We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”
Review of Old Town Chambers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Town Chambers
Ranked #5 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Beachamwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Lovely large modern studio apartment. Toilet and shower separate from the room! Conveniently, received a email prior to visit giving excellent directions, code to apartment , parking location and reception. Enjoyed the ease of no check-in/out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanm569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LateralC, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It's great to hear you enjoyed our "no checkin " process and your stay. I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    121
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
398
307
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

The apartment was large for a studio. It was modern, well equipped and very clean. Towels were changed on request by leaving them on the floor. The location was perfect - steps from the Royal Mile. There was a chap working on the landscaping outside that smiled and greeted us ever time we walked by. Parking behind the station was an easy, albeit uphill, short walk away and affordable for a city centre (£35 for 4 days). The only weird thing was that there was a half a bottle of Prosecco in the otherwise clean fridge. I would definitely stay there again. Absolutely amazing!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LateralC, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the prosecco tho, that is very strange!
I hope we will see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed at this hidden hotel for 3 days at the end of July, and were impressed with several things. In first place, it is an architectural tour de force. Located within a historical context, with neighbouring buildings which date from several centuries, the architects managed to build a contemporary, respectful and surprising building. The colors, the spaces, the apartments, are a showcase of excellence in design. Our beautiful apartment allowed for a private room and a living space with bed nook for our daughter. The staff, corteous and helpful, always displayed the best of attitudes. As it is accesible only through a small passage from the street, it is quite silent in spite of the festivals and stret noises. Probably one of the best places in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARLOS_MORALES_HENDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LateralC, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for this lovely review, we are honoured to read you think we are one of the best places in Edinburgh. We are delighted to read you enjoyed our stay and I hope we will see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

For sure it's not a 5 star hotel. By US standards, it's just like any 3 star extended stay hotel.
The entrance to the hotel was hard to find because it's inside a courtyard with a small entrance from the main street. Not very attractive.
The lady at the front desk, Gaia, was just fantastic. She gets one star all by herself.
The apartment was very small and dark with a view of the neighbors across the street. (No privacy at all.)
No place for our luggage because the closet was too small. The hair dyer was connected inside the closet. Hard to dry your hair.
During our 4 night stay, they never changed the linens or towels and the cleaning was very poor. They just made the beds and picked up the garbage.
When I tried to use the toaster, all the lights went out.
5 star price for a 3 star hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lucitas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LateralC, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

For guests reading this, I thought I would address your points:

We do make it clear that a one bed apartment with a sofa bed is not large enough for 4 adults.
In the apartment in which you stayed there is a large closet next to the wardrobe in the bedroom, it sounds like you didn't find this.
Our processes mean we change towels on request and all linen is changed on the 3rd night, perhaps you missed this also.
Perhaps also you didn't notice that the apartment has a privacy film on the windows that means you can see out but passer-bys can't see in.

Ultimately we are a five star serviced apartment, we don't purport to be a hotel, we offer space and independence but it is important that you book the correct size of apartment for your party.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, sometimes guests who book us would be better served by booking a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Situated in an ideal location, walking distance of many popular tourist attractions including the Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile being a stone's throw away, this is an excellent place to stay! The front desk were very kind and helpful. Reception lady showed us to our room straightaway. We had a family apartment, which was very clean and spacious. Facilities were excellent. I personally loved the kitchen as it was even equipped with coffee/espresso machine. The only thing that bothered me was the amount of noise which was coming from the room above- we could hear people manically walking throughout the night, this was a little disturbing, however, all the other perks definitely outweigh this minor occurrence. Would definitely recommend to couples and families.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LateralC, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, which makes our hard work worthwhile.

Could I bother you to tell me which apartment you stayed in so that we can try to resolve the noise issue, julie@oldtownchambers.co.uk.

I hope we see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

LOVED IT.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom lofted unit, 2 kids 2 adults. My son could have done laps around the unit and was tempted to exercise his world cup skills!! 2 40 inc Tv's back to back bed to lounge certainly didnt let down the viewing experience. The urban integrated warehouse concept was perfectly executed by the architects and interior designers. touches of modern and old. material selections were flawless. Function and form, the place exercised both, all you need in the kitchen, without spending a fortune outside on breakfast, a comfy bed, strong hot showers, place to throw your bags- love the long seat against the window for this. Mind the workers playing away in the office next door, this is a true Urban hotel so be prepared to draw the shades on the way in or bear it! Staff were foreign and maybe lacked full knowledge as someone mentioned in a review but hey isn't everyone misplaced these days! The Italian next door is great for the family and the discount comes with staying at the Chambers is also welcome.
We have a Boutique, and I wouldn't go easy on this review.
Well done

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LateralC, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to give readers such detail. It is great to hear you enjoyed our apartments so much.

I hope you will return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are great, location superb and overall a very good choice. Went there during fringe and cost was high compared to service. One would think that for $500 a night one would get shampoo or coffee refilled? Front desk was very nice. However as they were all foreign we really couldn't use them much for any concierge services. It is a 5 star room w housekeeping.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgrimm_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LateralC, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am slightly perturbed about your "they are all foreign" comment. As I have explained previously our Housekeeping team are main Polish, as is the case in the majority of housekeeping teams across the UK. However our Concierge team is a mixture of Scottish, Italian, American, German, Indian and Polish, which allows us to offer 13 languages to our guests, over half of which are from overseas.
They are all extremely knowledgeable about the local area and of course the booklet which I composed gives an almost street by street guide of our personal recommendations.

I am sorry your shampoo was not refilled had you asked a reception, this would have been taken care of and as I have also mentioned tea and instant coffee is refilled every day, the initial nespresso pods and milk are a welcome item.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and our location and I do hope we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,771 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,821 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,086 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Chambers

Property: Old Town Chambers
Address: Roxburgh's Court, 323 High Street | Off Mary King's Close, Edinburgh EH1 1LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Town Chambers 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’ve created an award-winning collection of luxury, serviced apartments that combine stylish design with all the benefits of home, where the great city location is the cherry on top. They are most definitely apartments done distinctively. Like home, but better. We’ve put some serious thought into designing apartments that not only encourage easy living, but look stunning from floor-to-ceiling. Whilst you kick off your shoes and settle in, we’ll quietly be beavering away in the background to ensure that all the important little details are taken care of – in a nutshell, it’s the best bits of hotel service with the added freedom of apartment living. Lateral City’s eclectic portfolio of apartments includes three distinct and rather magnificent properties. There’s Merchiston Residence, set in a leafy residential quarter, a short stroll from the city centre, 15th-century Old Town Chambers, just off Prince’s Street, and our newest jewel, The Edinburgh Grand, smack-bang in the beating heart of town. Unique and idiosyncratic in character they ooze the uncommon, but all share our passion for stylish design, contemporary features and ultra-modern technology. We don’t define your stay, we’re simply here to make it that bit more amazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Town Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Chambers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing