We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A part of Spain in Edinburgh”
Review of Lasal

Lasal
Ranked #306 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Spanish restaurant in Edinburgh, " Best Mediterranean Establishment Scotland 2014 " (#FoodAwardsScotland). Lasal is that little restaurant were you can enjoy real Spanish cousine in a warm and relaxed atmosphere. Visit us and enjoy the typical Spanish tapas, starters, from the Sea, from the Garden and from the Field. We serve set menu dinner, pre-theatre and lunch menu. Our food is elaborated with the most selected products. Spanish tortilla de patatas, calamares, paella, cured ham, selection of Spanish wines, Sangrias, national beers and much more...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A part of Spain in Edinburgh”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I´m spanish and I was missing my mum food until I found this hidden small restaurant. I can say that the food is homemade and delicious. When you come inside you can notice the relax atmosphere and a fantastic service. They have a great menu of the day deal. 2 courses and a dessert for 7,50 pounds.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jihotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Owner at Lasal, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your review. We apologize for taking so long to reply. Your feedback is very important to us. We hope to see you soon again at Lasal Restaurant in Edinburgh and in the meantime we would like to invite you to follow our Facebook page Lasaledinburgh.

Best regards

Carlos & Mariola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    50
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Tapas bar in south side backstreet Edinburgh”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Small cosy tapas bar in Howden Street. Varied menu. Nice food. Friendly, pleasant atmosphere. Good value for money. Flamenco dancing through the back. A small pice of Spain in Southside, Edinburgh

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stallion20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Owner at Lasal, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your review. We apologize for taking so long to reply. Your feedback is very important to us. We hope to see you soon again at Lasal Restaurant in Edinburgh and in the meantime we would like to invite you to follow our Facebook page Lasaledinburgh.

Best regards

Carlos & Mariola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very recommended”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

i've been there yestarday with my wife. A Spanish friend told us about this place. good service, great atmoshere, very good food

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Owner at Lasal, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your review. We apologize for taking so long to reply. Your feedback is very important to us. We hope to see you soon again at Lasal Restaurant in Edinburgh and in the meantime we would like to invite you to follow our Facebook page Lasaledinburgh.

Best regards

Carlos & Mariola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You could be in Barcelona ...”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We discovered this tapas restaurant by accident last summer and have been several times since. It has a super tapas menu, divided into meat/fish/veg-based options, all packed with flavour. We find that 2 each plus one extra is fine for lunch or a light supper. Service is friendly and helpful, and the restaurant is a gathering-place for Spanish residents in Edinburgh, so is quite lively.

The drinks list is fairly basic, and the beer is probably better than the house wine.

Flamenco evenings are held regularly and you can book a table in the dance studio to watch the dancers while you eat.

Parking is easy and it is very handily located for Festival Fringe-goers attending shows in the Pleasance complex on the south side of Edinburgh.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeronScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Owner at Lasal, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your review. We apologize for taking so long to reply. Your feedback is very important to us. We hope to see you soon again at Lasal Restaurant in Edinburgh and in the meantime we would like to invite you to follow our Facebook page Lasaledinburgh.

Best regards

Carlos & Mariola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lasal also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Lasal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing