We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food & friendly service”
Review of Blackfriars Restaurant - CLOSED

Blackfriars Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $52
Cuisines: American, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Food & friendly service”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just had one of the nicest meals while visiting Edinburgh. Small menu, but for us it was reassuring, as it meant all the food was freshly prepared & cooked. Very friendly and helpful service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    63
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Very tasty”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great lunch in Blackfriars, the fried egg and black pudding was amazing as was flat iron steak and then there was their homemade soda bread which is to die for and I may be mistaken but I am sure the butter was homemade too which just made the soda bread taste even better, to be honest worth a visit for the soda bread, just in case I am not getting my point across the soda bread is the best I have ever tasted

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pammy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FOOD AT BLACKFRIARS EDINBURGH”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Read a really great review in The Sunday herald on Blackfriars in Edinburgh, turned up at the restaurant on Saturday night with out a booking and ended up in the bar. Great little place. The bar staff are lovely, very efficient and friendly. The food is delicious, try the Hake fritters, the Malbec wine is delightful. Will go back at some time and try the restaurant. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamiltsglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick drink?”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were meeting friends for a drink and decided to meet in the bar - it was lovely, bright and welcoming. We ended up staying for 5 hours! Good but pricey wine. We ordered several bar snack items - they were all tasty, although the cheese was served straight from the fridge which spoilt it slightly.
Next time we will eat in the restaurant as I'm sure the full meals will be just as tasty

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank be_full
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It's ok. Bit pricey. Nothing special”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Small bistro setting, but plenty of room between tables. Staff very friendly and efficient.

We ate here during the Festival so I'm unsure whether the menu is typical (choice from about 5 starters and five mains). The number of options should not have been an issue - many restaurants where cooking is taken seriously offer a similar number of options. But we found it difficult to find something that interested us. In the end, I had the hake and my companion the rib-eye steak. Both cooked well.

But what took the gloss off the meal was the cost and portion-sizes. £23 for a small rib-eye, almost £7 for small glass sauvignon blanc. Earlier in the week I'd spent a few nights in a four-star hotel at Marble Arch, London - these are the outrageous prices they changed!

The server did ask if everything was to our liking and I did, as polity and courteously as I could, provide my honest view: menu did not provide sufficient choice, portions too small and too expensive for this type of eatery in Edinburgh. "I just work here" was the reply. And that was that.

So, sorry guys, we won't be back. There are many good restaurants in Edinburgh that provide good food and service at reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank commuter_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackfriars Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing