We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great cafe and brilliant owner”
Review of Le Cafe Bleu

Le Cafe Bleu
Ranked #4 of 148 Coffee & Tea in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really great cafe and brilliant owner”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have visited this cafe quite a few times with my wife for coffee or coffee with lunch. The atmosphere is really nice and the coffee excellent. The food is also great and owner is a nice person to chat with. We certainly recommend it for a visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    76
    17
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing cafe, very friendly owner”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I visited this cafe today with my girlfriend and had a great time, the owner was very friendly and the coffee was incredible! I will definitely be visiting again

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cnut_the_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taastrup, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good soup and pleasant staff!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The owner is very nice, and altogether with the fair prices and the delicious soup, I had a good experience :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for value and great quality food.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We made a point of seeking this little cafe out on our recent trip to Edinburgh, after finding the wealth of reviews on here that sing its praises. It's close proximity to our hotel on Lauriston Place made it a perfect stop off for some late breakfast.
Le Cafe Bleu is a very new place, which we found out after a conversation with the owner about what brought him to Edinburgh. After just four months of being open, he is doing a fantastic job.
Le Cafe Bleu is quite small and is in the middle of a face-lift, but this didn't detract from the quality of the food and coffee. I would highly recommend the pancakes with fresh fruit, which I ate on both of my visits to Le Cafe Bleu.
I wish the charming owner all the luck in the world. His humble attitude to what he is trying to acheive is enough to motivate anyone to jack in he rat race and start a new adventure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A friend of mine took me here for soup and falafel, and I was not disappointed. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the food is creative and delicious (especially the soup). The prices are reasonable and I will definitely be going back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeccaAnneStans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe Bleu also viewed

 

Been to Le Cafe Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing