We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarin Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarin Guest House
Ranked #131 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a strange review in the fact that I have not had the pleasure of staying at this location due to ill health of my father therefore the weekend booking they had at this hotel had to be cancelled. I would however still like to say that the helpfulness and the service provided by Kim at this location has been second to none and I am sure had we have stayed there this would have been replicated. I would definately reccommend a booking with them and would just like to thank Kim for her flexibility and willingness to help as down to her we have not been left much out of pocket for the cancellation.

Room Tip: Close to Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 46Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    28
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
50
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for a weekend at the end of july as we got it for a great price. The host was very helpful, rooms very clean, bed was comfy but not very quiet first thing in the morning. The bedroom window didnt shut properly, which wasnt a problem in itself but you could hear the traffic!
Other than that it was very good and a great location. Buses running every 5 minutes make it easy to reach the city centre. Put it on your accomodation list!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishlassieTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in June. This guest house is ideally situated - very close to the bus stop to the city and many buses to chose from.Free off-street parking was a big bonus. Kim and Andy were very friendly and Andy especially was really helpful with directions etc......places to visit,transport and restaurants and laundramat. Our room on the first floor was spotlessly clean and very bright thanks to a large window. We liked the choice of a top sheet on the bed and choice of a heavier blanket or a lightweight one - personally we find doonas too hot and heavy.The room was tastefully furnished, but a bedside table would have been handy.There was plently of drawers and hanging space. The bathroom was compact, but spotlessly clean - no toiletries supplied. I found the stairs a little steep owing to mobility problems, but not an issue to most people. Excellent breakfast. Would definitely recomment

Room Tip: If possible get a room with ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Clarin Guest House is a good deal at the price. It is exceptionally clean and the rooms are comfortable. It is in a quiet location but within walking distance to good local restaurants and taverns. We were unable to get an "ensuite" room and had to share the bath, but never had any problems with access. Rooms on the "first" floor are actually up a tall, steep, curving starcase which was a bit difficult as I had fallen and injured myself, so be ware of this when making reservations. City buses are only a half block away, so the hotel provides convenient access to all of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manshacktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Very friendly, nice and kind family with excelent service. very clean rooms and perfect breakfast!
I would definitely recoment it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Me and my mother stayed her for 3 nights in may, and we had the best time! Kim and Andy went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed help with, wether it was borrowing a laptop, finding places to eat, where to take the bus from or what to to in Edinburgh.
We got the family room at the top, which was big and nicely furnished.
We also loved the breakfast, that they personally made for each one of us. It was really good!

Overall, it was the perfect bed and breakfast for us, especially with Kim & Andy who were so helpful and friendly!
We hope we can be able to come back soon! :))

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had booked clarin guest house via hotwire 2 months ago and went there today and were looking forward to our stay having read the good reviews. As we arrived there was Kim smiling and welcoming us in and came back in a panic not being able to find our reservation. She tried everything with the company that she is registered with for online bookings and was really trying her best to help us. Anyway we managed to book somewhere else with hotwire. The hospitality extended by Kim and Andy has to be credited for as other reviewers have made mention as well. I was quietly sad to leave this lovely b&b with hotwire having not got the reservation right. Maybe next time. Keep up the good work Andy and Kim next time no hot wire/ expedia, we will come directly to you. Thank you. Sherveen and saba

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.5 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#123 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#92 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#50 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#203 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#59 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minto Guest House
Minto Guest House
#167 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarin Guest House

Property: Clarin Guest House
Address: 4 East Mayfield | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarin Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Clarin Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing