We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap-ish place to rest your head. Perhaps try a B & B instead.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #105 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Small room, small bathroom, no view, borderline inedible breakfast included. Clean and helpful staff. Location is convenient to new town and short walk to old town. I have to believe there are cheaper places to stay in the area that have more local character. If you can get a deal and plan on running around town, maybe this is the place for you. We used gold member points for a free stay (less points were required via the website than directly at the hotel) so free is always good!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crazyplatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Dear Crazyplatter,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room, and felt that it was too small with no view, however we do feel that the hotel has character as it is located in a Georgian style building, we normally receive great feedback regarding the buildings quirkiness and location and can only apologise if you were unhappy.

I am pleased to see that you felt the staff were helpful, and I look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh on a future travel occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 2,126 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

Perfectly good hotel within walking distance of the city centre and main attractions. Edinburgh is a very walk-able city anyway. Good breakfast, the breakfast area can get crowded in the morning but the area is large and being kept well stocked all the time. Personnel is professional and friendly. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wub67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Dear Wub67,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and the location of the hotel.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast, we do agree it can be busy and try our very best to manage this, we do also serve breakfast on the first floor in cases of busier times.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh in the future.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed for weekend in August as part of the Fringe Festival, I wanted to be near the city centre without having to pay the premium to do so and this fitted the bill. I booked in February to accomodate the stay during this period and I am glad I did as the day rate behind the reception was £349 per night which seemed steep.

I had booked a double room but they gave us a twin, the reception team immediately swapped us to a double room and gave us a complimentary drink whilst the room was made up which I thought was a really nice touch.

The location for the city centre is perfect, its within a 10 minute walk of Scott Monument and it is within easy reach of the majority of the city centre locations and ideal for restaurants and other shopping facilities.

The rooms were adequate, certainly not big enough to shout about but not tiny either, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom facilities were modern and clean. There was free coffee and water available at the reception area and an ice machine next to the vending machines just down the stairs.

The breakfast was fine but as I have said in other reviews about Holiday Inn Express, why no bacon? Either way it was enough to bring me round after a heavy night on the town.

as our room was near the back I cannot comment on street noise however it is just off a main road so I woudl expect some noise.

As a base for the festival that is affordable and within easy reach of the train station this is ideal, I am sure if The Scotsman hotel was equally priced then I would go there but it never will be!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ambrose16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Dear KingCream,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and were able to receive a book early and save rate, we often suggest these to our guests because as you have stated it does guarantee your accommodation with a saving.

We have recently changed our breakfast menu to include baked beans, soft rolls and cheese, all Express property's across the UK and Ireland no longer serve bacon and have a daily menu of scrambled eggs, sausages and beans.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh on future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

During our summer holidays in Scotland we booked 3 nights at this hotel using reward points. Otherwise we would have stayed outside the city, as rates were higher than £300 per night because of the August festivals! But it was a good choice. The hotel is a typical Holiday Inn Express that was convenient enough for the four of us, and the location is pretty good: near the Royal Mile and next to lots of restaurants, pubs, theatres and a supermarket. As for the Edinburgh's tourist spots, Calton Hill is really close, and we managed to have a nice view of it from our window.

I'd certainly come back, especially when rates are back to normal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josmon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Josmon10

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel, it’s always great to receive feedback and our team values all reviews.

It was great to see that you stayed on your Priority Club points and that you enjoyed your time here during the August Festival.

Once again I thank you for your great review, and look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh on a future travel occasion.

Kind Regards

Catherine

Catherine Fraser
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
16-22 Picardy Place
Edinburgh
EH1 3JT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in July on business. Check in and staff couldn't be more friendly. I had a room in effectively the basement which was large. Love the way the bathroom is set up and for what you pay, the fixtures and fitting were to a very high standard. If you are just essentially staying in the hotel as a sleeping stop then would highly recommend. Couple of points to note, however:

1) I was in the basement facing the front so lots of street noise well into the early hours

2) I think I was above the bar too as lots of noise of scraping chairs and voices of people having fun from the ceiling up to about midnight

3) Can't remember my room number but I had a concrete post (must have been some kind of support for the building) right through the middle of my room which meant could only watch the tv from one side of the bed or the sofa

4) There is no iron or ironing board in rooms or available. Instead there is a room on the 4th floor with about 5-6 mini ironing boards and irons in. Felt very surreal sneaking in there to iron my tops that had got crushed in transit.

Having said all that. after 2 long days at work, and being a lone female traveller, I felt safe, warm and comfortable albeit with a slightly disturbed sleep due to the noise. Would stay again if my preferred hotels in Edinburgh were booked (as was the case on this occasion)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trahard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

2 of us stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Picardy Place in August 2011 for the Edinburgh Festival.
The location is excellent, near to pubs, restaurants, Fringe events and bus stops, as well as easy walking distance to railway and bus stations.
Thereby hangs the problem - the noise. The hotel overlooks one of the main roundabouts in the City, so there is constant noise from traffic and sirens, as well as people leaving the bars, some of which are open well into the early hours. Saturday night was especially bad, Sunday a lot quieter. Maybe a room at the back of the hotel would be quieter.
Anyway, the room was spacious, bed comfortable and decent bathroom facilities. Complimentary fudge, water, biscuits a nice touch.
Nice bar, not expensive and reasonable range of drinks.
Breakfast was top class, continental and British. It is served on 2 floors so if one seems busy try the other one.
Staff courteous and efficient, overall good value, and would go back armed with ear muffs.

Room Tip: Get a room away from main street if you want a night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear PWF

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel, it’s always great to receive feedback and our team values all reviews.

Your kind comments are very much appreciated, I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise however we are based in the heart of the New Town the windows are all double glazed to try and eliminate the noise but if left open the noise will carry.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh on a future travel occasion.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and that the staff where friendly and supportive during your stay.

Once again I thank you for your great review, and look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh on a future travel occasion.

Kind Regards

Alexander

Alexander Cameron
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
16-22 Picardy Place
Edinburgh
EH1 3JT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Me, my wife and a 4 year old son stayed at this excellent hotel during our recent trip to Scotland. Hotel is around 15 minutes walk from the station but very well situated on Leith street from where you have access to shopping center and many great eateries. Also Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre and Omni Centre is exactly opposite to the hotel so it is a great place if you are a drama enthusiast. Breakfast was sumptuous and well managed in spite of significant crowd.

Room Tip: Thumbs up to Holiday Express Inn Edinburgh
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DnyaneshPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear DnyaneshP

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel, it’s always great to receive feedback and our team values all reviews.

Your kind comments are very much appreciated, and we hope we can look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh on a future travel occasion.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and that you enjoyed your complimentary style and hot choice breakfast thank you for your kind comments

Once again I thank you for your great review, and look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh on a future travel occasion.

Kind Regards

Alexander

Alexander Cameron
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
16-22 Picardy Place
Edinburgh
EH1 3JT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#118 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $70 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing