We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Town Chambers
Nearby Hotels
$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$211
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$146
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$121
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$116
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$137
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveler rating
948
144
32
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
948
144
32
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milefamily apartmentcowshed productsdevil's advocateangels with bagpipessmart tvshigh streetwasher dryergiles cathedralbluetooth speakernespresso machinefull kitchenkey codetwo bedroom apartmentthese apartmentsmary kingscockburn street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
980 - 985 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a 3 bedroom and 1 night in a 1 bedroom apartment. They were both beautiful. The 3 BR looked over the Christmas market on Princes St. HUGE great room with high ceilings and brand new kitchen. Bathrooms were good sized and looked great. The 1 bedroom was just as nice, but the ceilings were normal height. The staff was very helpful. Keyless entry. We had or own special code to get into the building and our apartments. wifi was fast.
Only thing is there is no way to get there without going up or down stairs. It actually IS only 1 minute from the train station, but I would email them for the exact directions. It is tricky.
Overall great accomodations!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfamily01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to post this lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay and liked our keyless technology. It sounds like you had apartment 25, with the high vaulted ceiling and the views, always great, but particularly special at this time of view with the view over the Christmas Market. I hope we will see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is an absolute gem. I didn't realise when we booked it that this place had only opened in July.Just about the perfect location on the Royal Mile & the facilities are fantastic.Very comfortable modern rooms with just about every facility/convenience you could wish for.Within our group we booked 3 apartments & they were all great.The Scots tend to outdo us English on service & the service here is brilliant by any standard.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the ones we stayed in but 3/4/15 were all great.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the apartments. Do come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a 2 bed apartment. Great quality furnishings, great space, fantastic large patio overlooking Princes St and the Scott monument - too cold to BBQ tho! Staff excellent - professional but really friendly and relaxed. Wonderful location for both old and new town. A few small insignificant teething problems (only been open a short while)...but should definitely include an option of feather pillows - the hypo-allergenic versions were not (for us) at all comfortable. The manageress was really receptive to comments we had and said she was considering introducing them next year. Fantastic place - if it maintains standards is definitely one we will continue to return to.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, may wish to ask for rooms overlooking the New Town
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redbaron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was great to meet you and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. As I said to you, your feedback is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We visited The Chambers for 2 nights on the 1st November as our work Christmas weekend away. We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment, to be very surprised when arriving that we had been upgraded to the Penthouse Suite for no reason at all, such a great gesture.

Rooms - The Penthouse Suite was located on the top floor, looking over Princes Street. It was incredible. 3 double rooms 2 en suite, the other one was near the main bathroom. The lounge area / dining area was fully equipped with everything you would need.

Location - It is situated in a great place, easy to walk to most local attractions, however there are a lot of steep steps to take into consideration around the hotel.

Staff - Staff were very friendly, when we had a light fuse they came and sorted it straight away. they were also very helpful when needing to print our boarding passes for our flight home.

A new hotel, which we would definitely recommend and return to.

Room Tip: When viewing the 1 bedroom apartment, this was still big enough for 4 people. 2 in the bedroom, 2 in the lounge on the sofa bed. Huge apartments, great value!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanSource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your trip and your upgrade. We are impressed, its very organised having a Christmas trip in November!

For our guests coming in December they will have amazing views over the Christmas market, and big wheel from the Penthouse and other apartments that are facing Princes Street, the Christmas lights are always beautiful.

We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Booked a two bedroom apartment. It is a new complex built in the 'alleyways' of Edinburgh so initially can be hard to find. Note that there are a number of stairs to contend with which you need to be mindful of when booking.

Overall was a very nice apartment but the WiFI was very poor along with the heating. One bedroom was very hot the rest of the apartment would not rise above 18oC.

A huge plus point is that from 12.30pm on Sat there is free on-street parking 2 mins away on St Giles Street which lasts until Mon am, outside Frasier Suites. Great if you are planning a weekend away.

It is walking distance from Edinburgh Castle plus very easy to get to Waverley Bridge from where all the bus tours start.

If the sort the heating and WiFi out would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite comes with a Sofa bed so can accommodate 4 adults and two children
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SinghUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to hear you had issues with the WIFI and heating. I would be grateful if you could email me on Julie@thechambersedinburgh.co.uk and let me know the date you arrived and the apartment in which you stayed so I can sort out these issues.

Our WIFI is actually a leased line from BT with a huge capacity. As it is uncontended our WIFI should be much faster than normal broadband and so your details will allow me to resolve the issue.

As you know from staying here our heating is a multi zone system and so once again I am sorry you had these issues, when I hear from you I will be able to sort out the issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews