We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in the city - ideal for family”
Review of Old Town Chambers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Town Chambers
Ranked #5 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Home away from home in the city - ideal for family”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Capital Apartment during Easter. What a fantastic place this is - a real home away from home in the city. Location is ideal, literally on the Royal Mile & all is has to offer. Great access to the station (Waverley) & easy to get the the airport (grab the X100 express bus which stops at the station then walk 3 minutes up the steps).

Ideal for families, as it offers a full kitchen & all the usual high end bits & bobs that you're used to. The apartment was brand new & exceptional in all aspects from the comfy beds, high end linen & smart TVs. We look forward to returning.

Note, there are many steps in Edinburgh, so remember this if you have a kids buggy or mobility issues. This is not the fault of the property (which has a lift) but simply the unique nature of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 21 on 1st floor overlooking the quiet courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theboybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and made the most of everything Edinburgh has to offer and our location. I hope we will see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    120
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
387
299
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed a the Old Chambers for the weekend. Great location, second bedroom was a little small and we had our apartments changed on us at the last minute. No major problem though, just a little bit of confusion.Would definitely stay again though.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Advocates Close can be a little noisy at night due to the bar. The bar shuts at 1a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review to say that you would stay again. I am sorry we changed your apartment at the last minute, sometime this is unavoidable if a maintenance issue arises as guests reading this may have noticed we always try to upgrade when possible.
I hope we will see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed from Saturday to the following Wednesday and had a fantastic time. Our first night was sadly noisy due to outside activity in the pub backing on to our apartment however all other nights were fine and the staff were very apologetic and willing to move us if required. Superb location, helpful staff and fantastic apartment, all in all a great choice :-D

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneMLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review. I am very glad to hear that your stay was a good one, in spite of some noise on your first night. As the staff explained we are confident that the double glazing we are undertaking will sort out this issue and so I hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Free complimentary room upgrade. Great location. Outside appearance of the hotel looks normal, but apartment inside was stunning. Very clean and well-maintained. Very thick and comfortable bed. Strong WIFI connection. No key needed, just key in access code. Staff was friendly and diligent and even teach us how to use the coffee machine. Saw the same few staff working day and night. A pity though that this 5 star hotel does not provide toothbrush.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our apartments and I hope we will see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great location. Clean comfortable room with everything you could possibly want. However from 9pm to about 12:30am sleep is impossible due to the noise from the bar about 2 metres from the not double glazed windows.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgleigh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review.

Can I sincerely apologise for the noise that you suffered from the bar on Advocates Close. I can confirm that we have ordered double glazing for this room and we are assured this will resolve the issue. I am just sorry it was not in place for your stay this weekend as clearly we would not want our guests to be inconvenienced in any way.

I hope that due to the fact that you enjoyed your stay that you will consider returning. Please contact me directly on julie@oldtownchambers.co.uk if you would like to book your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night. Will definitely use again.
Easy to find, fantastic location, modern, clean, warm......the staff on reception were friendly and helpful.
To be recommended above a hotel for us in the future.
The only problem would be for people who have difficulty with uneven terrain/steps as there are a few to get into the building. That all adds to the beauty and ambience of being just off the Royal Mile!
The views from our room were splendid - Princes Street at its best!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shelly-186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, its great to hear that you enjoyed our stay and that you will return.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Old Town Chambers is located in the middle of the Royal Mile, the center of activity for Edinburgh. It is a great place if you are going to stay any length of time, as they provide washer/dryer, dishwasher, mini-fridge, cook stove, etc. No breakfast is provided, but this is made clear on booking. There are plenty of close, tasty breakfast places around that this is not a problem. The staff was very friendly and immediately helped us with any requests.

***ONLY COMPLAINT*** The sofa bed is atrocious. So, instead of sharing an apartment with 2 couples (1 couple in master, one on sofa), DEFINITELY get 2 rooms with 2 beds. Friends said master bed was very very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on our apartments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the location and all the facilities the apartment has to offer.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a good night's sleep on the sofabed and I would be grateful if you could email me and advise which apartment you stayed in on julie@oldtownchambers.co.uk. I am surprised to hear your sofa bed was not comfortable, the mattresses were actually made extra thick for us and so although we do not advise it, two adults should be able to share it if really necessary.

I am glad to hear however that you will be back and we look forward to that!

For guests reading this, if you are looking for an apartment for 4 adults but would like to perhaps have a more economical solution than a 2 bed apartment, then a family apartment is a good option. This offers a master bedroom, of this can be twinned and a separate area off the livingroom called a bed deck which is king size bed on a raised platform (http://www.lateralcity.com/old-town-chambers/apartments/Family-apartments). Some of these apartments have 2 bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Chambers

Property: Old Town Chambers
Address: Roxburgh's Court, 323 High Street | Off Mary King's Close, Edinburgh EH1 1LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Town Chambers 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Town Chambers is a new, luxurious, serviced apartment development in the heart of the historic Old Town of Edinburgh. Situated on The Royal Mile, Old Town Chambers offers discerning guests luxurious accommodation in 50 large, discrete, unique apartments.You have the choice of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. Each apartment is individually designed and laid out so no two are exactly the same. All apartments have an open plan kitchen, dining table* and large living space*. Whichever suite you choose, the location means that you are in the very heart of Edinburgh with easy access to all that Edinburgh has to offer. We are a mere two minute walk from Waverley station making for easy access to all transport links including the airport bus and the soon to be running Edinburgh trams.You access The Royal Mile through one of Edinburgh's historic closes, and can experience all the hustle and bustle of Scotland's most historic and well known thoroughfare and yet you can leave it all behind and be back in your apartment in the blink of an eye.If you are looking for a place to stay which has all the benefits of a luxury, five star hotel, but with more space and flexibility then this is the place to be... Old Town Chambers is your home from home. * Except Studios which have a seating area with pull up tables to eat from. These apartments are compact and cosy, and also have a full kitchen, washer drier and shower room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Town Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Chambers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing