We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A superb house which accommodated 10 families...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
15 bedrooms are available for upto 40 guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
30 reviews
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
15 bedrooms are available for upto 40 guests
The huge dining table for large guest numbers.
A short walk away and you will find a water fall and 100's of acres of woods to explore!
The Bridal suite
The piano is for guests to play - if you can!
Beautiful winter holiday home, at the Edinburgh self catering house
relax at the Edinburgh self catering house
Almost all the rooms have ensuite facilities.
The meadow for the games
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
12 Bedrooms, 14 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FamilyAll...
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A superb house which accommodated 10 families with ease.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Kirkhill Mansion house for 3 nights over New Year. The house is spacious and grand and suited our requirements as a group of friends with our young children. The setting is beautiful and the grounds are great for exploring. The kitchen is well equipped and allowed us to cater for our large group. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. We had a fantastic 3 days here and I would highly recommend it to other large groups.

4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we're delighted that you and the family had such a great New Year at the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsH2014
Preston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for large group of young families”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

What a beautiful setting! We had a fantastic long weekend at this venue. Good sized rooms with a really homely atmosphere. we chose self catering and were happy to find a great big kitchen that served all 34 of us well. The bedrooms were clean and tidy with big comfy beds. It was easy to find and set within its own extensive grounds. Thank you for having us Kirkhill Mansion, we ll be back!

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you. It means so much to all the team at the house that you had a fabulous time! And we would love you to come back and stay next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma R
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous House in a great location”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a great short break in Scotland for New Year staying at The Mansion House.

From the moment we were told to treat the house as our own...with a group of 37 including 18 kids that's exactly what we did!! Accommodation was perfect for our group, location great just 9 miles from City and 2 miles from nearest Spa (!!)

Rooms were great and communal areas perfect for what we needed..

Cannot wait to return for 2014!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam G
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“***Stag Weekend Extravaganza***”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Bank Holiday Weekend - August 2013.
- I organised my brothers stag for 26 of our pals and we stayed at Kirkhill just last weekend. I can only say it was absolutely fantastic!

It was Festival weekend and the house was absolutely perfect for what we were looking for. A self catering manor house with games room, large lounge / chill out area and grounds overlooking the beautiful Scottish countryside. I found the house through Adventure connections (Justin) and whilst it does need a makeover it's still a fantastic base/property. We had a huge food and drink order and the guys at Kirkhill filled the fridges before we arrived, coaches were organised to take us into town (35 mins) and on the Saturday we did clay pigeon and highland games followed up by an amazing BBQ in the grounds of Kirkhill (beer can chicken and angus beef burgers).

We visited the local pub on the Sunday (SunInn) and then back into Edinburgh on the Sunday before flying back to London. Dave and the guys at Kirkhill were great and accommodated our every wish. I have been on close to 20 stags in recent years and I may be biased but it was well up there! An epic weekend and for a large stag I cant recommend it highly enough.

4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 3 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iles7
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic base to enjoy Scotland”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner stayed here a few years ago and had one of the best holidays we have had. It was reasonably priced and the food was fantastic. The staff were very very friendly and always happy to help. The room was huge and very luxurious and the grounds were beautiful and full of wildlife. A little slice of Scottish heaven.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 3 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesdjaw...
1 review
“A weekend that will be fondly remembered.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I stayed here with my husband back in May and we had a very good time. I can't really fault the hotel at all.

The room we had was upstairs, the staircase is very grand and makes a great impression as you arrive. Once we had checked in with a nice man called Dave, we were taken up to our room on the right at the top of the stairs. The view was outstanding. Green fields and trees as far a you could see. In fact, the next day, when the weather was better, you could see the hills right in the distance, I really was nice.

The only thing that I would mention is that unless up have your own car it might be quite a long way to get into the city centre. Although I am sure that the staff could arrange a taxi for you. We ate in town during our stay so cannot comment on any food served, but we were always met with a welcoming smile and I am sure if we had of eaten there it would have been fine.

Apart from that, nothing else to say really, we had a lovely weekend and would go back if we wanted a quiet weekend away.

4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
3 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$1,760
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing