We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nice flat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of New Town Apartment

One double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One double bedroom
Edinburgh's New Town Comfortable living room with bedsofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
53 reviews
One double bedroom
Edinburgh's New Town
Comfortable living room with bedsofa
Private garden with seating area
Livingroom with free wifi
Fully equipped kitchen
Cosy apartment
Bedroom
Outdoor seating area
New Town main door apartment
Shower room
Access from the street via stairs
Hallway
New town garden flat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
daniela s
Venice, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice flat”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

we are just back from Scotland very nice country , the flat in edinburgh was perfect for our needs , clean confortable and with garden good thing because the weather was very good all week .thanks a million we'll be back !!
daniela

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Hi Daniela & friends,
Thank you so much for your review of Cumberland street, so pleased you enjoyed and yes please do come again,be great to have you back, kind regards,Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem.”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A real gem of an apartment.
Communication with the owner Sylvie was first class prior to arriving and throughout our stay there.
On arrival the owner had left us a fresh loaf of bread,bottled water in the fridge,fresh milk, etc (a real nice touch)
The apartment is 10 mins walk to the city centre.
The apartment is a real home from home, very private and quiet, with a lovely secluded garden.
We will most definitely stay here again in the near future.

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Hi Rick, sorry for my delay in responding to you great review, thank you very much, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cumberland street, would've lovely to welcome you back some day, best wishes, Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve p
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The location is peacefull, clean and very private.
The flat as a amazing large mirror in the hallway which reflects the whole accommodation for two people, would highly recommend and definitely stay there again.
The owners are very informative and welcoming to there quests.

Local pub is in the same street which is very nice offering meals.
A 10 minute walk to main shops and start of attractions, which are amazing !
We found the local people to be very friendly and helpfull thoughout Edinburgh

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Hi Steve,
Sorry for my delay in getting back to you, big thank you for lovely review, it's good you like the mirror we bought it up north in an antique shop before we had bought the flat!! So we were really happy it fitted in the hall , just, anyway please come back you are most welcome, best wishes, Sylvie & Jaime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherylbla...
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous location.”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely apartment, fully equipped with everything you need, very comfortable.
Easy walking distance to trams & buses, and only a mile or so to some of the local attractions like Edinburgh Castle & The Edinburgh Dungeons.
Convenient to shop for food at local shops.
Loved it.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
Hi Cheryl,
thank you so much for leaving me a lovely review appreciate you taking time out to this, please consider us again if you ever are returning to Edinburgh, kind regards, Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie_ho...
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A 'Real' Edinburgh Experience”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Located about 10 minutes from Princes Street (add another couple to walk up the hill), New Town Apartment in Cumberland Street is a perfect venue for the 'real' Edinburgh experience.

For the train traveller (like me) it is not to far from Edinburgh Waverly, and there are no tricky parts to navigate on the way (a BIG plus!)

The walk back to the city via Dundas Street is pleasant (although the locals seem to climb the hill faster than I can!)

On arrival at the apartment I find a tastefully redecorated Georgian retreat. Sylvie has left lots of goodies in the kitchen for me to enjoy, including fresh bread and milk (much appreciated!) The kitchen has everything I need - including a front loading washing machine. The bathroom is well equipped with a superb shower unit. The bedroom is generous for space and the bed quite comfortable.

The apartment is heated by radiation which comes on during the evening and morning, keeping everything really comfortable.

I have really enjoyed staying at Sylvie's New Town Apartment, and if I have the opportunity to return to Edinburgh, I will certainly look to stay here again, if available.

Thank you so much Sylvie.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Hi Marlene,
Thank you for such a lovely review, I appreciate you taking time to do this for me, very kind of you, glad you liked your Cumberland street stay and would be very happy to welcome you to stay again, best wishes, Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen s
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My experience”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Excellent contact prior to arrival from owner Sylvie. Really warm welcome on arrival to property. Fresh bread, milk and bottled water left nice little touch. Location is nice and quiet away from hustle and bustle. Ten minute walk from princes street and beginning of main attractions bus and train station. This is a basement property and although not a problem for us could be for someone with mobility issues as there are steep steps going down to property. A plus point is exclusive use of a small secluded garden Owner very helpful leaving mobile number should you need anything.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thank you for review Karen, appreciate taking time to do this, it was lovely to meet you and your husband if you ever venture back I will be sure to have a map in place or may even join you for a tipple down leith! Best wishes, Sylvie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explore69...
1 review
“Perfect for two”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very cosy and interesting decoration! Good location.Lovely garden.
The loaf of bread that was waiting for us was so delicious!!
I´ll be definitely back one day :-)

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing