We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant”
Review of The Atelier Restaurant - CLOSED

The Atelier Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I went on August 25th for a meal in the evening. Morrison Street is not the prettiest street in Edinburgh by a mile, however it is hiding this wee gem. Absolutely brilliant food, great atmosphere and great service. Could not have asked for more.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bekka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    825
    215
    49
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandhg
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

This was an excellent find following feedback on the internet. It couldn't be faulted and the food was superb. Everything from making the booking to the follow up from the restaurant staff was easy. We were a wee bit nervous going in as we weren't sure of the location but no need for concern.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pre Fringe Lunch”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Came for lunch before a show at the fringe. Very handy location next to Haymarket for anyone travelling to Edinburgh by train. restaurant is small with a cosy atmosphere and very friendly staff. Food delicious and very good value for money. Only slight niggle sat at table next to door and it was left open causing a draft. However that minor complaint aside i would highly recommend the restaurant as the food was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonnet_toun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, West Midlands, England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't let the location put you off”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

If you consider eating here but are put off by appearances, you will make a big mistake.

Morrison Street is far from glamorous, so if it's views you're after, this isn't for you.
If it's great food and friendly service you want, then this is the place. My lamb rump was beautifully cooked and the portions are generous. A great find and worthy of recommendation to any gastronome. Book ahead or risk being disappointed...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“The Atelier has raised the bar”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We dined here for dinner yesterday and were so glad we did.
We were warmly welcomed to the restaurant and were treated to friendly non intrusive service throughout.
The nice décor also went down well as did the background music which helped to ensure that conversations remained private and at a volume that did not require voices to be raised.
As for the food, perhaps it was a limited menu choice compared to some other establishments e.g. choice of 4 starters, 6 mains and 4 desserts however the food blew that thought away.
We had two starters (soup and pigeon), two mains (lamb and sea bass & red mullet), a shared dessert (poached peach) all ably assisted by a bottle of wine.
Each course was excellently conceived and executed with each ingredient helping to create a culinary delight.
To achieve this feat across each course was extraordinary particularly as our final bill was only £78.
The Atelier deserves it current standing in Trip Advisor and is a welcome addition to the fine dining scene in Edinburgh.
We will certainly be back.
I would add a note that you would be best to book in advance as it has only 30 covers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelpiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Atelier Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing