We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Gelato.”
Review of Affogato

Affogato
Ranked #11 of 62 Dessert in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: West End
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Delicious Gelato.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We passed this café on the way to the city centre and were pleasantly surprised. (It is just off Princes Street, near the castle end. Well worth the effort.)
The flavours were fantastic. I'm not a big ice cream eater but this was too good to pass. I had two selections. The pear & amaretto and the fig & ricotta. Both were absolutely delicious. My husband ordered the marzipan and the vanilla. Neither of us were disappointed. It didn't even matter that it was a cold and blustery day! We enjoyed the flavours on our walk around the city streets.
I've not tasted such lovely gelato since our holiday in Sorrento last summer. The selection of flavours is wonderful. Hopefully when we return to Edinburgh we will be able to try some more. Excellent value at only £2.50 per tub, with your choice of two of their wide selection of flavours.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    29
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazingly yummy”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We visited here on recommendation from a friend and wow the ice cream was amazing. We shared a large with 5 scoops..hazelnut, fig&ricotta, white choc&passionfruit, toffee pecan and amaretto pear..divine!

Lovely people, great price and ice cream like no other.. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundtheworldscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Ice cream from another world.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

3rd visit. Went in yesterday. Medium tub - £3 - 3 massive scoops, 3 different flavours. Enough for 2 to share or one greedy person! Rose & Cream, Fig & Ricotta & Valrhona Dark Chocolate Manjari. Different class.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“No better ice-cream anywhere in Edinburgh - GO!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is an innocuous looking cafe at the top end of Queensferry Road in central Edinburgh. It specialises in fine Italian coffee and home made ice creams, and of course affogato (ice cream drowned in espresso). There are also a lovely selection of small cakes and sweet treats to sample - 3 for £2 - which are a bargain.

Affogato offers a selection of around 20 ice creams and sorbets all made on the premises and including a wide variety of classic Italian flavours (pistachio, stracciatella) and some funky new ones such as salted caramel. They even make low fat, low sugar dog friendly sorbets too!

The cafe has a combination of sofas, tables and chairs. It is dog friendly, so a real find if you like to take your pooch out on lovely walks with you then have a coffee before returning home. The resident dog is welcoming and the owners very engaging.

Great coffee; great cakes; great outlook on dogs and fantastic ice cream. Just GO!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little gem for weary travellers.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wanting a quick afternoon tea/coffee we called into this little cafe, and we were so glad that we did. The staff were so genuinely friendly and helpful and the gelato that we were persuaded to have was unbelievably good. The prices shocked us a bit - how do they expect to make a living with such low charges? We both really enjoyed our visit and I hope that the cafe continues to attract the support it deserves.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinC683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Affogato also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Affogato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing