We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extremely spacious aprtment in a perfect location”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sharon G
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Extremely spacious aprtment in a perfect location”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This is my second stay in this spacious apartment. You just can't beat its location on the Royal Mile. It took us a little over five minutes to walk up from Waverley Station. The apartment is well furnished and was extremely cosy on a wet, cold November weekend. There are comfortable beds with lovely bed linen and plenty of towels. The apartment is close to many of the main tourist attractions with several tours leaving from outside the main door. There are a huge variety of restaurants and bars in walking distance as well as a local supermarket. I wouldn't hesitate to book this apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is so central. Great for people watching on the Royal Mile.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iainthoms...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect city center location”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great meet and greet service, very good communication from the very start of booking to the final departure,
Very Nice apartment, wanted for nothing.
Best; Perfect location for city centre café culture
Least; The Stairs, 3rd floor, no lift.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: 3rd floor with no lift
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrythed...
Bari, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A three-generational family holiday in the Athens of the north and what better place to stay? To say we were central is an understatement; we were bang smack right in the thick of it. Lean out of the living room window and you were on the Royal Mile with attendant bagpipers, sword-jugglers and tartan-umbrella toting tourists (not to mention the Firth of Forth in the background, but don't lean out too far as I take no responsibility). Peer out of the kitchen window and you have Arthur's Seat rearing up in all its glory.
The flat itself was perfect for our group; spacious, comfortable, remarkably quiet, all-mod-conned. There were five of us staying, including a highly excitable 7-year-old, but with two bathrooms, ample bedrooms and a whole load of living space it never felt cramped like some holiday apartments tend to (we tested this out by inviting 7 other family members up for tea and are happy to say it passed with flying colours).
The one thing I would like to point out is that several flights of stairs have to be to tackled in order to reach the apartment, so those with mobility issues, extensive baggage or a taste for pub-crawling should take note!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, layout, views
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not have been better!”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay was delightful from beginning to end. The flat is comfortable, clean and very well maintained. It is in the heart of the Old City and convenient to shopping, dining and tourist attractions. Having Dave the property manager meet us, help us with our bags and orient us to the place was a nice touch. He was also around when the weekly housekeeping came in to make sure we were not having any issues. The flat is at the top of the building, up several flights of stairs and there is no lift so take the owner's statement about it not being suitable for folks with mobility issues seriously. However, if the climb isn't an issue, the payoff is the view and the ability to watch all the goings on along the Royal Mile outside. We loved this place and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The comfort and location
Liked least: The stairs up, which wasn't that big of a deal for us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamy2k4
Imola, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice flat in wonderful position”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The flat was very nice, even better than the photo. We were 5 friends and we stayed very welle there, a lot of space, only one bathroom with shower, but there is another toilet with washbasin , very convenient for us.
The beds are very confortable and the apartment is full of character, you feel like at home and you are in the best position for Edinburgh, we reached every interesting point of the city by foot and the night you are near the most fun pub and local.
We had only a little problem: two nights the hot water wasn't working and we could have a shower only the next morning. Anyway, we sent an e-mail to let the property management know it, so I think they will resolve the problem.
But I totally recommend this flat.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2015
Thank you for the very positive review, always good to know the property contributed to a wonderful trip to Edinburgh. We are very sorry you had an issue with the shower. We did indeed respond to the email you sent and system was checked, however nothing obvious was found. it was re-set and no further issues have reported by guests since then. Regards, Glenn Ford, ESC manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sashamd19
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the price!”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful flat! It was warm, comfortable and had everything that we needed. Bedrooms are large and decorated well. For a 2bed flat, the amount of space made the flat seem enormous for the 3 of us. There was no fighting over the bathroom as there was an additional toilet. Kitchen well stocked.
Excellent location - i lived in Edinburgh whilst at university and wished i could have been that close to everything! 5mins from train station, slightly more to the main bus station. No hassle. Plenty of choice for food, shopping, tourist attractions, or just finding a wee spot to sit and take it all in. Closest supermarket is about 5-10mins walk also.
Drawbacks -noise of the royal mile but this can not be helped and doesn't reflect negatively on the accommodation. There are a lot of stairs but after the initial lugging of suitcases these are a breeze. I would definitely consider staying here again!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and big bedrooms
Liked least: The mattress was a little hard but that is just my personal taste
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia...
Isle of Skye
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for a city centre stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Have stayed in Parliament Square previously but this was the first time in No. 5. Our family were in Edinburgh for a special birthday celebration and stayed in four apartments throughout the building. This arrangement worked very well allowing us to be together but also giving us some space. No. 5 is an extremely well equipped, cosy and very comfortable spacious apartment. The kitchen was generously equipped with everything you could need and provided rooftop views across the chimney pots to Arthur Seat, The beds were extremely comfortable with lovely pillows and duvets and the original wooden shutters blocked out the city centre noise from the street below. If you want total quiet you don't stay in the city centre and we didn't find this a problem. The meet and greet arrangement with Dave was very efficient as was all booking communications. The apartment is spotlessly clean and you immediately feel at home so thanks to the owners who have taken the time and effort in making it so

I remember this building as the Central Police HQ so it is quite interesting in being able to stay there. The High Street location is within easy walking distance of the train station and connections for Edinburgh Airport, there are too many pubs and restaurants to mention very close by, and not forgetting the Royal Mile's historical treasures and museums. Plenty things to do and see with a wonderfully relaxing apartment makes this an unmissable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing