We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Old Town Chambers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Town Chambers
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here for our Annual Christmas shopping trip to Edinburgh, we had originally booked The Merchiston Residence and were upgraded due to a problem at those apartments. Boy were we pleased with the upgrade! The Apartments are amazing, spotlessly clean, huge lounge with a wireless Bose docking station, massive plasma tv, Nespresso coffee machine, Dualit toaster and kettle. We had a huge balcony with fabulous views of Princes Street. The bedrooms were tastefully decorated, fab bathrooms with expensive fittings. The only minor gripe is that it would have been nice to have a mirror next to the table in the bedroom, so I could have done my hair and make up sitting down. if you are reading this review because you are thinking about booking these apartments, then do it! You won't be disappointed, they are FANTASTIC

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank SpikeydogDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, although I promise you would have enjoyed Merchiston too! Thanks for the feedback on the mirror, these are on my list of things to purchase so I am sure the next time you visit you will find it there.
I hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

At the Chambers we had a beautiful room with wooden floors in a lovingly remodeled older building. For what seemed, for Edinburgh, to be a reasonable rate we had two bedrooms, two full baths, and a sitting room with a couch, nice dining table, large TV, and a modest but full kitchen. It was a great choice for a family of four. If I were renting a flat in Edinburgh I could only hope to find one this tastefully and comfortably designed!!

The location could not be more convenient—from Waverly Train Station (which is also where the bus from the airport arrives) you go up one long flight of stairs and it is near the top of those stairs. That makes it just steps off the Royal Mile, and also convenient to shops and restaurants on the other side of Waverly Station. And, of course, if you are doing day trips out of Edinburgh this is a great location for trains.

I have been fortunate to make 4 visits to Edinburgh in the last 18 months, and have stayed here and at the Missoni, the Royal Scotsman and the Fraser Suites. All have great locations near the Royal Mile and the train station, but I would give the nod to the Chambers for a family stay and in particular for the two bedroom suite with kitchen.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank StevenSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review about our apartments, it is always great to hear that our clients have enjoyed their stay and made the most of the location, which it sounds like you did!

Also great to hear that you would recommend us for other guests coming to stay, we certainly offer a lot of space and value for money.

I hope we see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Booked the Chambers for an overnight trip to Edinburgh with my Husband and 2 Sons. As the boys are 19 and 21 we like to have at least two rooms and as the Premier Inn was coming in at £120 for one room I decided to think out the box with an Apart Hotel. I'm so glad I did as our stay was fantastic! We has apt 13(which was lucky for us!) with a balcony view of the Scott Monument and the big wheel.....unfortunately the gale force winds didn't allow us a nice sit out!! There was tea and coffee supplied and even a pint of milk in the fridge, which was a nice touch. The lovely friendly concierge in the morning validated our Parking ticket (Edinburgh Waverly) and this brought our cost down from £19 to £13 for our 24 hour stay which was excellent. I would highly recommend these apartments and am already planning a return trip in a month I can enjoy the balcony.....mind you with the Scottish weather that may a bit of a lottery!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMrsFergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hello there, thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review, I am very glad you thought outside of the box too! When I spoke to you, as you left, it sounded like you had enjoyed your stay in spite of the weather! And great to hear that you took advantage of our parking discount. I hope we will see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a 3 bedroom and 1 night in a 1 bedroom apartment. They were both beautiful. The 3 BR looked over the Christmas market on Princes St. HUGE great room with high ceilings and brand new kitchen. Bathrooms were good sized and looked great. The 1 bedroom was just as nice, but the ceilings were normal height. The staff was very helpful. Keyless entry. We had or own special code to get into the building and our apartments. wifi was fast.
Only thing is there is no way to get there without going up or down stairs. It actually IS only 1 minute from the train station, but I would email them for the exact directions. It is tricky.
Overall great accomodations!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfamily01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to post this lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay and liked our keyless technology. It sounds like you had apartment 25, with the high vaulted ceiling and the views, always great, but particularly special at this time of view with the view over the Christmas Market. I hope we will see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is an absolute gem. I didn't realise when we booked it that this place had only opened in July.Just about the perfect location on the Royal Mile & the facilities are fantastic.Very comfortable modern rooms with just about every facility/convenience you could wish for.Within our group we booked 3 apartments & they were all great.The Scots tend to outdo us English on service & the service here is brilliant by any standard.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the ones we stayed in but 3/4/15 were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the apartments. Do come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a 2 bed apartment. Great quality furnishings, great space, fantastic large patio overlooking Princes St and the Scott monument - too cold to BBQ tho! Staff excellent - professional but really friendly and relaxed. Wonderful location for both old and new town. A few small insignificant teething problems (only been open a short while)...but should definitely include an option of feather pillows - the hypo-allergenic versions were not (for us) at all comfortable. The manageress was really receptive to comments we had and said she was considering introducing them next year. Fantastic place - if it maintains standards is definitely one we will continue to return to.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, may wish to ask for rooms overlooking the New Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redbaron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was great to meet you and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. As I said to you, your feedback is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We visited The Chambers for 2 nights on the 1st November as our work Christmas weekend away. We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment, to be very surprised when arriving that we had been upgraded to the Penthouse Suite for no reason at all, such a great gesture.

Rooms - The Penthouse Suite was located on the top floor, looking over Princes Street. It was incredible. 3 double rooms 2 en suite, the other one was near the main bathroom. The lounge area / dining area was fully equipped with everything you would need.

Location - It is situated in a great place, easy to walk to most local attractions, however there are a lot of steep steps to take into consideration around the hotel.

Staff - Staff were very friendly, when we had a light fuse they came and sorted it straight away. they were also very helpful when needing to print our boarding passes for our flight home.

A new hotel, which we would definitely recommend and return to.

Room Tip: When viewing the 1 bedroom apartment, this was still big enough for 4 people. 2 in the bedroom, 2 in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanSource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your trip and your upgrade. We are impressed, its very organised having a Christmas trip in November!

For our guests coming in December they will have amazing views over the Christmas market, and big wheel from the Penthouse and other apartments that are facing Princes Street, the Christmas lights are always beautiful.

We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,878 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Chambers

Address: Roxburgh's Court, 323 High Street | Off Mary King's Close, Edinburgh EH1 1LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $167 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Town Chambers 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’ve created an award-winning collection of luxury, serviced apartments that combine stylish design with all the benefits of home, where the great city location is the cherry on top. They are most definitely apartments done distinctively. Like home, but better. We’ve put some serious thought into designing apartments that not only encourage easy living, but look stunning from floor-to-ceiling. Whilst you kick off your shoes and settle in, we’ll quietly be beavering away in the background to ensure that all the important little details are taken care of – in a nutshell, it’s the best bits of hotel service with the added freedom of apartment living. Lateral City’s eclectic portfolio of apartments includes three distinct and rather magnificent properties. There’s Merchiston Residence, set in a leafy residential quarter, a short stroll from the city centre, 15th-century Old Town Chambers, just off Prince’s Street, and our newest jewel, The Edinburgh Grand, smack-bang in the beating heart of town. Unique and idiosyncratic in character they ooze the uncommon, but all share our passion for stylish design, contemporary features and ultra-modern technology. We don’t define your stay, we’re simply here to make it that bit more amazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Town Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Chambers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing