We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location for Playhouse/Omni centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #99 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Location, location, location for Playhouse/Omni centre”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on Saturday 16th February, paid £99 for a family room, which was one kingsize bed with sofa bed.
The room was clean, the hotel is in a Georgian terrace so there are a few quirks that go with this such as creaking floorboards in the hallways and in the room.
The location is directly opposite the Edinburgh Playhouse and the Omni Centre, even though it was February I didn't need to wear a coat because everything was so close.
The only downside to thisshotel was breakfast. Perhaps is we'd gone at 0630 instead of 0930 it would have been less crowded.
The layout is tightly packed, which means you can't see that the butter/yoghurts are stored in a fridge, or that the milk is in the milk machine round the other side of the breakfast area.
Next time I'd go down to level 1 and have breakfast there, that seemed less crowded, but we hadn't realised breakfast was also available there ( despite seeing the sign in the bar the night before, I'd assumed it was advertising the breakfast upstairs - D'oh!)
The quality of breakfast was OK, the sausage and scrambled egg could have been better, but you get what you pay for, so no complaint there.
I'd go back again, as it's good value for Edinburgh and in a great location ( next to John Lewis/St. James centre too, about 10 mins easy walk from Waverley or bus station)

Room Tip: ask for the 4th floor to avoid creaky floorboards above you. take your breakfast on level one inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Ailuro,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay at our hotel.

We do understand that breakfast can be busy at peak times, so as you have mentioned we do also open our bar area to try and accomodate more guests, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope you will return to us on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    882
    374
    91
    53
See reviews for
377
772
105
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It’s an affordable option by UK pricing. The hotel is very near Waverley train station, so you can walk there, and so, you can walk virtually everywhere. We could even take peek of Calton Hill from the room window. We were asked if we preferred a smoking or non-smoking. I thought it was not allowed to smoke inside a hotel in Europe anymore, but well… there you go.
On the positive side:
The hotel is centrally located, and the building is very well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. Very nice welcome. The room was small but clean, and well supplied with coffee and tea every day.
On the negative side:
The heating relies on electrical heaters attached to the walls. I’m not sure, but I guess they don’t work once you remove your key card from the power slot when you leave. Anyway, I found the heater –my own and those in the public areas- insufficient in the middle of winter so I requested an extra blanket.
Breakfast is served on a mezzanine, overlooking the reception. It feels a little bit claustrophobic with the low ceiling and the dim lighting. The quality of the food is good, including cold and hot options. But variety is lacking, so it’s boring if you stay more than one day.
But as a whole, my experience was very good and I would go back.

Room Tip: Picardy place seems very busy -there was public work in progress, so traffic was diverted. Under nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoDiCecco_BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Leo,

Thank you for your review and indeed your pictures it always great to receive feedback and tripadvisor is a great tool for that.

With regards to smoking rooms, we do still have a few smoking rooms in our hotel this is legal and if within a private enclosed space, we do still have a few guests who appreciate this facility.

We do offer as you have mentioned a buffet breakfast this meets IHG Holiday Inn Express standards and we feel offers a wide variety of options including hot and cold, we very much appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a good hotel very close to edinburgh castle. Staff very polite, Not very expensive however make sure you book in advance, complimentary breakfast which was very good food. Hotel is close to the restaurants, 5 mins walking distance. Room was small however it was clean and good comfortable bed. Only one downside, they charge for parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAvishh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed the hotels close proximity to Edinburgh Castle and indeed other attractions, I will ensure our front of house and housekeeping team are aware of your feedback. once again many thanks - I certainly hope we can welcome you on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My fiancé and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel and we were both very disappointed in our stay here. Our room was very shabby and in need of some TLC and the bathroom floor flooded whenever we had a shower due to the ill fitting and rather yuck shower curtain. The floorboards outside of the lift which was near our room were very squeaky and so every time someone came out of the lift we were very aware due to the floorboards. Fortunately we were out of the hotel for the majority of our stay however the final nail in the coffin was what can only be described as a very, very disappointing breakfast which consisted of rubbery scrambled eggs, yoghurt which was warm as it was not stored in a fridge and bread which was inedible due to the green mould spores on it!!!!!
The only positives we can say about the hotel are the location which is excellent, all of the staff were polite and courteous and the car parking facility which was a reasonable £10 a night was very convenient! However in this case the negatives are outweighing the positives.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Lawstones,

Please accept my apologies for the obvious discomfort you experienced when visiting our hotel, I am not sure as to whether you spoke to one of our team members here regarding your experience, sadly due to the nature of tripadvisor I am unable to locate your booking to investigate as to exactly what happened as I can assure you this is not to our usual high standards, we normally recieve such great feedback regarding our rooms and breakfast.

Please do feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your concerns either by telephone on 0131 558 2300 or directly at Reception@hieedinburgh.co.uk meanwhile thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, close to waverley station, cinema, theatre and shopping in Princes Street. Unlike others we had no problems with seating at Breakfast.

The room was perfectly adequate for a weekend.

My only niggle was a small detail - the heating, which are electric, they have no temperature control (just on and off) and not easy to vary. It would be really helpful if they had some instructions in the general leaflet as to how to operate it.

Overall though would reccommend because for the money this hotel has a lot going for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flaperoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Flaperoo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay at our hotel.

We appreciate your feedback with regards to our heaters and with pass your comments onto our General Manager, I certainly do hope you will consider returning to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The room was basic and clean. Not luxurious but you get what you pay for! Great location. Staff were helpful and efficient. Location was excellent as mentioned by other guests. Would return for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompson_emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Emma,

Thank you so much for your review, we certainly hope you will return on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visited with my daughter - shopping trip!! Our room was quite small and basic BUT clean and comfortable. The breakfast was more that adequate. Just across the road is the Playhouse Theatre, a multi sceen cimema and loads of eateries lke La Tasca, Weatherspoons etc.There is also a night club so we did here a little noise.Opposite is a shopping centre which more or less leads you to Princes Street in a few minutes

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elleou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Kavishh,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

Its great to hear you enjoyed your time in the city and our hotel and we hope we can welcome you on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,695 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing