We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar for drink & food”
Review of The Bangkok Bar - CLOSED

The Bangkok Bar
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: Authentic Thai street food served daily (closed Mondays in winter) from noon till 10pm in our quirky little cocktail bar. Enjoy quick, fresh, tasty dishes, "immense" cocktails, beers and some great music in this slightly brash "Thai fast food" environment. Drop in and chill out. Also a great place to enjoy a pre or post dinner drink if dining in the adjoining Port of Siam, Newtown restaurant.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
816 reviews
586 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“Great bar for drink & food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This bar linked to the Port of Siam restaurant is a great place for a drink and a bite to eat. The bar serves Thai 'street food' and we would very much recommend it. Brought to you by the guys behind the wonderful original Port of Siam restaurant in Newhaven. And they have the legendary lemongrass panacotta on the dessert menu as well!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“'Street Feel" with ambience....”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had a late lunch in the adjoining Port of Siam restaurant on Saturday afternoon, and was so intrigued by the cocktail list we called here to sample same on our way out for dinner that evening.

My wife had the Thai Lady and I had the Panandanus which were both excellent and very reasonably priced by comparison to some of the nearby somewhat pretentious rivalry.

The murals of busy Thai streets and the fact the place was very busy gave the place a sort of a bustling street life vibe to it that enhanced the experience as well. Like the restaurant, the food we observed being consumed looked excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank swift0262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect end to a great date”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Recently ducked in here to escape the rain with the other half, following a day out round Edinburgh and was overwhelmed by the quality and value of the traditional Thai street food.

Found excellent and friendly service from our stunning barman Jonathan who walked us through the cocktail menu to find something to each of our tastes and then customised the drinks for us as well - a must visit.

top dish - the tom yum soup - spicy and fragrant with enough to fill me up - even if I did finish it too quickly!

Top drink - try the Thai lady, an awesome twist on a pink lady and just what the depressingly rainy afternoon called for

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghFoodBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Thai lunch with great service”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The standout element of our Thai lunch at Bangkok Bar was the attentive, friendly, but never intrusive service. The food, too, was delicious - a good value set menu with a range of choices. Tempura was light and fluffy, and the prawn curry was full of lovely crunchy fresh veg and succulent prawns. A fruity, nutty Thai salad was a perfect accompaniment. A slightly low-key atmosphere, but this place is new, and the warm welcome from staff easily compensates. Many thanks for a lovely meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch deal”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Tasty two course lunch for under ten pounds with very friendly and attentive service( best we have experienced in our one week stay ).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bangkok Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing