We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coates Cafe

Coates Cafe
Ranked #689 of 2,438 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Description: New name following renovation. Same owners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Jacob's is a fantastic place for a relaxed and tasty meal. Very helpful and friendly owners and staff, great ambience and fabulous coffee and cakes! The quality and taste of the sandwiches and bakes is far better and diverse than any I have seen in Edinburgh. So pleased to have this wee gem in my local area, be it for a quick take away, cake or freshly baked bread that are unbeatable in taste and presentation, a blether with pals or a partner or even a business meeting. This is wIll be a regular haunt for a while for sure!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rahulnaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    47
    17
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice for breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Have had take away from here before. First time sitting in.
Lovely to sit and watch the world go by.
Great cakes and pastries
I will return

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

When I saw this nice looking place quite close to my flat I thought I should go along and try it out. As it is 'artisan' I was expecting good quality ingredients so I was appalled to find our chicken sandwiches were made with chopped up chunks of re-constituted chicken. Fair enough in a £1 sandwich from a supermarket but not for a £3.50 'artisan' sandwich. Also asked for them not to be toasted and they were and asked for them not to be rye bread and one was.

The soup was OK and the atmosphere relaxing and pleasant but I won't be back to risk getting such poor quality ingredients again. It doesn't say much for their standards.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great place, great food. Stopped off for coffee and breakfast just as breakfast service was ending.Although we couldn't get full breakfast, due to running out of some ingredients, the lady made us some tasty scrambeld eggs & bacon. Coffee was excellent. Would definately visit again. Freshly baked bread was very tempting,unfortunately we were travelling home that day and had too much to carry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Have now visited many times, working fairly close to the bakery. Mostly for a lunch, which to date gave always been great. Maybe just a sandwich, but fillings are really tasty and the side salad is a great mix. Will no doubt be a regular haunt for sometime.

Helpful?
Thank KevinC1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coates Cafe also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Coates Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing