We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Restaurant”

The Atelier Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Atelier Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Ate here a few nights ago and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Staff are simply lovely and couldn't do enough to help. The food is just excellent and would definitely go back when we are next in Edinburgh. Was very surprised to find how new this restaurant was, great work guys keep it up!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank new-nanny2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    215
    49
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
639 reviews
587 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
“A special place: well done guys.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have returned twice after my first review, for dinner and lunch, and I have to confirm that this new restaurant is quite special. I can only join the long queue of positive comments...

The menus are constructed in an incredibly intelligent way, so that even the lunch menu at less than £10 offers interesting dishes with many components, balance, care in seasoning, some finesse, and ultimately great flavours! Last time we had a great melt-in-the-mouth great pork belly, a delicious cous cous with halloumi, and a lovely Italian-style mussle dish. And desserts, while simple, are made by somebody who likes desserts, or at least understands what a dessert-lover looks for...

Maybe this lunch price won't last long, after all these guys have to pay the bills!, but even at a few pounds more it would still be great value for money. At dinner you get a similar style with even more complete dishes, perhaps better cuts, etc.. Prices are obviously higher but still very good value.

The front of house team is lovely. Last time I complained about coffee but now even that has been sorted out. Other improvements are that now they take Amex, and we are told that there will be a renewal in furniture. In its category, this is quite a unique place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank thoughtfuldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch time treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I saw the great reviews on her and because the restaurant is so close to work I thought a long lunch was in need, we went at 12 and thankfully there was a free table 20 minutes later and we may have been too late because the restaurant was soon full.

The lunch deal is £9.90 for 3 courses and it was fantastic! I had carrot and coriander soup and the gnocchi for main and my friend has salmon, it was really delicious and looked beautiful my friend also loved the salmon.

The atelier is a great addition to the west end so make sure you make a reservation to avoid being dissapointed!

Helpful?
Thank maxine1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First class cooking.... (but mindless unwanted music)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent cooking at a reasonable price. Initial welcome was not particularly impressive but actually the service was very good too. The pace of the dinner was good and they checked that all was well at each course. Couldn't fault the food and would like to go again with friends but why do restaurants, not just this one, play music that no one wants to listen to , such that sometimes you cannot hear your table companions. Then people talk louder and louder to overcome the background noise. To be fair I asked and they turned it down. But does anyone go to a restaurant to listen to music. Of course not, they go to enjoy the the food the wine and to talk to their companion(s.) A restaurant of this quality doesn't need mindless music. If so, it should be at a very low volume. But it's happening more and more.

Apart from this nuisance well done all at L'Atelier!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a treat, fantastic local restaurant with great service. The chef has lots of imagination with their salmon dish coming with a hint of vanilla and the steak was to die for. AMAZING!. Superb, fresh and well presented food, good price and very friendly staff. We will be back!
This place is a must for all food lovers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dug01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Atelier Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Atelier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing