We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. High quality, excellent location helpful staff!”
Review of Old Town Chambers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Town Chambers
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Fabulous 2 bed apartment with stunning views in a great part of the city minutes from the Castle and many excellent bars and restaurant

Room is very large with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Kitchen has dishwasher, microwave, fridge, oven, coffee machine, toaster -everything you could need!

Stayed here with our two toddlers and the hotel could not of been more helpful

Rooms finished to a very high standard far better then most hotels

Beds very comfy with beautiful high quality linens

5 star service and accommodation would not want to stay anywhere else

The only thing that would make it better and these certainly would not stop me returning are

A tag for the door to say if you want the room serviced/cleaned or not ( we didn't but had no way of informing the cleaners)

This point is only cos we have kids but a catch on the door to stop children from opening the front door and escaping would be great - but as are girls are little it wasn't too much of a concern

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review. We are always delighted to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us and that the little people enjoyed their stay too. Thanks for your suggestions, both of which I am pleased to say, should be in place for your next visit! I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment with my family and it was perfect. The apartment was modern, very spacious (big!), well equipped and in a perfect location, so I am not sure you could want anything more. The staff were also very friendly which made us feel very welcome. Like another reviewer mentioned we also had a few problems understanding the heating controls, but I am sure if we had asked at reception, one of the members of staff could have sorted it out quite easily.
We searched online for deals, but ended up booking directly as we weren't sure that the web deals were offering the same room type, because there are 2 types of 2 bed apartments from what I understand. It might be worth contacting the hotel directly or using their website to make sure you are getting what you want, rather than using 3rd parties. We didn't book a room with a view as we didn't expect to spend much time in the apartment, but it still made a lovely place to come back to after a long day walking around the city.
We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed the space the apartment had to offer and the location. For your information we have amended the heating controls slightly so that guests will find them easier to use so I hope on your next visit you will find them easier!

For guests reading we offer signature apartments which have a view and often a balcony and capital apartments which look out on Roxburgh's Court or one of the closes. On some booking sites these are called superior rooms, but our website always offers the same prices as other booking sites so you can feel confident that you are getting the best price direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed her on a Friday night, WOW…the place is great! I requested a room with a view, we were supplied just that! A stunning room with large balcony overlooking princess street. In my email request I mentioned we were visiting Edinburgh as a birthday treat for my daughter, on entering the room they had even left a birthday card for her! Lovely touch!
Perfect stay and I would LOVE to return!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of princess st
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSSL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for posting this review, its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we helped a little with your daughter's birthday treat. Its also lovely to hear you would love to return and so we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Would 100% recommend staying here for leisure or business. Excellent location. Absolutely lovely staff. Apartments are amazing and have everything you need. So much better than a hotel room! Don't bother looking anywhere else.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank H0llyE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We have really enjoyed having you to stay and are delighted that you enjoyed the apartments, not far from your work either!

I hope we continue to see you here at Old Town Chambers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Truly luxurious appartment in the Royal Mile. The location was superb. Stylish, clean, comfy beds, great shower, good kitchen. Couldn't hope for more. Thanks Mike for your lovely services. Would highly recommend these appartments even for a short city stay. Definately better choice than a hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Johanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the bed and shower. It is also super when staff get a mention and so Mike is delighted that you enjoyed the service he provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay if you like a meld of style and comfort.
The staff are friendly and very helpful.
Just took us a while to master the heating controls, despite being shown. I put that down to poor eyesight though!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your review and taking the time to post it, we do really appreciate your comments...just think, next time you come the heating and lighting with be easy!

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Amazing must stay apartments super clean fantastic views over Princess Park, extremely well appointed loft style apartment super comfy beds, nice touches fresh milk in fridge powerful hairdryer even ghds. Arrived Thursday 20/02/14 for surprise 18th birthday treat for my daughter for a girly night away. Very central location, Zizzis next door great food and service The Edinburgh Larder great breakfast The Dome great cocktails. Would highly recommend The Old Town Chambers staff are really helpful they stored our bags before check in and on checkout so we could enjoy hassle free shopping. 5 star Service and 5 star accommodation A Big Thank You from 4 very happy campers.

Room Tip: 1bed appartments have floor to ceiling glass doors with amazing views of new town and a balcony with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgrm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I must admit is brings a smile to all our faces when we read that all the little touches we have added are appreciated so much and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your daughter's birthday went so well. Our staff thrive on ensuring that your stay is everything you hoped it would be. I hope we will see you back before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,953 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Chambers

Address: Roxburgh's Court, 323 High Street | Off Mary King's Close, Edinburgh EH1 1LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $152 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Town Chambers 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’ve created an award-winning collection of luxury, serviced apartments that combine stylish design with all the benefits of home, where the great city location is the cherry on top. They are most definitely apartments done distinctively. Like home, but better. We’ve put some serious thought into designing apartments that not only encourage easy living, but look stunning from floor-to-ceiling. Whilst you kick off your shoes and settle in, we’ll quietly be beavering away in the background to ensure that all the important little details are taken care of – in a nutshell, it’s the best bits of hotel service with the added freedom of apartment living. Lateral City’s eclectic portfolio of apartments includes three distinct and rather magnificent properties. There’s Merchiston Residence, set in a leafy residential quarter, a short stroll from the city centre, 15th-century Old Town Chambers, just off Prince’s Street, and our newest jewel, The Edinburgh Grand, smack-bang in the beating heart of town. Unique and idiosyncratic in character they ooze the uncommon, but all share our passion for stylish design, contemporary features and ultra-modern technology. We don’t define your stay, we’re simply here to make it that bit more amazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Town Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Chambers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing