We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #97 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a good hotel very close to edinburgh castle. Staff very polite, Not very expensive however make sure you book in advance, complimentary breakfast which was very good food. Hotel is close to the restaurants, 5 mins walking distance. Room was small however it was clean and good comfortable bed. Only one downside, they charge for parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAvishh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed the hotels close proximity to Edinburgh Castle and indeed other attractions, I will ensure our front of house and housekeeping team are aware of your feedback. once again many thanks - I certainly hope we can welcome you on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    871
    370
    89
    52
See reviews for
369
761
104
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My fiancé and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel and we were both very disappointed in our stay here. Our room was very shabby and in need of some TLC and the bathroom floor flooded whenever we had a shower due to the ill fitting and rather yuck shower curtain. The floorboards outside of the lift which was near our room were very squeaky and so every time someone came out of the lift we were very aware due to the floorboards. Fortunately we were out of the hotel for the majority of our stay however the final nail in the coffin was what can only be described as a very, very disappointing breakfast which consisted of rubbery scrambled eggs, yoghurt which was warm as it was not stored in a fridge and bread which was inedible due to the green mould spores on it!!!!!
The only positives we can say about the hotel are the location which is excellent, all of the staff were polite and courteous and the car parking facility which was a reasonable £10 a night was very convenient! However in this case the negatives are outweighing the positives.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Lawstones,

Please accept my apologies for the obvious discomfort you experienced when visiting our hotel, I am not sure as to whether you spoke to one of our team members here regarding your experience, sadly due to the nature of tripadvisor I am unable to locate your booking to investigate as to exactly what happened as I can assure you this is not to our usual high standards, we normally recieve such great feedback regarding our rooms and breakfast.

Please do feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your concerns either by telephone on 0131 558 2300 or directly at Reception@hieedinburgh.co.uk meanwhile thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, close to waverley station, cinema, theatre and shopping in Princes Street. Unlike others we had no problems with seating at Breakfast.

The room was perfectly adequate for a weekend.

My only niggle was a small detail - the heating, which are electric, they have no temperature control (just on and off) and not easy to vary. It would be really helpful if they had some instructions in the general leaflet as to how to operate it.

Overall though would reccommend because for the money this hotel has a lot going for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flaperoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Flaperoo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay at our hotel.

We appreciate your feedback with regards to our heaters and with pass your comments onto our General Manager, I certainly do hope you will consider returning to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The room was basic and clean. Not luxurious but you get what you pay for! Great location. Staff were helpful and efficient. Location was excellent as mentioned by other guests. Would return for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thompson_emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Emma,

Thank you so much for your review, we certainly hope you will return on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visited with my daughter - shopping trip!! Our room was quite small and basic BUT clean and comfortable. The breakfast was more that adequate. Just across the road is the Playhouse Theatre, a multi sceen cimema and loads of eateries lke La Tasca, Weatherspoons etc.There is also a night club so we did here a little noise.Opposite is a shopping centre which more or less leads you to Princes Street in a few minutes

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elleou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Kavishh,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

Its great to hear you enjoyed your time in the city and our hotel and we hope we can welcome you on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1night in February. Hotel was brilliant, clean, well equipped and friendly staff. We were in Edinburgh to see Cats at the playhouse and thought a nights stat would be perfect across the road. Would recommend to anyone staying in Edinburgh who wants to be near shops and landmarks.

However!

We saw online the hotel had some parking reserved for guests. I called in the morning to double check this and they said the parking was full but the Omni ncp parking across the road offers a discounted rate for HIE guests. We arrived at 16:00 on the Sunday evening and left on Monday night around 22.00 with a parking charge of £29.00. This was an extra expense and more than we had expected. We would like to find out if the receptionist discounted our parking token correctly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreigandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear YFB,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

With regards to the car parking that does sound slightly high, however the car park is independantly owned by national car parks and although the hotel has negotiated a discount of 10% this is not a set rate and is only discounted from the final rate, our team member would have swiped your token which would have allocated the discount from the total amount due therefore I can only assume the price they charged you was correct as I am confident the discount was given at the hotel.

Thank you for your review and I do apologize if you were inconvenienced, I hope you will return on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We try to go to Edinburgh at this time each year to see a show at the Edinburgh Playhouse, this year the Drifters.

We have always stayed at this hotel mainly for the proximity to the Playhouse (just across the road) and a few minutes' walk to all amenities, ie Princes Street, St James centre. Also very convenient for eateries. A wee bit further takes you to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. Typical HIE brand, not much different from others - comfortable and providing all necessities.

Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Buffet breakfast is better than some HIE's we have stayed in, always being replenished. If you arrive at the right time, you can park in the hotel's car park, cost £10. However if it's full, they have an arrangement with a car park across from the hotel (NCP?) which also costs £10 for 24 hours.

A big influence is the fact that they still have "smoking" rooms on the sixth floor. It's not much fun in the winter having to stand outside, especially when we were there this year with freezing northerly windy blasts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArgyllIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

I am delighted to see that you are a returning guest to our hotel, we do indeed still provide smoking rooms and we do have a car park with 9 spaces priced as you have correctly stated at £10.00, however the NCP prices have now increased to £13.50 which is given when a token is handed to reception.

I hope you enjoyed the Drifters and we look forward to accomodating you on your next visit, Edinburgh is very much looking forward to the performance of the Lionking at the Playhouse!

All the best,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,639 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing