overall, a very good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Cheryl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and indeed our hotel.

Once again thank you for your kind review and we hope to welcome you on another travel occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    906
    401
    99
    56
See reviews for
393
801
109
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Location, location, location! That's what makes the holiday inn express edinburgh completely worth it! Its a budget hotel, so don't expect much. The rooms are functional and the dining experience, edible. If you are looking for a up market hotel, then this hotel is not for you. A decent family hotel, most of the service is self service. The benefits that the hotel offers are a car park and you have a hertz right next door. Dining is not a problem- one is spoilt for choice as their are many restaurants within walking distance. So we walked from the station to the hotel - with our baggage - 15 minutes. We walked all over - the castle, Adam's seat, everywhere - we just needed to take a bus to the Britannia, again the bus stop is within sneezing distance.

We had taken a room with 2 double beds - 2 adults and 2 children (our nephew and niece). Though a bit cramped, turned out to be quite comfortable.

Highly recommended for mid budget family travelers. It was a true VFM hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Ksban,

Such a lovely review - thank you!

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay the review you have left is very informative for our other future guests so thank you for that.

We do hope you will return soon!

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koo-Wee-Rup, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had an excellent 2 night stay at this venue. We arrived from Australia at 9am on a Friday, not expecting to check in - wanted to put our bags in their storage room so we could walk around the city. Instead, they invited us to check in then as they had rooms available!

Breakfast is supplied with the booking, great quality breakfast.

Room was very quiet (we had 011 which was right up the back) so had no problem with noise. Bed was very comfortable. The free wifi was also very useful.

Parking on site is quite limited but they validate parking at the NCP car park just across the road.

Very close to Calton Hill, 10 minutes to the Scott Monument, 15 minutes to Royal Mile.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear abeckett,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and indeed our hotel.

It is great that our team were able to check you in early this is always something we try to do where possible.

Once again thank you for your kind review and we hope to welcome you on another travel occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very attractive entrance and reception area. Guest computer provided. Rooms were small and plain. Duvets rather than sheets and blankets. I had a problem with lack of heat that was handled efficiently and fairly. Breakfast was excellent. The breakfast room was very nice. It had a good system in place to move guests quickly through the well stocked buffet. Very helpful front desk staff. Convenient to great Indian and Chinese restaurants with take out meals. A small Tesco grocery is several doors away. The problem is, and it is a big one, that the hotel phone system will not process toll free calls. That means overseas calling cards and many tourist numbers will not work. I would not stay there again for that reason.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

All of our rooms have duvets as set out by the standards of IHG, therefore unfortunately we are unable to provide blankets on the bed upon arrival, we do however have blankets which can be asked for at reception if a guest prefers this.

You are correct that there is a £1.00 connection fee for toll free numbers and calling cards, we do however have a payphone in reception which can be used at no cost to the guest.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent two nights here at the weekend just passed. Staff on the ball and very helpfull, room was spotless. Our bed....well, that was the worst two nights sleep ever!! Cheap bed, a really skimpy mattress cover on it which you could feel the lumps and bumps through. Apart from that, a wonderful time to be had. Breakfast was ok, had way better but the staff were really helpful. Perfect location for good eateries, Playhouse just across the road, loads of sightseeing things to be going off and doing. Also had insight parking which was great for us as we drive down. Would we stay again..? Only if the beds were improved!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves-loch-ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear LovesLochness,

Thank you for your review following on from your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the bedding provided within your bedroom, our mattress's are orthopaedic and of high quality, I will however ensure your feedback is given to our housekeeping manager to follow up and I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Once again thank you for your review,

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Located within a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station, stopped on a Saturday night as part of a Superbreak all-inclusive package, therefore paid a reasonable price. Clean, friendly, accommodating, beverage facilities in room, good TV setup, free wifi (ask for it!), decent self service hot breakfast on the Sunday morning though the dining area became a bit cramped with everyone wanting to eat.

It is next door to where Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was born, Edinburgh is a tourist city par excellence. The one issue I have with the place, besides everything being quite expensive, is that I was travelling with my 13 year old son who is an adventurous eater and the places we were recommended to eat by a Bus Tour guide - good food, e.g. haggis, seafood, etc. at a decent price with a pint of cask ale (for me!), mostly on Rose Street - seemed very restrictive on children eating there. Separate restaurants with their own entrances and attached to pubs would have signs saying no children under 18 allowed in!

Not what he and I are used to in Lancashire's Ribble Valley where they have tremendous pubs and tremendous food, with children welcome.

Room Tip: They have "quiet rooms" advertised, which are on the back, otherwise you might be on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Lancsmanpman,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time here in Edinburgh and were able to experience the many great things the city has to offer.

I do hope you will return to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice basic hotel, typical of a holiday inn style hotel. The rooms where clean and basic but comfortable for our stay.The only draw back was that our room was a basement type room which meant we looked out to the surrounding wall and had to have the voile type curtains shut always in the day as passing by people could see down and into the room.
The hotel is local to a few bars and restaurants including the theater and cinema.
Its a good 10 min walk to the mile.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Ferandrea,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay, we do have basement rooms at our hotel however I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the room you were assigned, I certainly hope that despite this you will consider returning to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,868 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing