We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good standard of hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #96 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good standard of hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and partner stayed at the hotel as we were going to a show at the Edinburgh Playhouse and then to GHQ club for a night out so this hotel was ideal.

Reception area is lovely, and check in was great; the staff were very friendly.

We stayed in a room on the third floor with a view of the Playhouse. Room was basic but clean and really big. Will be returning again in December.

Room Tip: Central and very good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevgeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear kevgeb

Thank you for writing a revi9ew about your recent stay at the hotel ,your positive feed back is great
for the team in Edinburgh and your comments will be passed on .

I am please to see that you shall be returning to the hotel in December.

Kind Regards

Catherine Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    870
    369
    89
    52
See reviews for
369
759
104
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night, 2 adults, 2 children. Room comfortable, sofa bed not comfortable for 2 people, but ok for one night. Service on arrival was excellent, very friendly. Great location, though I was pleased we were at the back of the hotel as it seemed a very lively area! Breakfast very busy but waiting staff were clearing tables quickly and were always smiling. Good breakfast, everything tasted fresh and you could choose whatever you wanted from the buffet - perfect with children. It was just a short walk from Princes Street so you could access everything very easily. We asked for a late checkout (2pm) and this was no problem at all. That really made a difference to us because it meant we didn't have to drag bags round with us before our onward trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Justine P

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh City Centre.

You are correct that our hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s New Town within a historic Georgian Style listed building. Surrounded by both nightlife and top tourist attraction sites makes this area of town lively both day and night.

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay. I was pleased to read your positive comments both reception and breakfast staff.

We offer a free breakfast at Holiday Inn Express allowing our guests to come for breakfast at a time of their choosing it can become a busy area for a short period of time.

I am pleased to know that you were able to check out later on the day of departure. Also I would like to add that we do have left luggage facilities in our hotel in case if you need to leave your bags after check out time.

I am very sorry that you found the sofa bed uncomfortable, but it is only a folded up bed.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope I am able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Max Lvov
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in Oct, asked for quiet rooms but were allocated street front rooms directly opposite the door to the lift and stairs. Immediately called to object as I had specifically asked to be place away from street noise but was told that although the request was on our reservation it had been missed and that the hotel was full but we could have earplugs from reception. Got no sleep at all between the street noise and the clattering door in the hallway. Asked to be moved for our second night which we thankfully were and were very grateful to actually get some sleep. Complained to the hotel and to IHG customer services but response has basically been 'sorry but requests can not always be accommodated' which would be fair enough had the receptionist not told me that our request had simply been overlooked.

Our second night's stay was actually great and had we been placed in rooms to the back of the hotel to begin with we would have had no complaints whatsoever.

The biggest issue is that the hotel obviously know there is a problem with noise, judging by the other comments on here and the offering of earplugs at reception, but are clearly not willing to accept that it is a serious issue for guests who are unfortunate enough to end up in a room at the front of the hotel or near the door to the lift!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mumwithtoddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear MumwithToddlers,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent experience at our hotel, I can assure you all feedback is taken seriously and used for team training.

I am aware of your complaint to IHG aswell as the hotel directly and indeed have taken the time to read the report given by the manager on duty, I have also checked the rooms you stayed in and they were placed at the rear end of the hotel, whilst we always do our very best to accommodate guests needs we cannot guarantee that the hotel will always be quiet, we are centrally located and therefore noise can be heard from street level and sometimes guests returning to there rooms, I am sorry however that this gave you reason to complain and I am pleased that the team were able to move you on the second night of your stay, I am unsure of what other solution we can offer with regards to noise however have taken your comments on board.

Thank you however for your review, and we hope one day you will return to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livingston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night and found rooms very comfortable.Hotel is in excellent location for Edinburgh playhouse and all surrounding restaurants. Friendly staff.Would choose here if visiting playhouse theatre as its opposite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linlin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear LinLin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.

You are correct that we have the perfect location for the Edinburgh Playhouse which is directly opposite, great for catching events and shows.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good central location. However, I think we were unlucky staying at the same time as the other guests that night.

Breakfast was limited for me as I dont eat cereals or Toast (cant blame the hotel for that!) So, I had a big plate of scrammbled eggs, just about did the trick. No bacon in sight, most dissapointing.

The big gripe was the noise at night. Ok, our first night was Saturday night and in a major city its bound to have groups of people on the beers coming in late. Hotels really need to look at ways to prevent banging doors! Cant expect the drunks to tiptoe through the building! Foam lined door frames may do the trick (joke) but seriously, early hours of the morning, bang bang bang..

Sunday night topped it off. At Midnight a group of Spanish school kids arrived and proceeded to make enough noise to wake the entire street. I had to call reception to complain as it was that bad. Heard a few knocks on doors but it continued for another 45minutes.

All in all, black eyes and bags each morning and an average breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Scottc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the breakfast selection, we do as you have mentioned offer a full continential selection aswell as scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, we unfortunatly do not offer bacon.

My apologies if you were interupted by noise whilst at our hotel, while we do try to monitor this as much as possible sometimes large groups in particular will make noise whilst going to and from the building, I do apologise that you were inconvenienced.

Once again, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is very well connected and has nice and clean rooms.
Ambience is not one of the best, though you wont miss coziness.
There are couple of good Indian Cuisines around.
There is a booking facility for tours at the reception.
Pick ups for tours can be arranged from the hotel.
Walk-in rates are higher, advanced booking advised.

Room Tip: Tip: Please ad choice of double bed/ twin bed while booking to avoid disappointment :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyDrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Lucky Drone.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

You are correct in stating that we are close by to many restaurants, we do also have a great front desk team who can assist in booking tours to the highlands and lochness aswell as whisky tours, this service does allow a pick up from the hotel - which is ideal for guests wishing to explore a bit furthur afield.

Once again we thank you for your review, and hope to welcome you to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Chose this hotel for two night stay as opposite the Playhouse Theater where we had seats booked, so that was really convenient. Really good location for all of Edinburgh's must sees and shopping. Very pleasant reception staff who accommodated our request to change rooms due to strong smell of cooking onions! Second room suffered same problem, third room was fine if somewhat cramped and with a funny little window that rose from floor to chest height only! Deciding we were only there to sleep and shower so settled for that. Room adequate and towels better than most other hotels in this "bracket"! Breakfast on first morning a dreadful "free for all" and "survival of the fittest". Only one person cleaning up and had to clear and wipe our own table with hot water from my tea cup! Made sure we were earlier on the second day and it was quieter, but still had to ask for our table to be wiped. Other than that if you are just there to catch up on rest it is fine, best point being its location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Ruth,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay, all feedback is gratefully received and appreciated.

I am very sorry to hear of your experience with breakfast, I can assure you this is not to our usual high standards and I will certainly be investigating as to how this happened, I can understand how disappointing this must have been for you and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Our hotel is located next to an Italian Restaurant so I suspect this was the reason for the smell of Onions, I agree it is not Ideal however unfortunately this is something we cannot change, I am however happy that our team were able to move your room for you.

I do hope you will consider our hotel on a future occasion and once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing