We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Dining Experience!”
Review of The Atelier Restaurant - CLOSED

The Atelier Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Wittlich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exquisite Dining Experience!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked the Atelier Restaurant as part of our Hogmanay celebrations and were not disappointed. The food was exquisite! It was prepared with fresh, local ingredients and excellent flavor. The presentation was superb and artistic. Atelier also has an excellent wine list. The restaurant is extremely small and intimate, so reservations recommended. In addition, the menu was not overpriced. We felt that we received a fair price for a delicious meal! This was a fantastic meal out!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bravohappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    825
    215
    49
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect honeymoon meal”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Quite simply the best meal we have ever had, our first romantic meal as a married couple on our mini honeymoon will always be remembered by our taste buds, fantastic menu, faultless service, perfectly cook food, magic little restaurant, would recommend the Atelier to everyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muzzakeir79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal ever!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My girlfriend and I visited Edinburgh at the beginning of January and wanted somewhere with nice food yet reasonably priced. We checked the reviews on here and they did not let us down!

This was simply the nest food we had ever eaten and for £25 for 2 courses we couldn't argue with the quality of food and service!

The waitress brought over bread and home made olive oil dip whilst we waited for our starters to arrive of which they brought over a second basket of bread for us as it was delicious!

We had the goats cheese tart and pork belly and goats cheese to start along with the rib eyed steak (£4 supplement) and pheasant and confit of duck. The steak was by far the best steak I have ever tasted and the presentation was second to none.

If you ever visit Edinburgh then this has to be top of your list of restaurants! Go and be amazed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyboll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing short of superb”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a very personal modern restaurant, not to big meaning staff are on hand almost instantly if you need anything. They were very accommodating and friendly.

The food was simply amazing, this is achieved with a small but focused menu. There is something for every pallet. If you think there is not just order something you would not do normally and trust me you will not be dis appointed.

We started with the pork belly & pigeon starters, when am left wanting more I know am on to something good. It was a little teaser of what was to come. We could not help but stare at all the dishes being served around us continuously asking the waitress what was being served next to us.

Venison is a tough one for me to like but this was just perfect with the black pudding wrap and creamy mustard potatoes. Delicious. My good lady had the Sea Bass needless to say she cleaned the plate.

I must apologies to my partner, the deal was to get 2 desserts and share. My creme brulee, shortbread and sorbet was so good I simply got lost, before I knew it I was staring down the barrels of my partners piercing eyes as I realised I had just finished it all.

It does not come much better than this, its short walk from Haymarket train station, for a 3 course meal with a drink each you are looking at somewhere around £30-40 per head. For this quality of food that is well priced,

Thanks to all the staff and compliments to the chef for a superb meal.

We will 100% definitely be back.

They were very busy so book early :( enjoy

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alphabravo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
685 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We loved our meal here and are still raving about it. We literally could have eaten every item on the menu, they all looked so delicious it was really hard to choose!

Once we had finally decided however, the food was sublime. Great flavours, meticulously prepared, brilliantly cooked. We had a range of items; the Scallops and pork belly was sublime, and the venison and sea bass mains were exceptionally good!
Desserts were brilliant too. Not your classic over sweet desserts but really well thought out flavours. Chocolate and beetroot brownie was sensational, the orange tart was perfect, not too sweet with hints of bitterness. Mmmm really really enjoyed it.

Would highly recommend!

Book a week or 2 ahead, it is a small place and got very busy!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sbspeedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Atelier Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing