We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Assolutamente Meraviglioso ! (Absolutely Marvellous)”
Review of Luigi's Ristorante - CLOSED

Luigi's Ristorante
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Assolutamente Meraviglioso ! (Absolutely Marvellous)”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After a tiring drive north from Preston to Edinburgh & rushing to see an exhibition at the Botanic Gardens before they closed, our host at our B&B (Ashlyn House on Inverleith Row) recommended this Italian Restaurant, just a 10 minute walk away.
Had a warm, friendly & cheerful welcome from Nino, the waiter on duty. Our mains - Veal Escalope Romano & Veal Escalope Milanese, with vegs & sautéed new potatoes, were beautifully cooked, delicious, & we had 2 glasses of House Red wine. Sweets - home made Panna Cotta (with Drambuie in them) - made by Nino himself - & can honestly say the best Pannacottas we have ever had anywhere - even in Italy!!!! Our total bill only £65, including Coffees & Amaretto liqueurs, & a Martini aperitif. The restaurant is exactly like a homely Trattoria in any small Italian town or city suburb - totally unpretentious, comfortable, simple décor - which allows the food & drink to speak for itself. Excellent food, excellent service & delightful atmosphere. The added bonus was being able to listen to the fabulous 1960's Italian music & songs. Nino & I remembered them all, & we sang along! A lovely end to a hectic day, which completely revived our flagging spirits. Would highly recommend it, & we'll be back again next time we're in Edinburgh. Thanks to all, especially Nino, at "Luigi's".

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VETTRIANISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Probably my favourite Restaurant in Edinburgh!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've been to this restaurant a number of times either with my partner, family or with a group of friends and it's consistently good.

Every time I've been the service is fantastic, the staff are so friendly and each time they make you feel very welcome without being in your face which can happen in some Italian restaurants.

The food is great, I've never had a bad meal there it's always tasty, fresh and great value for money. There's plenty to chose from on the food and wine menu, lots of traditional dishes and they've always got some specials on. Wine of the month is usually a great choice.

This is probably my favourite restaurant in Edinburgh! Don't be put off by the exterior because inside it's a little gem and you won't regret going in!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely traditional italian restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our first visit to this little local Italian restaurant but what a lovely surprise.
We've passed it many times and thought it might be good but never found the opportunity.
Today we made the effort and had a lovely surprise. It was very traditional and very good. My aubergine parmigiana was superb but my wife's simple garlic mushrooms were even better. We both had pasta dishes for mains and both were very good.
Best of all was the desserts my tiramisu was stunning but again my wife's choice was the best pannacotta either of us had ever had.
Overall we had a lovely time with very good service and superb food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, value and service”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Do you remember Italian restaurants before the chains took over? Well, this is the genuine article as I remember it. We came after a disappointing show and left with our spirits restored. Good pizza and pasta, good service too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterfile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Staff were lovely and eager to please, food was average and order was mixed up so we didnt all get our main courses at the same time which was disappointing. Bill was inexpensive for family of four but get what you pay for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing