We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jem”
Review of Coates Cafe

Coates Cafe
Ranked #689 of 2,528 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: West End
Description: New name following renovation. Same owners.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hidden Jem”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 3 day break with my mum.

This place was near were we stayed and what a find. The food is the best breakfast I have ever had on Edinburgh and i am so glad I found you.

The bread was out of this world. We just had the scrambled eggs with bacon on toast but it was so nice to have such fresh food.

I will be coming again see you soon

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    50
    18
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“bloody lovely!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

best cake i've ever eaten. Great coffee. Quick service even on a busy sunday morning. Just a fantastic place

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I have found the world's best toastie”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

On beautifully baked bread, lightly toasted was the best filling ever - thai spiced chicken. It was amazing. I had this with some Butternut Squash soup which was also brilliantly tasty, but obviously a bit overshadowed by the 'World's Best Toastie' as I have now titled this lunchtime dish.

The interior is friendly, spacey and relaxing. The staff are friendly and attentive. The selection of cakes is too tempting for words and the toasties are amazing - if you hadn't already gathered. Oh and the coffee and tea was lovely too.

Great location too for people waiting on a train or staying in a nearby hotel.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielle182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great this time round”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I gave a review of Jacobs a couple of months ago, at which time I had had a disappointing experience. However, I went back last week and had a really good lunch, so I thought it only fair to set the record straight. The service was really pleasant and the soup we had was absolutely delicious and was served with some very good bread.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thaifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Nice Indeed”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I visited for Breakfast before a meeting nearby and ordered lunch to be delivered for the meeting attendees. i had scrambled eggs on toast for breakfast and it was lovely. The eggs were cooked properly with no excess liquid showing and the bread was very nice indeed.

The lunch platters were a delight. In fact, another meeting was going on in another room and they had there sandwiches delivered from elsewhere. The other group had serious sandwich envy.

I will undoubtedly use them again for meeting lunches.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coates Cafe also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Coates Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing