We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Accommodation in Edinburgh”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CairnsOCo...
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation in Edinburgh”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wonderful welcome by Margot the owner and the apartment was ideal for our stay. Extremely clean, all the facilities and equipment that a family would need whilst holidaying. Convenient location although peaceful and leafy outlook. Would recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arrival greeting and provisions
Liked least: Parking can be problematic
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2015
Lovely family ..such a pleasure to welcome you to the apartment...and to Edinburgh. Thank you so much for being great guests, for leaving everything in pristine condition ... and, most of all, for being interesting and lovely people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our stay was just too short.”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The flat was lovely. Updated kitchen, and baths. Beds were comfortable. We found it to be spacious for three people. Perfect for our stay in Edinburgh.

The location worked well for us. We walked all over the center of the city from the flat but, public transportation is nearby.

The owner is wonderful to work with, warm and accommodating.

Renting a flat is a very nice alternative to staying in a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The flat was beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable.
Liked least: The front entrance to the building.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2015
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I’m so pleased that the flat worked for you ~ and that you enjoyed your stay and your time together in Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHug22
Dungannon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not rate highly enough”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and three others stayed in this lovely apartment over the New Year period. From the very beginning the very gracious owner Margot was more than accommodating and regularly kept in contact. The apartment is very easily found and within walking distance to the city. There are also several shops/ amenities within a few minutes walk away also. The apartment itself is very homely, warm and has everything you would need. Will definitely consider this apartment again if I ever returned to Edinburgh :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2015
Thank you so much for your generous review. I really appreciate it. It was lovely to meet you and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hillside in the (hopefully!)not-too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic flat”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely, spacious, bright flat in a very quiet location near the city centre and Waverley station. It was very clean and obviously recently refurbished, with a very well equipped kitchen and great shower room + separate toilet. Lots of towels and nice bedding. All essentials were supplied in the kitchen, and the friendly owner Margot had got some wine, milk and Irn-Bru for our arrival! The only very minor suggestion we would make is maybe to have more crockery and glasses, as you can get low on those very quickly if you use the dishwasher. Other than that, this was definitely one of the best flats we've stayed in -- and we've done a lot of self-catering.
Warmly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2015
Thank you so much for your positive constructive feedback. I am very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hillside ~ and I have increased crockery and glasses as you helpfully suggested. Again, thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenridg...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Home away from home in Edinburgh”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this centrally located, quiet, and well appointed apartment. The owner was very welcoming and helpful before our arrival and during our stay. The apartment is spacious and the recent kitchen and bathrooms upgrades were much appreciated. Highly recommended!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2015
Lovely guests ~ thank you so much. It was a real pleasure to meet all three of you. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your great feedback. I’m so pleased that you found the flat both comfortable and convenient. ..and that you were able to cook and enjoy your Christmas (2013!) dinner.
And yes, the bathroom does need to be updated...but not for long! .Both kitchen and bathroom are being updated as part of a schedule of re-configuration (to include a second bedroom) and complete refurbishment this spring. So, I look forward to seeing you again...and you will see changes! Warmest best wishes, Margot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DukeWilli...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Why stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Edinburgh is the only place to see in the New Year properly. This was mine and my girlfriend's third time doing Hogmanay in the city and the Hillside Street apartment is the perfect location for everything you might want to do Old Town or New Town.
I'm a big fan of Scottish architecture anyway and the building is wonderfully rustic on a lovely residential street just ten minutes away from Princess Street and the hub of everything.
The apartment is beautifully presented and is completely as advertised in the pictures, in fact I would say that as good as it looks on line it is even better in the flesh.
I would/will definitely try to stay at Hillside Street on my next visit to Edinburgh and would recommend you do the same!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, location, presentation and character
Liked least: unfortunately no dvd player for a very long New Years day!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
Thank you for being such super guests and for leaving such lovely comments. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the flat ...and its location...lived up to your expectations! I look forward to seeing you both again. Many, many thanks, Margot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing