We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All style with no substance.”
Review of Angels Share Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Angels Share Hotel
Ranked #103 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All style with no substance.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked this hotel as a base for two nights whilst we opened a new store in Edinburgh. First off it's a really awkward hotel and it's difficult to even locate reception! We booked 7 rooms but when we arrived on the first night there was only one room booked! The receptionist assured us she was trying to get to the bottom of this problem and asked the first member of our party to wait in the bar. No complementary drink was offered to her for the inconvenience. I arrived and asked for them to supply some comp'd drinks as we were now essentially homeless.

They did agree to this and we waited in the bar, and waited and waited and waited. Two hours later they managed to send three of our party to another hotel a 10 minute cab journey away and then the remaining 4 people had to share one hotel room for the night as it was now 10.45pm and there was nowhere else to go.

Once in the room the two extra people were on roll out beds, which essentially would be fine for children but two grown women, not so much! One had a massive divot in the middle of it which caused my colleague some pain in the morning. The window only opened very slightly, which isn't the best when there are four people in a room sleeping. the room it's self, is by no means a "boutique" it felt very cheaply finished and almost ikea like. There was a picture frame with the room service menu in it covering a fuse box and it all just felt a bit tacky.

We were promised before we went to bed that the two in the roll out beds would be given a room at their sister hotel LeMonde the following night. So we left at 6am as planned and went to work with our luggage. At lunchtime we decided to go and drop our bags in LeMonde to save us keeping them at work. When we got to LeMonde we were informed that we would be staying at Angels Share as they were fully booked and Angels Share had a last minute cancellation. So back in a taxi to drop pour bags off at the hotel we had just left in the morning!

When we got back upstairs to reception the manager was extremely rude, defensive and informed us it wasn't her fault it was Expedias fault or our travel agents fault. Regardless of the fact of whose fault it was we had been inconvenienced so much and we were their customers after all. We felt like we were the ones in the wrong! There was no apology offered and we were then shown to our secondry room, which was worse than the first! Cables hanging out the wall with a missing plug socket, another picture hiding a fuse box, a sliding door to the bathroom which was slack and the top hadn't seen a duster in a while, again, ikea esk and very cheaply finished.

The bar and restaurant downstairs are lovely but upstairs is horrendous. I would never set foot in it again as a hotel guest and for the prices that they charge I wouldn't even contemplate it.

No compensation was offered the only thing we got was the dinner and drinks the previous night, which I had to ask for!

There are so many hotels in Edinburgh offering "Boutique Service" Angels Share should take a leaf out of thier sister hotels book as some of these competitors will surely take up their market share!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raelovesshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Our aim is to exceed customer expectations and we are sorry that your experience was not as you had expected. it is very dissapointing when situations like this arise and our aim is always to deal with the matter as swiftly and efficiently as possible regardless as to where the fault lies. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you wish to discuss the situation in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    134
    83
    26
    14
See reviews for
33
244
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying if you havent been to Angels share your missing out.
The bar and resaruant area are lovely, seating is mixed between booths & bar stools.
I was lucky enough to be at the launch night. Where I got to sample mini cocktails & selections of food. We also got a tour of some of the bedrooms whitch like the bar area has photos of scotish artists.
The staff are very attentive & know their stuff eg cocktails etc
I have been lots of times, for midweek dinner & last week for Sunday roast
Whitch was great.
They offer drinks deals Monday to Thursday so you can go for drinks after work without breaking the bank. Theres also a late night bar open untill 3am every night.
Not stayed out till then yet lol
If you are visiting Edinburgh it is worth a visit for food, drinks or an over nights stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieinkster831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! We are very much a destination venue as you have described with our bar, restaruant and late night venue not to mention our 30 themed bedrooms. We agree ' well worth a visit '. Our cocktails and food have had great reviews so far and the hotel has been full to the brim! All we need now is a visit from one of our famous Scots!

Thank you once again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while attending a conference.
Location is good, close to Princes's Street and most city centre attractions and easy access to Murrayfield and the zoo.
Entering the hotel through the restaurant and taking the lift to find the reception is a bit odd, but not a major inconvenience. The rooms are described as deluxe, but are not really in that league. I was assigned 102 ("Sean Connery") which is directly opposite the lift and reception, so very noisy -the wood floors are nice, but every footstep and suitcase in reception transmits directly into the room!. Also a lot of traffic noise from the main road outside, but I guess to be expected in a city centre hotel.
The room was spacious but some basic design flaws - tiny clothes storage with hanging rail but no usable shelving/drawers, tiny safe deposit box at floor level (really awkward to access), electrical sockets either behind the bed or under the desk, so plugging in laptop, kettle etc awkward, low wattage lighting giving a generally dreary look to the room. Bathroom spacious but with a tiny sink at just above knee level, so really uncomfortable to use (maybe it's a wheelchair accessible facility, but if so should be stated at check in because it was really irritating).
On the plus side, the staff were helpful and friendly, the bar was good and lively, and the breakfast was tasty.
Would I stay here again ? probably not as the noise and the irritating things about the room would put me off.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102 if you book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammyhybrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our location is indeed perfect with everything you could wish for on your doorstep. We have tried to be a little quirky in our design as we feel this sets us apart from other 'chain' hotels. We have 3 room types ; standard, superior and deluxe - all rooms have egyptian cotton sheets, complimentary toiletries and fluffy dressing gowns as standard. We have just opened after extensive refurbishment and really value all feedback.

Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was great fun checking out all the rooms as they are named after famous scottish people. Ranging from the Gerard Butler room to the Paolo Nutini room. Bar was gorgeous and so was the restaurant. Staff were really friendly and always willing to help. Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsM333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wouldn't normally stay in a high end and expensive hotel, but stayed here as part of the itison deal so the value for money was great.

We stayed in the Kirsty Hume room, which was very spacious, the furnishings were gorgeous, the decor was lovely and fresh, the bed was huge and really comfy, and the bath was the deepest bath I've ever seen and was great! This room was on the 4th floor so we weren't disrupted by noise from the street or club...we kept the window open overnight and weren't bothered by noise....I've seen this has been an issue for a lot of people who have been reviewing.

We tried to phone down for room service to get our free glass of fizz sent up, but we couldn't get through. Instead we went to the bar to get it, where the staff were lovely. We did feel a bit out of place in the bar...we arrived at 6pm and it was full of 5 o'clockers having a drink after work (but that's not the hotels fault).

The bar and restaurant themselves are gorgeous, loved all the pictures and the whisky display in the restaurant. Lovely breakfast as well!

Only thing I would say is the hotel reception is in a very strange place (you have to go into the restaurant and then up one floor before you get to the reception). We would never have found it ourselves, but one of the bartenders was really helpful and took us to the lift.

Also, I phoned to book the hotel and the receptionist was quite rude...however all the staff we spoke to were great so it didn't put me off!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ks8550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our reception is based on the first floor of the hotel and is rather quirky! Our staff are all trained to approach guests on arrival and personally show them to reception. We take all feedback very seriously and thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us. We do hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night following a wedding in Edinburgh.
The location is great and very central. Even better, they have a fantastic bar/restaurant downstairs that is quite cool and had a piano man when we were there on a Sunday.
The food was good and the staff very helpful.
The rooms themselves are great, like other reviewers I think its recently been done up. We got the Rod Stewart room, very bright, great furnishings and clean. Although not sure about the flooring. Again the staff were very helpful. FYI - they have a late check out for those staying Saturday night, so if you arrive on a Sunday you can't get into your room until 2pm.
The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need, the hotel also has free wifi.
Only grumble we had was the location of power sockets around the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't open out onto the lift and reception area. I was woken up by people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMacL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel has indeed just undergone extensive refurbishment and the Rod Stewart room has been a big hit so far! Check In is 2pm daily and check out 11am this gives us the required time to get all of the rooms cleaned and checked for arrival. We are always happy to store luggage for people on day of departure also.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review. We hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Myself and my friend stayed here for a birthday treat, bought via an Itison deal. Thankfully we had the deal as I would have been very disappointed had I paid full price for this hotel. Don't get me wrong, the bar and eating area is very nice but our deluxe room left a lot to be desired. The room itself was very spacious, but had a dusty badly scratched floor, no bin apart from in the bathroom, and looked out onto an extremely noisy lane. I've seen hotels in other towns with warnings of noise in the vicinty on their website, and this hotel should definitely do the same. From 5.30am the noise was constant - bin emptying, shop deliveries, bottle disposal. Would put me off staying here again. When we mentioned this on checking out we were told it is because it is a city centre hotel. Ive stayed in other city centre hotels and have never heard anything like it. Also, we had no towels, and were advised this was because we checked in early - check in was 2pm and we checked in at 1.58. We had no regular tea or teacakes as advertised, perhaps a petty observation, but when such things are mentioned you expect them to be there. When I picked up one of the complimentary dressing gowns I found it to be dirty with make up or fake tan. Mentioned this also on checking out but no apology, jusr defensive excuses. Not great for a deluxe room. The staff serving food and drinks were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent - saving grace from an otherwise disappointing stay. I've given 3 out of 5 for value, but purely because we had a deal. Don't think I'll be rushing back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisethecatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. The room you stayed in was the Gavin and Scott hastings room which is indeed a deluxe room - very spacious with a super king size bed. Check in time is 2pm this enables us to get all rooms cleaned and then checked by a supervisor to ensure that everything is up to standard before a guest arrives. We always strive to get guests into a room early when requested and I apologise that on this occassion some items were missing from your room as a result. This was immediately brought to our attention and all missing items swiftly brought up. I am pleased that you had a good time in the bar and do hope to welcome you back to the Angels Share again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#74 of 148 in Edinburgh
794 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,059 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 148 in Edinburgh
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#66 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,076 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 148 in Edinburgh
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Share Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Share Hotel

Property: Angels Share Hotel
Address: 7- 11 Hope Street, Edinburgh EH2 4EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angels Share Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of the Angels Share boutique Hotel in Edinburgh combines the pulse of the city at your fingertips yet with famous Edinburgh's leafy avenues a mere stroll away. From the sanctuary of this 4 Star Hotel in Edinburgh to the lively Angels Share bar and ambient Devils Cut nightclub, our focus is to provide you with an unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Angels Share Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Share Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing