We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Town Chambers
Nearby Hotels
$503
$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$204
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$239
$163
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$227
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$168
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$185
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveler rating
952
144
32
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
952
144
32
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milefamily apartmentcowshed productsdevil's advocateangels with bagpipessmart tvshigh streetwasher dryergiles cathedralbluetooth speakernespresso machinefull kitchenkey codetwo bedroom apartmentthese apartmentsmary kingscockburn street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
999 - 1,004 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We could not have been more pleased with this hotel. The location is perfect, just steps from Waverley station where the Airport Express bus stops. It is tucked in a courtyard and there are a number of stairs to climb to access the property and steps within as well. The apartments were clean and had the most up to date appliances and baths; all sparkling. The views from our apartment over Princes Street were wonderful. Great value when everything is taken into account. Gaia and all the staff were helpful and exceeded our expectations. We were there when the weather was cooler and so did not need A/C. I would want air conditioning in hotter weather. The Chambers was a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wjblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are always delighted to receive them and to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were the highlight of your trip. Gaia is also very excited to receive a mention!

We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The suite was clean with two TVs, proper shower, and great kitchen. The quality firm bed and pillows made for a good night of rest. We loved the location in the heart of the Old City right off The Royal Mile. The staff were very helpful and room was cleaned daily. Highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hello there

Thank you for taking the time to post a review it really is very much appreciated. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the beds, we tried a lot until we found the one and I am glad to hear that everything was as you hoped. We are looking forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in apartment 20 (a two bed apartment) for two nights. It was only a 20min taxi ride from Edinburgh airport (£20) and very easy to find. There is a bit of a small steep slope down an alleyway and quite a few steps before you reach The Chambers and therefore those with certain disabilities or a lot of luggage may have a bit of trouble. However don't be put off as The Chambers offers an amazing stay in the heart of Edinburgh.

These 5 star apartments certainly have the wow factor. Beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and incredibly modern appliances. Our apartment offered a wonderful view of Edinburgh in a perfectly central location. Directly opposite St Giles Cathedral, a ten minute walk to Edinburgh Castle and directly on the door step of a multitude of restaurants and shops.

We received a warm welcome by reception (when we checked in at 10pm), The staff were always happy to help and made us feel valued. Thank you to Chloe and Richard who were incredibly kind and helpful.

The apartment itself was immaculate. Very spacious and with premium fittings. The beds were deliciously comfortable and the kitchen kitted out with all the mod cons. There was some street noise during the night, but that is to be expected from being in such a central location. I am aware some have complained about the light fittings but they are very simple to use and there are clear instructions in the welcome pack (which also explains how to use the oven, coffee machine, etc.)

A fabulous stay and I would certainly recommend to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank natural_glow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hello there Natural Glow
Thank you so much for your lovely review, Chloe and Richard are blushing as I write! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all that Edinburgh has to offer. I hope very much that we will see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here with overseas family member for a) it's 5* rating, b) its location and c) value & flexibility (over 5* hotel) and, as a modern development within a historic area of the city, it very nearly ticked all those boxes. For many (as per other reviews) it would be 'perfect' on all counts but if you're fussy, or a little older (like us) there's a few things you might want to know:

There was only ever 1 member of staff on duty in the small reception area and whilst extremely courteous and helpful, they can't provide the basis services you'd expect in a 5* venue. (If you can't carry heavy bags up and down a lot of steps - don't go!)
Whilst the furniture and finish in the Apts. is indeed modern and 'high tech', there are elements of poor design, notably: very high beds with low bedside tables, confusing light switch arrangements (some dim but not where you want them to), windows that open inwards (difficult with the heavy curtains - including in the shower room where the large window wasn't 'frosted glass!) and the absence of Air Conditioning - it was 16C outside during our stay, but we needed windows open all day to avoid it getting stuffy - we had to close them at night to avoid noise disturbance from the city and its night life.
Lots of other minor issues but as the title suggests, if you're fit and want a modern, high tech, spacious apartment in a central and historic part of town, you'd probably go a long way to better it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGBA9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hi there
Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review, it is always good to hear feedback. Being based in the centre of the old town of Edinburgh, there was little we can do about the steps, however we do advise guests to come down Warriston's Close, past Real Mary King's Close, where there are only 4 sets of 5 steps (with ramps in between) and then 8 up to our reception.
I would be grateful if you could tell me which apartment you stayed in to check the other issues, all our bathroom doors are frosted, so if you have a minute I would be grateful if you could please email me on Julie@thechambersedinburgh.co.uk.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A hidden very new and modern apartment style accomodation in the heart of old Edinburgh. Well appointed, with state of the art techno inclusions. Perfect for two couples or families. Good service from reception and nothing was too much trouble. Great value. The only downside was parking was some distance away, however the Chambers have an arrangement with a local parking station.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Old Town Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hello there

Thanks so much for writing this review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Parking in Edinburgh generally can be an issue, however our deal with a local car park is a good solution, we hope, and as we are so central, once you have dropped of your car you shouldn't need it for the rest of your stay.

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews