We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful”
Review of Wood's Deli - CLOSED

Wood's Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $26
Cuisines: British, Delicatessen, Scottish
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Went with friends for an evening meal. Lovely atmosphere, Friendly helpful staff & great tasting food. What more could you say? :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a_star_is_born_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    22
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy, welcoming, lovely food.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a lovely romantic dinner here at the end of August 2013. I had previously been in for lunch (always very busy) and really enjoyed the food and the feel of the place so decided to book for my upcoming wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere changed from a bustling, bright lunchtime venue into a cosy, romantic dimly lit venue complete with fairy lights. We shared a platter of wonderful cured meats and olives all expertly described by the knowledgeable owner who had sourced them himself from throughout Europe. Followed this up with beautifully cooked duck and then lemon curd ice cream. Staff were very friendly but not intrusive. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely local restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We visited Wood's Deli for the first time for dinner on Saturday evening and were not disappointed. The atmosphere, on a cold wet night was cosy, the food delicious and the service professional but friendly. Will definitely visit again and recommend it to anyone who asks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would not go back”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were looking forward to having dinner here after reading the reviews, food was ok but very over priced. Seating looked as if it had not been cleaned since it opened.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food served in a friendly/relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Lovely home made soup served with fresh warm tomato bread followed by a chicken n avocado salad (freshly made)...... Nice n relaxed n lovely to see them doing so well.... Definitely recommend and will be back soon ... Thanks for opening locally it's great !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood's Deli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing