We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! Especially the desserts!”
Review of Enjoy

Enjoy
Ranked #761 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Indian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: Classic multi cuisine restaurant based in the heart of Edinburgh, serving a wide range of dishes for dinner, with a choice of wines and local beers. Private dining area available. Outside seating, Open for coffee, bar snacks, a choice of a la carte menu.Dishes involves freshly prepared Chicken Balmoral,SIrloin Steak, Chef's Risotto and Curry of the Day etc. Haggis Pakoras,Tandoori Chicken,Its a fantastic hidden gem very close to the Omni and the York Place.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent! Especially the desserts!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I had an excellent meal here! The Spaghetti Carbonara was some of the best I've ever had and very reasonably priced. The very helpful waiter recommended the panacotta and the chocolate mousse as the chef's best desserts and he was spot on, they were amazing. They both came with a crystallized mint syrup that is out of this world.
We went on a Saturday night and it was a shame to see it so quiet. People are really missing out of this place isn't busy. Perhaps they would benefit from a clearer sign showing that the basement door is in fact the way in to the restaurant. We got confused and wandered into the hotel first. It was no problem and we were very quickly directed to the right place. But I wonder if having a more obvious entry way might increase their foot traffic a little.
I will be recommending this place to everyone and definitely coming back myself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    53
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had a lovely meal here. The mixed platter was great; a selection of battered entities including pakora, strips of potato and chillies. Marvelous batter, quite dense, but not stodgy. Then had a steak and risotto. Risotto is hard to get right, but it was really very good. The one thing that surprised me was the absence of curry from the menu. It seemed odd, as the chef was Indian and on the basis of his cooking of Western food and the starters, I was pretty sure his curry would be great. I asked about this and was told they were adding curry to the menu soon. Also said if we called in advance, (day before to allow chef to buy the ingredients), we could request particular dishes. My Sri Lankan in-laws are coming over soon, so will definitely do this. Oh yes, the place is also incredibly cheap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kw_edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and i and two boys thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Fantastic service . Good quality very tasty good at very reasonable prices. Will def be back. The only negative thing i could say is that we were not offered a wine/drinks menu when trying to decide on which wine/drink to have. We could have asked for one , but being in a restaurant, we should have been offered one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value,great fresh food,great location for pre-theatre meal for Edinburgh playhouse,great all-rounder restaurant.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a newly opened restaurant, a 'wee hidden-gem'. It's only downfall is you won't know it's there unless you're told about it, it's at basement level. The food was excellent value and they run special offers, Pranzo Menu only £4.95 Mon. To Fri. Noon till 6pm for example. I had the best tasting batter I've ever tasted on the chicken pakora, the mozzarella melts were great, the deep fried fresh fish in beer batter was absolutely beautiful, served in quirky imitation newspaper! The staff are very pleasant. This is a great good value place to eat any time of day, but especially convenient for that early pre-theatre eatery. It's located under the Albany Boutique hotel in Albany street,off Broughton Street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xativa, Spain
2 reviews
“Four expats from spain”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

.Using our groupon voucher we went for lunch prior to our visit to the Edinburgh Tattoo.What an amazing experience.The food was out of this world.The service from the staff was excellent...even the chef coming over to make sure all was ok. Highly Recommended...would definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enjoy also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Enjoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing